We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, luxurious, friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sun Island Boutique Villas & Spa
Ranked #38 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing, luxurious, friendly”
Reviewed 17 September 2012 via mobile

The villas are peaceful, tranquil, luxurious and exactly as they appear in photos. Staff are friendly, helpful and polite and helped us to book excursions, even telling us to avoid a company they had had complaints about.

They also helped my now fiancé to prepare a surprise of a rose petal bath and petal message to surprise me after our proposal dinner.

Thoroughly recommended and thank you to everyone at Sun Island for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onlyscreennameleft30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    110
    31
    7
    1
See reviews for
52
286
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

The Villas are lovely, so are the staff. Our room was beautiful. The bed was so comfy. My only small issue was that our private plunge pool was too cold! However the main pool was perfect. We loved all of the staff here. They are so sweet and helpful. I wish that I could have adopted them all! This villa is on the main road, yet set back so you don't hear the traffic. I had a few lovely treatments in the spotlessly clean spa. They were better than in the cheap establishments in the street. Try it!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Blonde_Beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

My partner and I stayed 6 nights in a Pool Villa. We were very pleased with the villa, it was clean, spacious, and seemed reasonably new! I was a little worried about our private pool, hoping it was not too small, or too shaded (I like to sunbake!) There was no need to worry- the pool was a perfect size to relax in and a perfect spot to sunbake. I think it is 100% worth spending a little extra money to have a villa with a private pool- no difficulty getting a sun lounge like you would at a hotel, can sunbake in peace and quiet etc. The staff were very friendly especially Dawaa who works in the resturant-excellent service! The only area that could be improved is the restaurant- the food is quite average yet very expensive! The villas are set back from the very busy road, so still nice and quiet but a 1 minute walk to some lovely restaurants. Would def stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TomShae2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Such an amazing location! If you're looking for privacy, space and to be right in the thick of things this is the place for you!!! You walk out the front of your villa and you are literally right in the middle of Legian/Seminyak. You can walk to both.

The staff are so friendly and no matter where you are in the resort, there is a friendly, smiling face to greet you.

The villas are stunning. We had a basic villa and was perfect. Except you can never really swim in your private pool as it's way too freezing cold! The main pool is amazing! Temperate is great, and bintangs by the pool are a perfect way to spend the day.

The food at the restaurant is AMAZING! and great value! We ate there heaps!

Now the downfalls :(

- THE WORST PART OF OUR TRIP! When you're ready to go to bed you just shut all the blinds and everything is blacked out. On the 3rd night, we went to go to bed at 10.30 and the lights at the entry of our villa were shinning right into our room and the blinds did nothing!!! OMG! It was like it was daylight. Could not sleep at all. Rang reception and was told that they 'needed to speak to an engineer'. Um, take the freakin lightbolbs out - we are paying $299/night and tonight we can't sleep? So this was 11pm, never heard back from them and the lights stayed on till daylight, ie: kept our room SO BRIGHT and didn't get any sleep. When I spoke to reception the next morning all they said was sorry! Hmmm - not good enough. I wouldn't stay here again purely because of this.

- If you are getting spa treatments - don't get them in your room. They didn't bring proper massage beds and just put a sheet over our pool beds, ie: no place to rest your head?! Therefore I had a sorer neck then before the massage!

- Don't get lured in by the 2 4 1 cocktails at the bar because they don't use alcohol. And if they do you can't taste it! It actually works out more expensive than Australian cocktails. Stick to the bingtang.

- Lastly, it's meant to be a 5 star resort, but they charge you for bottled water when you're sitting next to the pool. In every other 5 star bali resort, they supply you with an ice bucket and bottled water. What's worse, they charge you Australian prices for the water. Very disappointing.

If the above don't bother you, than I definitely recommend this hotel as it's modern, spacious, very beautiful and the location is second to none!

PS: The photos online are exactly like the real life thing, which is great!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michaelt5007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

This was our first trip to Bali and we were very pleased with our choice of accommodation. We stayed in a 1 bed pool villa, which, with the high walls and outside door felt like you were in your own private place. Even though you are in the hustle and bustle of Seminyak, the villas are so quiet and relaxing, exactly what we wanted. The plunge pool was exactly that, a plunge pool - so if we wanted a swim it was about a 10 second walk to the main pool area. The kitchen was outside which was unusual but not a drama. The bed/bath areas were clean and modern. The staff were all very polite and helpful. The location of the villas is excellent, near the bars and restaurants and only a couple of minutes walk to the supermarket. Taxis were cheap enough with a 10/15 minute trip costing about $1.50.
I would certainly consider going back again, the only negative comment is that we felt the villas were a little overpriced for what you got.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caza71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Beautiful two bedroom villa with pool, very clean and modern, staff were so friendly and always willing to help, food great, will go back there again. Great location. Cannot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Cannot say a bad thing, all was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TEAK8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

From the moment we walked into our villa it was love. Not only does it look exactly the photos on their website, the service and staff were incredible. We stayed in number 24, which was on the end so we only had 1 neighbour which was great. We spent most of our time outside by the pool/kitchen area, closing off the bed/bath is a great way to section the areas - once the doors are closed you can barely hear a thing from outside. The food was great, and we had breakfast delivered every morning which was like a mini buffet. The staff were really helpful and friendly, and get to know you so quickly - and the place itself is about a 20 minute trip to kuta beach - so like, $2. Not only that but theres a great bunch of markets and boutiques along the street and it is only a 2 minute walk to the Bintang supermarket which was super convenient. Didnt spend much time in the main restaurant or pool area, i don't think many people do - it was like having your own private house in bali. Would go back again and again.

Room Tip: Try and get a villa on the end, less neighbours and you can make more noise - or have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samuel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#29 of 143 in Seminyak
608 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Amala
The Amala
#16 of 143 in Seminyak
624 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Jardin Villas, Seminyak
Le Jardin Villas, Seminyak
#36 of 143 in Seminyak
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blue Karma Hotel
Blue Karma Hotel
#18 of 143 in Seminyak
645 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Seminyak Estate & Spa
Villa Seminyak Estate & Spa
#46 of 143 in Seminyak
934 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Club Villas
The Club Villas
#31 of 143 in Seminyak
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Island Boutique Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Island Boutique Villas & Spa

Property: Sun Island Boutique Villas & Spa
Address: Jl. Seminyak 188, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#34 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#34 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#36 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Island Boutique Villas & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Fastbooking, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sun Island Boutique Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Island Villas And Spa
Sun Island Villas Hotel Seminyak
Sun Island Hotel
Aston Seminyak
Hotel Sun Island
Sun Island Boutique Villas & Spa Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing