We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed, over promise under deliver”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sanyas Suite Seminyak
Ranked #78 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointed, over promise under deliver”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

This is our 4th time in Bali.
I decided to book a villa at this resort after reading all the positive reviews. We were all set for a fantastic experience to celebrate our son's birthday.

Sadly, we were utterly disappointed.

The package we booked came with a free one way transfer. As we were travelling with a young child, I made an effort to arrange for pick up from the airport. I even confirmed with the reservation staff that they got our flight details 3 days before our arrival date. I got an email saying that all has been arranged and the hotel driver would be there to pick us.
Upon arrival, the driver was nowhere in sight, we waited for over an hour. Called the hotel and they told us no arrangement was made as we didn't provide flight details. After all the effort to make sure all has been arranged and this was the reply we got.

Upon arrival at the resort, nobody bothered to apologise. When I asked what happened, they gave some lame excuse that the driver was there at the airport but was holding the wrong sign. To make up for the miscommunication, we were offered 30% off their lunch menu, as our room was not ready anyway. The food was not fresh and took forever. Worse, my hubby had tummy upset after lunch.

When we got to the villa, it was like what some of the other reviewers stated. The place is in desperate need of a make over. Almost everything was falling apart.
1) the television was not working
2) the fan was not working
3) all the locks on doors were damaged
4)the pool was dirty , a lot of leaves

I have to admit have seen staff scooping the leaves out of the pool. But the pool was still not
clean.

In the hotel catalogue, they promote that they offer complimentary shuttle service 3 times a day to kuta area. We called the front desk to enquire and were told on the first day that they were too busy to send us. On the second day, we were told that shuttle was only to seminyak area. But even then the drivers were still reluctant to send us. The front desk actually told us to speak to the driver ourselves.

The other issue was the baby cot. It was not set up properly and the sides were falling apart. We called to ask for help and help came only about 4 hrs later.

Most of the staff are actually quite friendly and helpful. We have had the most problems with the front desk staff and the drivers. The front desk staff definitely need more training. They seem very lost.

So far this is our worst experience in Bali.


  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    74
    28
    4
    6
See reviews for
16
209
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nantong, China
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Yes, having your own private villa and pool are luxuries that are coveted when looking for holiday relaxation. The villas are large and are equipped with kitchens, "outdoor" living areas and bathrooms (meaning they are covered and private to other guests but open to the outdoors). The bedroom is housed in a closed area (which can be opened up) with air conditioning and the bed has mosquito netting. First and second glaces, the villa is fantastic.
Third glance: there were things that were frustrating.
First, age and humidity are beginning to take their toll on these villas. There were cracks and bubbling in the paint in the bedroom area (although not completely noticeable at first) the outdoor seating cushions are stained from age, algae is growing on all the outer walls - including the shower area (although some may feel this gives a tropical feel).
Secondly, the pool was not cleaned ONCE while I stayed (I was here for a week). Leaves, flowers, bird feathers were scooped out by ME numerous times. I even found myself cleaning the leaves from the villa grounds surrounding my pool, as housekeeping never seemed to do it.
Thirdly, the minibar was never restocked during my stay.
Fourthly, and most annoying, is there is a rooftop bar very close to the villas. They play music for their customers which can be heard quite clearly in the villa. Sometimes this was fun for me - laying by the pool - but other times, like bedtime, I wanted relaxation and quite time but I could hear the music and it wasn't peaceful and relaxing for me. It's not obnoxious club music, but still enough of a bother that I was displeased.
The positives: any of the negatives I mentioned would have been rectified immediately if I had called the front desk (except the rooftop bar music). The staff is incredibly helpful and friendly. But, the point of so many of my disappointments is that if a hotel or resort is going to have minibars and pools for their guests - they should maintain them without being asked.
Again, the staff is VERY friendly - always smiling and saying hello. They are eager to please you. I asked to go on a tour of the monkey village and a driver was arranged to take me (as well as to other places in BALI - gold and silver market, the tiered rice village, and coffee plantation for a very reasonable price). There are mini marts, ATM's, currency exchanges, small shops and restaurants within walking distance. The streets are the safest to walk along, but I did it... The beach was a 15 minute walk from the suites. You could easily get a cab to go to the square for more shopping and dining experiences.
I had room service on several evenings and the food was very good. Breakfast came with my room rate (I ordered the American Breakfast - which is a lot of food). They set up your kitchen table just as it were a restaurant...lovely.
Over all, the staff here will do what ever you want. Your stay is made to order... Would I stay here again? Yes. The staff was that accommodating. But as another traveler wrote, when you have so many options in BALI, it wouldn't be bad to see what else is out there.

Room Tip: Arrange a tour with the front desk or rent a motor bike and see more of what this area has to offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solotravel1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSanyasBali, Manager at The Sanyas Suite Seminyak, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,

Warm Greeting from The Sanyas Suite Bali,

Thank you very much for your choosing The Sanyas Suite Seminyak for your stay and please do apologize us for being late to reply it.

Firstly,thank you very much for the comments and we have noted all your negative comment . we have brief the staff to make sure keep clean the Villa every time.and also for your info we have services and paint all the villas.
if you do not mind ,please give us again a time to serve you during the stay and we will do our best care and pay attention during your stay.

of you wish a great resorts for your stay,you may choose The Sanyas Retreat in Kerambitan,it just 45 minutes from The International Airport.
or for details,please visit our webb : www.thesanyasbali.com

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Sanyas Suite Bali.

Best regards
Sulis and The Sanyas Suite Bali teams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

The Sanyas Suite is simply amazing. No effort was spared in making us feel at home. Breakfast was served daily in the villa and added on to the feeling of royalty. Villa was clean and very spacious. The outdoor bath and toilet was a surprise and very unique.

While some may say that there were many mosquitoes in the villa, it is only natural that a place so green and natural like The Sanyas Suite have its share of insects and small animals (snails, dragonflies).

Location is superbly convenient with a 20 minute drive from the Airport. The Sanyas Suite is able to maintain its tranquillity as it is situated just off a busy main road. However, turn round the corner and many amenities are within walking distance. Convenience stores, currency exchange and countless bars/restaurants are a 5 minute walk away.

Overall, The Sanyas Suite is the place to go if you want to pamper yourself. The staff are friendly, speak good English and always willing to go that extra mile.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugene_hD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSanyasBali, Manager at The Sanyas Suite Seminyak, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,

Warm Greeting from The Sanyas Suite Bali,

First of all,Thank you very much for choosing The Sanyas Suite Seminyak for your stay.
Please also do apologize us for being late to reply your good comment.

We realy thank you veru much for your possitive comment and we do hope we can serve you again in future of your stay. we will more pay attention and realy care during of your stay.

Once again, Thank you very much for your stay with us and we look forwar to welcoming again at The Sanyas Suite.
if you want to stay at lovely and quite resort you may try The Sanyas Retreat in Kerambitan,
it just take 45 minutes from The International Airport.

Best regards
Sulis/Vm Mgr and Teams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

After 1st arriving in Bali & not happy with the service / location of our villa, we were lucky enough to find Sanyas!
The friendliness of staff (particularly GD aka G'Day) was SO wonderful, it put a smile on our faces seeing & talking to them.
When we went to have a look @ Sanyas we were highly impressed with the Villa & even more so when they upgraded us to the honeymoon villa, complete with love heart shaped pool.
Sanyas made our holiday & couldn't imagine what it would have been like if we had chosen somewhere else.
Accommodation wise it was a BIG villa with King size bed (mosquito netting was really pretty & practical), outdoor bath/shower was amazing, wonderfully private & pool may sound corny but it was a deep plunge pool & an awesome novelty.
Breakfast is served in your villa each morning & good food.
Location wise, it is not really friendly for walking (but Seminyak is not really kind for walking at all - the sidewalks were extremely hazardous). Everything is a short taxi ride & blue bird taxis are always available for $3aud or less, to anywhere you want to go.
Highly recommend Sanyas & the friendly staff!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed in Suites 101/102 last week and could not be more impressed. It was simply stunning. The staff were AMAZING. Could not be more accommodating. Clean, safe, beautiful. Highly highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msnoosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSanyasBali, Manager at The Sanyas Suite Seminyak, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Madam,

Warm Greeting from The Sanyas Suite Bali,

First of all, Thank you very much for choosing The Sanyas Suite Seminyak for your stay and also please do apologize us for being late to reply your comment.
Basicaly,we do much appreciate for your positive comment and we look forward to welcoming you
at The Sanyas Suite Seminyak and we will do our best care and fully attention during stay.

Once again,thank you very much for your good comment and we do hope I can serve you again
at The Sanyas Suite Bali or if you expect a Resort with more quite you may try The Sanyas Retreat in Kerambitan, just 45 minutes from The International Airport. you choose with combination package with The Sanyas Suite Seminyak.

Best regards
Sulis/Vm Mgr and Teams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Nice huge villa. Quiet & off the main road of Jalan Petitenget. Convenient ly located. Great pool but seems to need abit of thorough cleaning to be perfect. Algae on the sides of the pool. Interior seems nicely decorated but needs to spruce up again as the resort is rather old. Didn't really like the outdoor bathtub concept because of the numerous mosquitos. Will be great if that area is enclosed with see-thru glass. Probably will try out the many other villas in Seminyak next time unless they can upkeep the premises in a higher standard. Hope the hotel management reads this.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SipadanTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSanyasBali, Manager at The Sanyas Suite Seminyak, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,

Warm Greeting from The Sanyas Suite Bali,

First of all,Thank you very much for your choosing The Sanyas Suite Seminyak for your stay and also please do apologize for being late to reply your complaint.

We have read and review all of your complaint and I realy very sad it happen to you when you stay
at The Sanyas Suite Seminyak.

For your info, we have read your complaint while I brief the staff to improve the service to the guest. but I so sorry again we can not change the building standard,however please give a time to serve a better to you for your future stay.

I do promise we will do our best care during your stay in the next.

So,please do apologize us again and we will do our best care and pay attention your upcoming visit.

We look forward to welcoming to The Sanyas Suite Bali.

Best regards
Sulis/Vm Mgr and Teams.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury
Level Contributor
125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We are staying at the suites right now and have complained about the algae in the pool 3 times, it's not fit for swimming and the experts have no idea what they are doing, dropping in acid and chlorine without cleaning the walls and filters so it keeps going green.
Love the rooms and outdoor areas, staff are friendly, food is ok.
At $350 per night I expect more from the pool staff and hate having to raise my voice to demand they do something or we'll leave and go elsewhere. They have offered to let us swim at another villa but that's just pain in the butt.
Ira at reception is fabulous and can't do enough for you, the taxi drivers don't know the suites but all know the road Jalan Chenderwasih
Depending on how they deal with the pool as to whether I give them a better rating .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travelm858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1.6 mi away
Kunti Villas
Kunti Villas
#104 of 143 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pradha Villas
Pradha Villas
#65 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kiss Bali
Kiss Bali
#67 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Heliconia Villas
Heliconia Villas
#94 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Amala
The Amala
#16 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mayaloka Villas
Mayaloka Villas
#77 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sanyas Suite Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sanyas Suite Seminyak

Property: The Sanyas Suite Seminyak
Address: Jl. Cendrawasih No. 9 | Peti Tenget, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#31 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#63 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sanyas Suite Seminyak 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sanyas Suite is designed with a sanyasin's philosophy: it is a place appropriate for reaching happiness. In fact, it is designed for relaxation and rest from your daily routines activity with a beautiful architecture and comfortable furnishing. The Luxury a private villa and spa is a small resort, the fantastic place for Honeymoon. Unique entrance gate is inspired by typical of traditional Balinese courtyard houses. The open air living area pavilion includes an informal dining lounge and kitchenette. Each villa has own pool and decorated with Balinese antique pieces of art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sanyas Suite Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sanyas Hotel Seminyak
Sanyas Suite Hotel Seminyak
Sanyas Suite Seminyak
The Sanyas Suite Seminyak Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing