We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa looking tired, not clean, pool unusable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bhavana Private Villas
Ranked #109 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Villa looking tired, not clean, pool unusable”
Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

Spent four nights in a one bedroom villa, no.2. Returning here after having stayed in a two bedroom with friends in 2009. We loved the villas back then, however on this visit the villas are looking very tired, not very clean and generally worn out. The pool was unusable, water cloudy, green slime on tiles, grout and entry step. It looked as though it had not been vacuumed for some time. The water feature wall was all green and slimy too. We reported this to reception with no action taken, they told us it was from rain?? The pool needed to be shocked and thoroughly cleaned. We felt the villa was overpriced for its standard. There are so many new villas in seminyak with great rates, I would recommend looking elsewhere. Also the road to the villas becomes dirt with huge pot holes, to the point that taxis bottom out. It was a shame, we were really disappointed.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank travellingpatten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reni D, General Manager at Bhavana Private Villas, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear Mr/s. Patten,

Thank you for staying at Bhavana and for your comment. It is with regret to learn that you are not happy on your second stay.

We valued your comment and we do take all necessary action on your suggestion. Following your suggestion on April we do a major cleaning and maintenance in villa no. 2. It is now have a new garden, refurnished furniture and kitchen set, new cutleries and kitchen amenities, even new fridge.

All villas now have a new mattress and mosquito net. We will have all new sunbed by June.

Following your suggestion the pool shocked and thoroughly cleaned, not jus for villa no 2, but all 16 pools in Bhavana. Our staff indeed did it regularly but now we do it more intensively. I am confident that we will have a cleaner and a better maintained pool for our guest.

We could not say much about the road right now, but the local authority promised to have it fixed by June this year.

Again, thank you for your comment and suggestion. We are hoping that we would have the pleasure of welcome you back for the 3rd time.

Kind regards
Reni Dianawati
General Manager
BHAVANA PRIVATE VILLAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    65
    31
    22
    9
See reviews for
37
117
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We have been staying in one bedroom of a two bedroom villa, as they oversold the one bedrooms. Nice looking property in a dodgy looking part of Seminyak. Initially we were impressed, but after a few nights I would suggest there are better deals to be had.
The villa has a private plunge pool which is lovely to sit by, but it has some leaks and tiling falling off, which make it look tired. There is a cathode ray TV in the open air living room, which is not an antique yet, but will soon be and beside it is the CD/DVD/tape player of similar vintage, although it won't play dvd's.
In the bedroom is a lovely king size bed with canopy mosquito net and A/C that makes a bit of a difference, but struggles for the size of the room. There is a flat screen TV hooked up to another DVD player (that doesn't work). We reported the DVD player, which they got going, but has no sound and sounds like a helicopter taking off.
The staff are friendly, but, the few things we requested took hours or days to be provided. The bed for our child was not present and there was some debate if we had nominated she was with us until I suggested they check the booking, then after the tooing and froeing about 3 hours later the bed turned up, with our daughter fast asleep in our bed for the night. Etc.etc... it just went on like this really, but at least the staff were always smiling.
Trust me, you can do better with your money than this property. Good luck.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bootstwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reni D, General Manager at Bhavana Private Villas, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for staying with us and that you for your comment & advised. I am happy to learn that the staff are friendly although the service is not up to the standard yet. Now that we know it first hand from our guest, we could take a necessary action.

We regret for the misunderstanding on the bed for your child upon arrival. We have re-training conducted for all Front Liner on how we could handle the situation better without having argument with the guest not ask them to wait for hours.

Since you went home we undergo a major maintenance in the villa, the furniture are re-furnished to gain its best look. New mattresses for all bed, new mosquito net and linen. New amenities even new uniform for all staff to give them a professional look.

We re-train all staffs to be able to communicate better with the guest and able to accommodate the guest needs.

I can not say much about the road as it is supposed to be done by the government, however we have send a written complain to the local authority and a promise is made that the road is due to be fixed by June this year, I do hope it would happen.

From our side, we've tried some ways to at lease make the road a little smoother.

I confidence that we would be able to serve you better, therefore I do look forward to the pleasure of welcome you back at Bhavana Private Villas

Kind regards
Reni Dianawati
General Manager
BHAVANA PRIVATE VILLAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We spent three nights here in a one bedroom villa. The staff were not that nice when compared to other hotels around the area of Seminyak and other locations in Bali including Legian and Nusa Dua.

The room was not clean at all. There was cigarette butts upon returning to the hotel after the cleaners had been into the room. They also left egg shells from a breakfast cooked in the villa when another person was staying there. The pool was not that clean, nor the kitchen. After they cooked breakfast, it was not cleaned. After the cleaners had been in, the kitchen was still not clean. After advising them of the egg shells and cigarette butts, they only cleaned the cigarette butts. For our whole stay, the egg shells remained even after advising them a few times.

The air conditioner broke down during the middle of the night twice. We had to call the reception and waited almost an hour each time for one of their staff to get a ladder, clean the filter with a screw driver, unplug the unit and then plug it back in to get it working.

The place is quite run down compared to the photos posted on their website and other various accommodation websites. I definitely wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrian_g85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reni D, General Manager at Bhavana Private Villas, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear Mr. Adrian,

Thank you for staying with us and your suggestion. Your comments are very much appreciated as they contribute tremendously in keeping up staff motivation.

We have taken note of your suggestions for improvement and we will implement corrective measures where necessary to avoid reoccurrence.

Following your suggestion, we do retraining to the staff to help them improve their skills. Not only training, to motivate them we are now having new uniform for all staffs, giving them a fresh and professional look.

All aircons in all villas are check, cleaned and maintained, and we continue doing regular check to be sure that the guest will have a cool and comfortable bedroom. Which now also have a new bedding setting.

We are doing photo shoot in few weeks, our web and all other web will soon received copies of the new photos.

We certainly hope to have a pleasure of welcome you back to BHAVANA Private Villas.

Kind regards
Reni Dianawati
General Manager
BHAVANA PRIVATE VILLAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

The best villa I have ever been to! beautiful and perfect. There's nothing I do not like about this hotel. Will definitely choose this place again on my next trip to Bali!
Private pool villa is huge and spacious. Breakfast are cooked by chefs that come to your room and prepare it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ifarhana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reni D, General Manager at Bhavana Private Villas, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Dear Irfarhana,

Thank you for staying with us and for your comment. We are very happy to know that you have a great time with us. Surely we are looking forward to welcome you back in hopefully not too distance future.

Since you left the villa. a lot is going on, new mosquito net is arrived, new mattresses available for each bed. We complete the amenities and we also renew the garden, it is now becoming more colorful with exotic Balinese flower and plants.

This month only, 5 of our villa have their furniture renewed. We are confident that our villa will look a lot more beautiful when you come back.

We look forward to welcome you back at BHAVANA Private Villas

Kind regards
Reni Dianawati
General Manager
BHAVANA PRIVATE VILLAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Lovely week .... quiet, clean, beautiful villas close to the action of Seminyak. I found the Bhavana villas excellent. From the moment I was met at the airport service was friendly and professional. The villa was comfortable, a piece of private heaven. Staff were great, cooking breakfast each morning, smiling and chatting with us. Fresh fruits, range of breakfast choices from western style to Indonesian, food was good and plentiful. Housekeeping staff were fabulous coming in twice a day to clean and turn down the beds at night, lighting the candles and incense burner.
Lovely ambience in the villa, pebble path garden around the pool, fabulous bath and shower....loved lying in bed watching the waterfall into the pool. Beautiful koi pond around reception - look for the turtle swimming with the fish.
Staff were very helpful day and night for anything we needed. I'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wirlarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We spent 4 nights in a 2 bedroom villa and should have done 10!! The villas are huge and the pool was almost too big (just kidding). Lovely decor, Excellent bathroom..shower etc. They come and cook breakfast in the villa and that was a highlight of the morning...nice and fresh and hot.
The staff were very helpful in every way. The bed was king size..No shortage of water available.
5 Min walk to shops and restaurants(we tried 2 and were very impressed...great food and good price) even in villa dining the food was good. All the usual suspects..TV cable WiFi minibar. place is nice and clean. We had a late checkout for nominal price and were able to stay till 6.00pm and relax on our final day. Would definately go back there again.

Room Tip: All villas are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We were so happy at Bhavana- we didn't want to leave. It was very quiet and we rarely even saw other guests. Once we were through our wooden carved door we were in our own little world. House keeping were invisible- they came in twice a day and I swear they were keeping tabs on us so to go in when we were out because they were rarely seen! Breakfast was cooked for us every morning and it was always good. The pool was perfect with enough sun to tan or a nice outdoor area with couches and shade. The outdoor bathroom was spacious and clean and we did not have any issues with bugs or anything. The resort is on a quiet little back street but is only a very short walk to the main street in seminyak. I have been to Bali 5 times now and this place is by far my favorite. We will definitely be back. Thanks to all the staff for making it so perfect x

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Naomi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1.1 mi away
The Seminyak Suite Private Villa
0.4 mi away
Pradha Villas
Pradha Villas
#65 of 143 in Seminyak
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Haere
The Haere
#89 of 143 in Seminyak
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Club Villas
The Club Villas
#31 of 143 in Seminyak
684 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kunti Villas
Kunti Villas
#106 of 143 in Seminyak
109 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ahimsa
The Ahimsa
#99 of 143 in Seminyak
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bhavana Private Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bhavana Private Villas

Property: Bhavana Private Villas
Address: Jalan Pangkung Sari, Banjar Taman, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia (Formerly Aston Bhavana Villas)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#75 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bhavana Private Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The delightful Bhavana Bali offers sixteen delightful private villas set in immaculate walled gardens each with a private pool, a semi outdoor lounge area with a functional kitchenette, dining area and air-conditioned bedrooms.Modeled after traditional houses found in Bali and Java, the villas are built, furnished and decorated using local timber, tiles, fabrics and artifacts - blended with a modern-minimalist edge.Each has its own private pool, semi outdoor lounge with a kitchen and dining area. In the midst of fashionable Seminyak, the Bhavana - Private Villas are only minutes away from Seminyak beach offering daily spectacular sunsets which can be viewed from delightful beachside cafes and bars.Seminyak is also a world class shopping, dine out and nightlife destination with several of Asia’s best restaurants, bars and discotheques offering something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bhavana Private Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bhavana Private Villas Hotel Seminyak
Aston Bhavana Hotel
Aston Bhavana Resort
Sesari Bali
Bhavana Private Villas Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing