We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“'Pure Bliss'”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Dining Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
The Bedroom
The Bedroom
The Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
The Second Bedroom
The Second Bedroom
The Second Bedroom
The Second Bedroom
Bathroom (Twin Bedroom)
Bathroom (Twin Bedroom)
Bathroom (Bedroom)
Bathroom (Bedroom)
Bathroom (Bedroom)
Bathroom (Second Bedroom)
Bathroom (Second Bedroom)
The Pool
Terrace
The Pool
Ahhhhh, perfect
Partly shaded pool - perfect for the kiddos.
Who wants dinner and drinks by the pool? Yes please.
Spend quality time in.
What will your private chef serve you today?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Seminyak, Kuta District, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Discover6...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“'Pure Bliss'”
Reviewed 20 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

It was our first family trip to Bali so was quite daunting and we were unsure of which area to stay in and what type of accommodation. Choosing Umalas Retreat was definitely a blessing for our family and friends. Organising with Kay (Owner) our itinerary was promptly confirmed and we were warmly greeted by Putu (Manager) at Denpensar Airport. The Villa was perfect! Wonderful staff! From Rusmini the masterchef with deliciously cooked meals and the security guards Fanton & Maurice who looked over us 24/7! We asked Rusmini if she could cook us a suckling pig during our stay which was traditional and was an experience which we will never forget. The pool was a bonus which was a huge hit with our kids. We will definitely be booking to stay here again as it was perfect for our needs in every way. Thanks again to the team at Umalas Retreat 2. Highly recommend. See you soon :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m0nique73
Port Lincoln, Australia
1 review
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed 31 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We have just returned home from our first overseas holiday and stayed at the Umulas Retreat 2. We found all the staff very accommodating, the security guards were very friendly and Putu the manager, an excellent driver. Rusmini took such amazing care of us during our stay. She made our family feel very welcome and cared for, and nothing was too much trouble. Her cooking was fantastic and because of this we ate in the villa most nights, this suited us as we were tired after big days touring around so we would return home to a delicious meal and a friendly welcome from Rusmini, and the kids would spend hours swimming in the pool. We felt very spoilt having breakfast cooked for us every morning. The villa offers so many little extras which makes it feel like a home away from home - novels for reading, pool toys, board games, torches, equipped kitchen and many more. The wifi in the villa meant we could stay in touch with family at home and kept the teenagers happy at the end of each day when we returned. Kay was fantastic in helping us prepare for our holiday and throughout the booking process, her customer service was above and beyond. We would have no hesitation in recommending people to stay at one of the Umulas Retreat villas.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outstanding customer service. Being made to feel like valued guests
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maddi555
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Haven for relaxation ...”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

If you are planning a trip to Bali and want a safe, quiet, clean,relaxed and friendly Villa then look no further. It was so lovely to have Putu waiting for us at the airport and then on arriving at the Villa, Rusmini had a cold juice waiting for us, along with much appreciated cold towels.
The bedrooms were an excellent size with air-con, plus a fan, plus mozzie nets around the beds. The beds themselves were very comfortable. The living spaces were perfect for all four of us (we travelled with our two very tall teenage boys) and we all found a space to read or just relax and unwind. It was great to have fans in these areas and of course the kitchen was ours to use when our lovely Chef wasn't around (we love our lattes and flat whites, but we really liked the plunger Balinese coffee). Our private pool was fantastic and at the perfect temperature for the hot sticky weather we had. We stayed 10 nights and only ate out on two occasions. Why? We just loved Rusmini's cooking! If we could've snuck her home in our luggage we would have. As someone previously said, every meal was an explosion of flavours. We couldn't get enough of her Pad Thai .. but also loved the chicken peanut sate sticks - my mouth is watering just thinking about them! Rusmini is so lovely. Nothing was ever a problem and she was always happy to help out with anything we asked. We used Putu (our wonderful driver) 3-4 times during our stay to do day trips around Bali. He was always happy to fit in with our requests. When we ventured outside the Villa doors, the Security staff always had a smile for us and were ready to help. Nothing was ever a problem for all Kay's staff. Just a note on the two nights we did eat out (one at a pizza place in Kuta and the other at a beach front Warung) we were so very disappointed with the food after Rusmini's cuisine, however was lovely to sit at the beach in bean bags to watch the sunset.
Kay (Umalas's owner) was fantastic to deal with and made everything so easy. She was in Bali whilst we were there and happened to meet her and could see she is really passionate about ensuring all her guests have a truly memorable stay.
So the million dollar question is: Would we return to any of the Umalas Retreat Villas? The answer: Absolutely! We would aim for Villa 2 every time to ensure we have the services of the lovely Rusmini, but if it wasn't available we feel confident that all Kay's staff would be just as wonderful due to Kay's high standards.
PS: We loved the styling/decor of our Villa, very cool. Watch out Kay we'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to pick between Rusmini our Chef or just the wonderful private setting with private pool.
Liked least: That we had to go home.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renee F
1 review
“A relaxing tropical private oasis, and fabulous food by chef Rusmini and great service from driver Putu!”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Would definitely recommend Umalas... Great Villa, Great Chef, Great Driver, Great Allround Service = Great Time!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2016
Thanks Renee. We're so glad you enjoyed yourself. Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Kindest regards,
Anthony and Kay Shearn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin H
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Mrs”
Reviewed 28 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Our first trip to Bali and I can't imagine staying anywhere else. A family of four with two young children, this was paradise. Kay was fantastic to deal with and made everything easy. The staff at the villa feel like family. Rusmini is such an incredible cook, every meal was an explosion of flavour (highly recommend the crispy duck) my only complaint would be that I've gained at least 5kgs because the food was so delicious!! Rusmini was extremely accommodating and understanding with our busy toddlers and made the experience truly relaxing. The security staff are great value, make sure you get to know them too. Putu was great, always checking in on us and Wayan, another driver, was very accommodating. The staff really look out for you and make it an amazing experience. The detail in the villa itself was great, there was a high chair, portacot, plastic plates and bowls, bottle brush and toys for the kids. Kay organised a pool fence which was great. There is plenty in the area that is easy to walk to and the drive to Seminyak is very quick. Every detail is thought of and you could easily spend weeks behind the walls of the villa relaxing. It was my husbands birthday on the trip and Kay and the staff went out of there way to make it special. We hope to be back many times as this was truly paradise!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2016
Hi Caitlyn,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us.
We're so glad that we got to share you first trip to Bali with you, and that you've fallen for her charms and will be back.
It was an absolute pleasure to have you stay; I know that Rusmini loved having your little kiddo's around.
Keep safe and come and visit again soon.
Kindest regards,
Anthony & Kay Shearn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurenb72...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Amazing Experience! Not to be missed!!”
Reviewed 13 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Right from the start, Kay was a pleasure to deal with, and nothing was too difficult! I had issues with Trip Advisor, however Kay made everything so easy, sending me all the information so that I had access to confirmations and all other necessary information!
On arrival to the airport, Putu, the manager, was waiting for us and was very informative, showing us the local amenities on the way to the accommodation. When arriving at the villa, the staff greeted us with warm smiles and a welcome drink and cool towel. The villa was immaculately clean, and exactly like the pictures. Rusmini, the house keeper/chef was awesome, catering for any and every need, breakfast lunch or dinner, snacks, mozzie coils, turn down service, and general upkeep. The security there 24 hours a day made it feel very safe, and they were great to talk to or ask questions to about local services/taxis/anything we needed. Taxis were about AUD$3-5 to Seminyak center depending where you want to go, and came within 5-10 minutes every time, the location being the perfect balance of quiet and convenient. Local cafes were everywhere, and local people were very friendly and warm.
Kay came to visit us on our first day at the villa, as she was in the country during this time, and was full of amazing information about where to go, what to see, how, when, and with who. Kay came again on the last day to chat about how our stay was. She was so lovely, and again so easy to deal with!
The villa itself had most things you need in a kitchen, and they have thought of everything there! Mozzie Coils, technology, the welcome basket was a beautiful touch, and even cotton buds in the bathrooms! It was truly a pleasure to stay in Umalas Villa, and I will definitely stay there again!! Highly recommended and an experience not to be missed!!!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2016
Hi Lauren,
Thanks for your kind words.
We're glad you had such a good time.
See you again soon.
Kindest regards,
Anthony & Kay Shearn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmang
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Private Villa”
Reviewed 8 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Myself and 5 other members of my family stayed at Umalas Retreat II for one week during February. We found the Villa to be perfect for our needs.
The villa is very clean and is decorated beautifully; the furniture is comfortable, functional and stylish. The Wi-Fi was good enough for us all to be using our iPad’s etc. without issue.
The bedrooms are private, and the beds/linen are top quality. We did not want to leave our canopy bed! Each bedroom has its own ensuite, a fan and great air con.
The pool and garden area is just gorgeous. It was heaven coming home after a day of sightseeing or shopping to be able to get in the pool and cool off.
One of the highlights was our personal house keeper/chef – Rusmini. She is the loveliest lady you will ever meet and she cooked the best meals we had in Bali. Our security guards and our drivers, including Putu (the Villa manager) were also just as friendly and accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble. They are a delight and a credit to their employer. Kay (the owner) was also wonderful to deal with. She was quick to respond to any questions we had, and was very friendly.
In terms of location, we caught taxi’s to Seminyak and Kuta, and it didn’t cost us more than $3 - $10 Australian dollars. We liked that the Villa was away from the busy areas.
If you are going to Bali with a group of friends or family, and would like private accommodation away from the hustle and bustle of Kuta, then look no further than Umalas Retreat. You will not regret it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and beautiful garden
Liked least: Leaving! :)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Feb 2016
Hi G,
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I'll be sure to share it with Rusmini, Putu, Morris, Nyoman & Made.
Please come back and visit us again soon.
Kindest regards,
Anthony & Kay Shearn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing