We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Four Days”
Review of Heliconia Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Heliconia Villas
Ranked #95 of 144 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous Four Days”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed here in June and absolutely loved it ! The spacious rooms and gorgeous pool and garden were the perfect place to relax while being only seconds away from all the shops and restaurants in Jl Laksmana. The lovely staff served us breakfast by the pool and we appreciated the large fridge and microwave too. We booked direct which was handled very efficiently and loved the friendly atmosphere. This was our second stay and definitely won't be our last !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodger41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    63
    6
    1
    5
See reviews for
24
109
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Hi ended up at heliconia after a villa we rented was a disaster... The staff couldn't do enough for us we had the two bedroom villa. Wow rooms and bathroom great. The pool was divine ,the breakfast yummy bought to your villa in the morning , and also the choice of an afternoon tea . Will defiantly stay again . We stepped out the front right onto eat street . We also got keep sake sarongs ....just lovely.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shelleyb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, West Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for the second time for 7 days with friends, who all loved the convienence of being in the heart of "Eat Street" but a milli on miles from the noise and bussle that is Seminyak. We didnt partake of the daily breakfasts but walked the 100 yrds to Bistrot or the 200 yrds to the Corner House for some of the great food available in the area.

We were lucky because we were given Villa 5 which is the newest 2 bedroom villa. Huge rooms with seperate bathrooms, tv's in each room and in the outdoor area with dvd players connected to each. The pool was large as well with 4sunlounges for us all. The outdoor area became the focal point for a sundowner each night before we walked to our next restaurant.

Would recommend the villas to all, whilst not 5 star they are of fantastic value with the best staff available down to Obie the security dog who greeted you each time you came in through the gate. We will definitely be staying here again on our next trip.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank StewartNeuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Booked my stay directly with Heliconia Villas. We were a total of 2 adults and one child (11 years old). I rang them to ask if extra bed is necessary as the villa comes with a kingsize bed anyway. The staff said no problem I could decide if I needed one when I get there. 

We got a taxi at the new international airport which was a little unfamiliar. Once you exit customs, turn left and you will see a taxi counter near the entrance of duty free shopping. We paid 100,000 rupiah to Seminyak. Since the opening of the new airport, exit tax has gone up from 150,000 to 200,000 rupiah each person so set aside this amount so that you won't fall short when leaving Bali. 

For easy directions to Heliconia Villas, you may inform taxi drivers that Heliconia is practically next door to Amadea Villas on Jalan Oberoi. Only Bamboo Blonde boutique separates them. Opposite the villas are Guardian pharmacy and Earth Cafe.

When we arrived sometime after 9pm, the staff expressed surprise at seeing us, one of them mentioned that their colleague had gone to the airport to fetch us. Excuse me, we didn't arrange airport pick up in the first place so why would they presume such ? There were no complimentary transfers included in our room rate anyway so arranging pick up without our knowledge was rather annoying. The reception area was not air-conditioned and I was sweating buckets in the humidity while going through the check in formalities and choosing next day's breakfast from a menu. When we checked into the villa, an extra bed was already set up - what happened to making my own decision if an extra bed is required? My friend didn't want to make a fuss over it so I let it be. The extra bed costs USD35 per night and includes breakfast. By the way, if you are settling your bill by credit card, they will surcharge 3 percent and all amounts will be converted from USD to rupiah according to their exchange rate (1 USD = 11500 rupiah at the time of our payment). First night room rate will be charged to your credit card at time of booking.

There are fewer than 10 villas in total in Heliconia.  We got villa 2, a one-bedroom villa located somewhere at the back of the complex. The beautifully well-kept gardens surrounding the area lent a feeling of quiet tranquility despite the madness of Seminyak beyond Heliconia's gates. Our private pool was bigger than I thought, I could even do short laps in it. The bathroom had a semi open concept so we lit mosquito coils when taking showers in the evening to avoid getting bitten by mosquitoes. Mineral water was topped up daily and tv had lots of channels for entertainment. Wifi was free but quite weak at times. There is no restaurant on site. Breakfast is served in the villas and at your preferred time. I consider breakfast average at best. The breakfast menu changes every few days, I had nasi goreng on Monday our last day as it was not offered on the Friday to Sunday menu.  Daily choices include omelets, scrambled eggs, French toast or pancakes however food quality was inconsistent - well-seasoned today, salty the next. Big omelet one day, small the next. One vegetarian and one normal nasi goreng were requested, however both came as vegetarian. When the staff came to deliver breakfast one morning, I asked how many chefs they had. The answer was none as each staff multitasks and would take turns cooking breakfast ! Now the mystery is solved. For those who enjoy relaxing in the villas in the afternoon, you may partake of the complimentary afternoon tea and sweet treats like grilled bananas, ice cream, cookies or cake. Advance order is required though.

Despite the hiccups we encountered and the staff's lack of spoken English (I had to resort to Bahasa Indonesia at times), we found them to be incredibly friendly, patient, helpful and always bending over backwards to accommodate our sometimes unusual requests. They were so kind to extend complimentary late check out till 2pm as we had a night flight to catch and also offered to call a taxi to the airport. When we came back from late lunch, the taxi was already waiting for us at reception area, how wonderful! Taxi fare by meter was 85,000 rupiah but we gave the taxi driver 100,000 rupiah including tip. We used Blue Bird taxis for all our trips to restaurants, spas and supermarkets as they use meter and are more reliable. You stand to be ripped off by other taxi companies who don't use the meter and overcharging unsuspecting tourists.

Being well-located smack in the middle of shops, minimarts, boutiques and restaurants (Ultimo, Warung Murah, Cafe Bali, Rumours a 5-minute walk and Seminyak Square a 10-minute walk away) and served by a team of wonderful staff, we would be more than happy to return to Heliconia Villas in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank iamtigerlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed with our 3 year old son in April and found Heliconia fantastic.
our 1 bedroom deluxe villa was perfect for us with breakfast served in the villa every morning. Staff were very friendly which really made a difference to our stay, also helps if you make the effort to say hello and stop for a chat as well.
Dewi the villa manager was very professional and answered our enquiries promptly.
Villa was well stocked with kitchen utensils if you wanted to whip up a meal and the pool was a good size for a villa and always a pleasure to come back to after a long day out.
We've stayed in may places in Bali but Heliconia was by far the best place we've stayed in.
Room was spotless, air con efficient, and the space outside the bedroom was really useful for having friends visit.
Located centrally down a private driveway, the whole place was very quiet and peaceful.
Obbie the resident Labrador retriever was always on hand and keen to be patted which we did regularly.
Attention to detail was evident here as all the small things that make a difference were attended to such as mozzie coils lit in the villa during the evening, pool cleaned everyday and kitchen cleaned and tidied.
Door locks, bathroom fittings, lights, cleanliness of linen and room and other minor details that can be overlooked at other places of the same price were all ok here and we did not find a single thing that wasn't attended to.
All in all we will be staying here again next time and can recommend it to couples and families as they have 2 x 2 bedroom villas of the same standard.

Room Tip: Villa 3 is fantastic, but we checked out all the others too and they were fine, with different layou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Clean, friendly. So close to all the action, under 100 metres to restaurants and yet peaceful and almost silent. Expertly cared for by head of security Obie the Dog, and the lovely staff. Can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmxkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Along with my wife (whose review is below ) this was my 2nd stay here. It is a great location, and one of the quietest Villas we have stayed in, despite it's central location. The staff are friendly, and although the villas are a little old now, this did not bother me. The breakfast was a little ordinary- like last time, although they have made an effort to improve the menu and variety. This did not bother us, and it is only a short walk anyway to other restaurants. The location could not be better, with restaurants, Taxis, Spas, the Coco Supermarket, Seminyak Square, even the beach, all within 5 to 10 minutes walks. We would definitely recommend this villa for those wanting a quiet ( and I do mean quiet ) , central location. Our only small minor complaint was that the air-conditioning seemed to struggle a little, and probably needs a good service! Thank you for the stay.

Room Tip: The huge two room villa at the end is awesome!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1.0 mi away
Kunti Villas
Kunti Villas
#103 of 144 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.2 mi away
U Paasha Seminyak
U Paasha Seminyak
#45 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pradha Villas
Pradha Villas
#66 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ize Seminyak
Ize Seminyak
#48 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Club Villas
The Club Villas
#32 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seminyak Square Hotel
Seminyak Square Hotel
#71 of 144 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heliconia Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heliconia Villas

Property: Heliconia Villas
Address: Jl Laksmana 56, Seminyak, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#38 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#71 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Heliconia Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heliconia Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heliconia Villas Hotel Seminyak
Heliconia Hotel Seminyak
Heliconia Villas Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing