We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely the MOST amazing experience I have...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
46 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Seminyak, Kuta District, Bali

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Absolutely the MOST amazing experience I have ever had”
Reviewed 30 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

This villa in Seminyak, Bali was by far the best part of any vacation. Staying here was not just about the living accommodation, but also about the experience in Bali. Because of the wonderful staff that works here, Budi, Kadek, and Putu, we were able to go outside of the villa and explore the wonderful culture that this part of Indonesia has to offer. Budi took time out of his own personal life to ensure that we were able to see Bali and the culture, religion, and nature of this beautiful place that he calls home. The staff went out of their way to accommodate us, and even prepared meals for us that were better than what most restaurants could offer. The villa was always well kept and the views were spectacular. I HIGHLY recommend staying in this villa and would do it again in a heartbeat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your beautiful feedback, we are most grateful that you took the time to let others know what a great place Villa Deva is and how wonderful the staff are.

Also, thank you for giving your recommendation to stay at Villa Deva and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards,

Steve McKenzie
Manager
Villa Deva
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TommyLD
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
“amazing”
Reviewed 4 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

amazing place to stay with friends, our staff who looked after us were great!! one staff member in ferry was absolutely amazing, looked after us so well!! great location right near the beach, thats if you want to leave the mansion. one of the air cons didn't work but that didn't bother us, the good defy weighed out the bad!!!

thanks again :)

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2017
Hi Tommy,

Sounds like you really loved the "Mansion" and its location. We are really happy to hear you had a great holiday.

We appreciate your time to give us your feedback about Villa Deva.

Please come and see us again.

Best Wishes

Steve McKenzie
Manager
Villa Deva
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blake M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We were blown away the moment we walked into our Villa”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I would recommend anyone with a group of friends or family looking for a place that has everything with close proximity to the main restaurants, bars and beaches of Seminyak. The pool was clean and big enough to swim. The staff were very friendly and on point with service each day. The view from the rooftop was incredible. The Rooms were also sizeable with larger bathrooms & showers. There was nothing missing from this beautiful place of paradise.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2017
Dear Blake,

We are incredibly happy to hear that you loved everything about Villa Deva and that you had a great holiday.

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

Look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Steve McKenzie
Manager
Villa Deva
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creatavis...
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Incredible views, staff and villa”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is an incredible villa right in the heart of a beautiful beach. Sunsets on the rooftop are just amazing. It is tastefully decorated and the owner even took time to check we were happy.

The staff were great. Any little problem and they were right onto it. In Bali, things can and do happen, specially in villas. I guess because we have stayed in Bali so many times we know the good from the not so good, and this one is right up there in the great.

We didn't use all the bedrooms but they were still there if we needed them.

Walks along the beach are highly recommended. You can easily walk into Seminyak or back up to Canggu. Or, stroll back up to the many restaurants. Getting a taxi is easy and staff will help you.

This is one of the finest properties in the area and hopefully we can stay again soon. We spend most of our time in Bali, so it was a wonderful chance to get away from the build next door to our villa and experience luxury! Thank you Klara and team, we will be recommending you again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view!
Liked least: Having to go back to Canggu!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2017
Dear Creatavision,

Thank you for making the time to write such lovely comments about your stay at Villa Deva. It sounds like you loved it.

We look forward to you staying in Bali again, please let us know if we can be of help.

Kind Regards,
Steve McKenzie
Manager
Villa Deva
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faiq R
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The villa was beautiful and we loved it, BUT staff very unprofessional.”
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
4
people found this review helpful

The villa was beautiful and we loved it!

However, I must admit the 3 men manning the villa need to be changed. I felt a strong urge to bring it up with you as it's such a shame considering how spectacular the villa is.

Firstly, they work from 9 am to 4 pm. The villa was not cleaned till about 1 pm. Worst of all, we had to ASK them to wipe down the tables, clear the leaves around the pool and replace towels in rooms. We told them that the rooms didn't have to be cleaned but we wanted the living/communal area to be cleaned up and towels replaced. I mean that's bare minimum and we are saving them a lot of effort and trouble (which by the way shouldn't even have to be the case). We even sent them home early once those tasks were completed.

Secondly, we asked for cabs at specific times. They had to be reminded 5 times before they could arrange that for us.
At 12pm, I asked to have 6 masseurs at the villa for 3:30 pm. We only had 2 masseurs come in and had to wait 30 minutes for the other 4, which is quite frustrating considering they had ample time do sort it out a simple task. This might sound like a bratty first world problem but by choosing to pay for an upscale villa we obviously expect a certain level of service and competence by the staff. The whole point of travelling in a group is to do things as a group and not have to split up on activities.

Finally, we ordered our cabs to the airport, got our luggage, started walking out to the pick up area and Andre (abruptly) said he had to speak to me about some damages. He brought to light "a broken piece of plastic in the freezer". I have zero issues owning up to damages I or my friends may have caused but that was not caused by us. We asked them where the broken piece of plastic was and if it happened during our stay, it should be in the villa. Of course there was no proof of it because it clearly did not occur during our stay. He proceeded to them claim he saw it in the morning, in which case he should have addressed the issue right away not while we were walking out of the villa to get into our taxis to the airport!
From our perspective, it seemed like the staff were just trying their luck to score a couple of bucks and con us into believing we had damaged the property. We are honest and respectful guests and would never damage someone else's property and if, for whatever reason, we did - we would take full responsibility for our actions. I say this because 3 of the girls work in the hospitality industry and can empathize with such issues and would never over step in such a manner or take advantage of it.

Furthermore, I advice you to replace the staff in the villa for your own benefit because it truly is a shame to receive such poor service in such a wonderful villa. It really took away from the whole experience and I would hate for this to happen to any other guests or for you to receive such feedback in the future.

Thank you for the villa and no thank you to the staff.
p.s. i'd give it a 5* if staff was replaced

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2017
Dear Faiq,

Thank you for bringing to light these issues. We are appalled to hear that this was your experience and will definitely be looking into this and take on some of your advice. Although, on the up side great to hear that you loved the villa and I hope overall yourself and your group had a good holiday despite the staff.

Again, I can't apologise enough for the staffs' behaviour. We appreciate this feedback and as you say "you wouldn't want other guests to have to put up with this" and neither do we.

Best Wishes,

Steve Mckenzie
Villa Deva
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelMurph
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A very mixed experience”
Reviewed 12 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a very mixed experience here. We travelled as a group of 10 - 4 couples and 2 singles and the Villa was great in terms of accomodating us all ensuring privacy for everyone, plenty of seating in the lounge area, it definitely didn't feel cramped for that many adults. The pool area was very pretty and it did feel luxurious despite it feeling a bit aged.

The daily breakfast was great, we did venture out for breakfast once or twice for some variety and to test out the Bali cafes but it was great having breakfast cooked for us every day.

Staff were friendly and helpful, we had quite a few issues with the Villa and they were always trying to assist as best they could.

The location is great, is slightly out of the main area of Seminyak, so is a bit quieter, but still very close and a short and easy taxi ride to all the bars/restaurants and shops. There is a great little beach shack type restaurant just at the end of the driveway on the beach - great for a few cold beers, some cheap and tasty food and to watch the sunset in a casual environment.

The booking agent for this property and the owner are independent from each other and it seems the communication between the two and the villa staff is significantly lacking. Unfortunately the arrival date was delayed for 4 of us, so the 6 other guests arrived before us. They were asked for a cash deposit on arrival which we had not been advised of, and was very inconvenient for our guests to hand over all of the cash they'd brought with them. Upon departure we asked if some of our group could stay on a bit later and were told that due to the issues we'd had that was fine, and that someone would be past early afternoon to return the deposit. The deposit wasn't returned until late afternoon (so they had to wait around for this) and then they demanded more money for them to be able to stay a couple more hours, even though we'd been told we wouldn't be charged. Again, communication between staff and management is lacking.

The Villa amenities itself are very unreliable. The water stopped every day in the top floor bedrooms, and went out completely on the last day throughout the whole property. No flushing toilets with 10 people is less than ideal. The hot water was also very temperamental, with some guests reporting none at all in their bathrooms. We also lost TV service one evening when we were wanting to watch the French Open tennis final. They came out that evening to try and fix it but they couldn't get it going. It was great that they came out, and were always very accomodating at attempting to repair the problems, but the fact that the recurring problems kept coming made our stay far less enjoyable.

Overall if they manage to fix the utility and communication issues this would be a great place to stay, but it does create unnecessary concerns while you're on holiday. We have since been offered a refund for the late checkout and Ministry of Villa's have been very accomodating and communicative. They have taken on board our feedback and hopefully the issues will be addressed asap.

How easy was it to book the property?
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2017
Dear Mel,

Your feedback is very valuable and we appreciate your time in providing your thoughts. Yes, its is quite mixed. I apologise for any inconvenience that you experienced due to the lack of communication and utilities. We will attend to these issues. It seems that the villa was suitable for your large group and you still had a good time. It is really annoying that you had to deal with these issues. It was definitely not acceptable.

I am glad to hear that Ministry of Villas have been helpful, and hope all goes well.

Kind Regards,

Steve McKenzie
Villa Deva
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben S
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value for larger groups”
Reviewed 15 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Very happy with this place, close to the beach, friendly staff and well maintained private villa. With 4 to 5 beds, all with seperate rooms and big showers, it was very spacious for 5 couples.

Also, nice rooftop terrace for sundowners.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2017
Dear Ben,

Great to hear that you were very happy with Villa Deva. The rooftop terrace is lovely for those Bali sunsets, its nice that you took the opportunity to enjoy them.

Thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards,

Steve McKenzie
Manager
Villa Deva
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing