We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a must!”
Review of Urchin Bali

Urchin Bali
Ranked #35 of 525 Restaurants in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, International, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The newest addition to Seminyak's hub of wining and dining, URCHIN - Restaurant & Bar offers a modern style of seafood and more!Inspired cuisine from the sea!
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It's a must!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

All the reviews are spot on. Loved this resturant & will go back before we leave. After going to all the talked about resturants in Bali we are so excited there is a new one on the list & this one rates even higher than most.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    565
    154
    58
    23
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Absolutely Brilliant A MUST TRY when in Bali”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Ahhhh what a gorgeous, non pretentious restaurant. Absolute top quality food. Tuna and salmon tartare cones OUTSTANDING. Scallops OUTSTANDING. Sashimi OUTSTANDING. Crispy skin Sea Bass OUTSTANDING. Barramundi OUTSTANDING. Passionfruit Soufflé TO DIE FOR. This restaurant is a total dining experience plus air conditioned inside. The Australian Ranga front of service is hilarious. Just adorable. Could eat here again and again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank TheChristos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely meal, great atmosphere, inconsistent service”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We enjoyed a lovely meal at Urchin last night. On arriving we found the atmosphere inviting, nice decor and welcoming staff. The meals were beautifully presented. Our group had the scallops, which were divine, the squid, the Tuna, the Barramundi, the Wagyu Beef and the Snapper and all these meals were very tasty. The service was a little inconsistent though. It started out well but by the time we ordered our wine, we had a few issues. Our white wine was bought out and served then the bottle was placed on the table. The waitress said she was going to get the ice bucket but then proceeded to serve another table and didn't come back. We waited a little then had to ask another waitress to get the ice bucket. With our second bottle they poured the first glass then left us to pour the rest. Overall it was a lovely night but more attention needs to be paid to consistent service all night long.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CHOOKIE6281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great first night in Seminyak”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

After spending nearly two hours in the line at immigration at the airport, we were very much looking forward to our pre-booked dinner at Urchin. And it didn't disappoint. We shared two entrees - scallops seared to perfection with delicious cauliflower and potato and with a sherry caramel sauce (sounds a bit odd but was delicious) and a trout carpaccio - which to our taste lacked a little zing but there's no doubting the freshness of the fish. For mains we had a crispy skinned red snapper fillet that was ABSOLUTELY delicious (a big call from someone who doesn't eat much white fish) and a seared tuna which, like the trout, lacked a little seasoning. Nothing wrong with it, but just not as good as the snapper. We also shared the passionfruit soufflé for dessert - and glad we did as it was enormous - and quite good. Overall the food was good. The service was "almost there" - the local staff tried very hard but lacked many of the niceties that their Aussie owners seemed to be aiming for (e.g. Took our food order before asking for our drink order). Worth a look if you order carefully.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Must Try New Restaurant”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I liked this restaurant so much I went twice in one week! I've dined at nearly every top restaurant In Bali and this one is challenging them all. The food is very important, but so too is the service, ambience and value for money, and they get a big tick in all departments. The staff are still learning to totally integrate, once they do watch out - you will be booking weeks in advance! Onya Steve and Cathy

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Urchin Bali also viewed

 

Been to Urchin Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing