We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some of the largest villas I've seen in Bali. Excellent hotel.”
Review of Maya Sayang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maya Sayang
Ranked #64 of 415 Speciality Lodging in Seminyak
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Some of the largest villas I've seen in Bali. Excellent hotel.”
Reviewed 18 January 2011

I have stayed at many of the villas in the Seminyak area of Bali, and this is by far one of the best. It caters more to a Japanese clientele, but to me this means good service and good food. The pools in the 1-bed villas are huge and the overall villa is incredibly spacious. Staff were lovely and very attentive. Location can not be beat for the strip of restaurants along Laksamana and proximity to beach clubs like KuDeTa and Potato Head.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m2010x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    47
    11
    9
    4
See reviews for
17
76
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2011

We loved it. Our 3 suite ( 6 person) villa was absolutely fantastic. Private, comfortable, well maintained, great pool, everything worked - on a few days we didn't go out at all it was so good just hanging arounf the villa, dipping in the pool occasionally and having another Bintang whilst watching another pirated DVD and ordering room service. The staff made beakfast for us each morning and were great. The Japanese room service was fantastic and good value. The villas are located right in the heart of Seminyak only a short stroll to restaurants, shops and bars. Top family holiday.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenahoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2010

We stayed in a one bedroom villa which had a good sized pool and open-sided living/dining area. The villa was clean and well maintained - the kitchen area looked a little worn, but as we only used it for the fridge and cups of tea that was not problem. There was free wifi in the vill and the restaurant. The villas have a mainly Japanese clientele and the breakfast reflected this, but was ok. We found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful, and had great in-villa massages.

The villas are conveniently located, close to eat street and shops, but as other reviewers have mentioned, therefore suffer from noise from restaurants and bars in the evening. However, we didn't have too much trouble with this (may it was the particular villa we were in?) - it wasn't overly loud and we couldn't hear anything from the bedroom.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cloudycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2009

We booked Maya Sayang on the website - attracted by its promise of tranquility in a healing environment. Subsequently, I came across the review in Trip Advisor website about the hotel being noisy and dirty. I called up the hotel to see if I can cancel, that was about 5 days before our arrival. Although the cancellation policies were not written, the staff informed that we would have to incur 30% cancellation charges. They acknowledged that noise was a problem and promised to locate us in a quieter part of the hotel.

In our first day, we were actually placed very close to the source of the noise, which is ZAPPAZ with live music and bad sound system. The live band sings till late into the night, past midnight. So if you are a light sleeper or have problems sleeping, then this is definitely not the place for you.

The hotel started operation in 2004, about 5 years ago, so it is a bit dated. The TV sets are still 29inch CRTs and not flatscreen.

Maintenance and cleanliness was an issue for me. The sofa covers felt dirty, I don't think they changed it. Floor was sticky and stained. Remain so even after I requested it to be cleaned.

Stray cats poo-ed in our living area in the night as we slept.

We found the staff to be polite but were not particularly helpful. They did not offer a ride to our villa in the buggy unless we asked. On our last day, we asked the staff for a recommended money changer and was told that one was 'just outside'. However, we found that it was more than 15 -20 mins walk away and the hotel staff did not offer us a ride there and back - which would have saved us a lot of time. Also, we noticed that the staff did not have a habit of closing our villa door when they come in or leave. Seems to show that they have not been properly trained.

Throughout our stay, the 'cushion' to the sun-loungers at our villa were placed to one end and not properly placed onto the sun-loungers. As they did not look too clean anyway, we did not bother to ask them to put them properly.

Another problem we had was that the living/dining area were not air-conditioned, they were open air with ceiling fans. I was not happy that mosquitoes flying around my young children.

When we asked for recommendation for dinner places, the staff were pretty clueless.

The villa comes with water dispenser so that was helpful. The children also enjoyed frolicking in the pool. Location of this vllia is also good, in the middle of Seminyak with many up market shops within walking distance. The hotel has 2 cars which can take you to nearby Kuta for free - if they are not already booked by others.

Comparing this to THE BELL in PHUKET, which we stayed in earlier this year, we definitely prefer THE BELL (http://www.thebellphuket.com/), On a scale of 1-10, 1 being poor and 10 being perfect, The Bell is 9.5 and Maya Sayang would be somewhere nearer to 3.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CocoaBeanSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2009

Bottom line...great deal for the price. More than we expected. Even the room service was fantastic (but sushi we found in Bali is below average). Wonderful staff. Attentive. Kind. Be careful though of the villa you book. Villa "K" is right behind a LOUD LOUD nightclub with live music. Every night we were there we had to deal with it from 6pm-12am. Not ideal for romantic honeymoon. Recommend Villa "B" "C" or "D" - though not sure whether these are 1 or 2 or 3 bdrms. You can consult their map. The staff will offer to move you if you make them aware of the noise however....as I said, very attentive and gracious. Great villas, just be aware of how it's situated against the back wall of the main strip of restaurants and bars. From there, you can make a better choice.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gjrscribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2009

This is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in Asia. We checked into this "villa" after 4 days in Ubud, totally relaxed and pampered, thought we'll check into somewhere near the beach and town for 3 nights of entertainment. What we had was a dirty "villa", with no where to sit down to have a drink under the stars and party music till 4 in the morning.

We arrived 7 in the evening, driven down to our "villa" by the receptionist on a golf buggiy even though it will take only a minute to walk. The first "villa" we've got was badly designed, the floor was dirty and right next to a restaurant. We asked to change to a quiet one and were shown another 1-bedroom "villa" and a 2-bedroom "villa". The 2-bedroom villa was right next to a kitchen and we can hear chefs shouting at each other and not to mention the smell of cooking. The 1-bedroom "villa" was quieter and a little bit better, so we decided to to move to this one.

Little do we know that little bamboo fence walk outside the whole "hotel" is the back wall to all the restaurants, bars & clubs on what locals called "food street" and our "villa" is right behind one of the busiest trendy club - the Chandi. Music was pumping right out of this club (and lots of others on the street).

Doesn't matter which "villa" you got - you will hear party music till the early morning.

Don't book this.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan_RaglyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yoshihara, Public Relations Manager at Maya Sayang, responded to this review, 25 October 2016
Dear Hkmos,

We solemnly apologise for the inconvenient you had experienced. We have now an improved standard for the villa and the restaurant is newly renovated. We are confident to say that, if you stay here for your next holiday, you would have a completely different experience than before.

Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turriff, Scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2009

During our trip to Bali and Lombok, we decided at last minute to add a few nights in Seminyak onto our itinerary. Normally we select our own accommodation but for Seminyak I let our agent pick & she did not let us down! I didnt expect much for the money we paid, but I was highly delighted. The Maya Sayang is tucked away off a busy street and the reception area is small but very well kept & the staff were very friendly. When we were shown to our villa I was delighted. The swimming pool was beautiful and the living area / kitchen / dining room were on open plan to the pool, but covered over by a traditional thatched roof. The sleeping area and bathroom were seperate. Being right in the heart of Seminyak i was surprised how quiet and peaceful it was within the villa. We ordered our breakfast daily, and it was cooked in our kitchen for us and served at our dining room table. Included in the price was a free massage to add to the enjoyment of the villa!
Location wise for us it was great, we wanted to avoid the hussle of Kuta but still be close enough to walk there. We walked down the beach to Kuta which took about 30 mins at a slow pace. The shops in Seminyak are of a better quality and more boutique style than Kuta!
I would also highly recommend a visit to Ku De Ta restaurant. It is expensive in comparison to our places in Bali for food and drink, but its worth it! The setting, atmosphere & lighting are worth the money alone - and its within walking distance from the Meya Sayang!
My overall thoughts of the Maya Sayang are that we didnt stay long enough!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claymires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.1 mi away
Disini Luxury Spa Villas
Disini Luxury Spa Villas
#43 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.0 mi away
U Paasha Seminyak
U Paasha Seminyak
#45 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Club Villas
The Club Villas
#32 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Seminyak Square Hotel
Seminyak Square Hotel
#71 of 144 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.2 mi away
RC Villas & Spa
RC Villas & Spa
#57 of 415 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Samaja Villas
Royal Samaja Villas
#5 of 415 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Sayang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Sayang

Property: Maya Sayang
Address: Jl. Mertasari no. 1 | Oberoi, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 415 Speciality Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Maya Sayang 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maya Sayang Private Pool Villas & Spa is a great choice for accommodation when visiting Bali. Located in the centre tourist attraction, the villa is surrounded by lush tropical gardens and an abundance of exotic plants, a veritable oasis in the middle of Seminyak's bustling activity and picturesque Kayu Aya street (previously name Laksamana street) with many nice shops, excellent restaurants, bars and easy access to the beach. To make the highest comfort for guests, all Villas provide a private pool , dining and living area, designer kitchen, bathroom with bathtub and separate shower, wireless internet connection Maya Sayang also present Restaurant with designed as contemporary lounge with Japanese, Korean, Western, Indonesian fusion menus concepts, and open for public meal service and internal villa guest.Daily open hours 11AM – 11PM It is a wise and comforts choice for: Lunch / Dinner / Meeting Place / Cocktails / Gathering. With a convenient location, dedicated staffs who speaks Japanese, English and Korean , and good facilities. Maya Sayang Pool Villa & Spa is considered as a favorite place among travelers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maya Sayang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Sayang Hotel Seminyak
Maya Sayang Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing