We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, amazing staff”
Review of Alam Warna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alam Warna
Ranked #84 of 416 Speciality Lodging in Seminyak
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great value, amazing staff”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

These villas were located in the heart of Seminyak, within easy walking distance of all attractions in the area (potato head, ku de ta, sarong restaurant etc).

Staff were friendly and helpful, and a beautiful cooked breakfast was served fresh in your villa every day. The villas themselves were very quiet, we heard virtually no noise at all, we often thought we were the only ones staying there! The air conditioning was great in the main bedrooms, although the bathrooms did tend to get a little hot during the day, but they were huge and very well appointed. Some people may have a slight issue with some of the villas that have an internal staircase, they may be unsuitable for those with smaller children. In saying that, we had absolutely no issues with the stairs at all.

The quality of the rooms was fantastic, I wouldn't exactly say 5 star, but they are comfortable and well presented even if the furniture looks a little tired/outdated. The private lap pool in our double villa was absolutely amazing and we spent a lot of time in there to escape the bali heat.

The alley you walk down to get to the villas is in fact a street, not an alley, although it is a little dark, it is perfectly fine, and is quite pleasant. It is like any other normal street in Seminyak, so those who complained about it probably complain about the rest of Bali too!!

The staff really made this place a home, and for this reason we would absolutely stay here again. They are friendly and welcoming from the moment they collect you from the airport to the time that they drop you off. They are willing to help you out in any way possible and will go out of their way to make your stay great. Thankyou Alam Warna!!

Room Tip: I think all villas would be fairly quiet, as the villas are located down a small side street that ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyLu1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    36
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
65
104
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Situated within 10 minutes of many great restaurants, Seminyak Square and the beach, we found Alam Warna extremely convenient.

We stayed for 10 nights in a one bedroom villa, which was spacious with an excellent swimming pool. We spent most of our time downstairs in the spacious open living area. The well air conditioned bedroom and main bathroom were accessed via a staircase. For us this was not a problem, however the stairs were quite steep and there were a lot of them, so if you are physically challenged, it might prove an issue.

The villa was clean and serviced twice a day. With some of the furniture in the downstairs area exposed to the elements, they do appear a little weathered.

The pool was very large and well maintained. We were disappointed that the jacuzzi, although warm, no longer had functioning jets.

The bathroom was large and minimalistic. We experienced problems with the hot water throughout our stay. The staff explained to us how to use it, unfortunately we found it incredibly inconsistent and difficult. This was only really a problem with the upstairs shower, on some occasions we waited 30 minutes and still had no hot water.

The staff are warm, friendly and generous, they always went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. We appreciated the drivers taking us everywhere we requested.

Breakfast we found to be adequate, although the menu could benefit from a bit more variety as it is limited. There are kitchen facilities available if you want to cook your own breakfasts.

For us, Alam Warna was in a great location with taxis under $1AUD to our favourite restaurants and we found it extremely comfortable. Thanks Alam Warna, we would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank footyflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

we stayed in 3 bedroom villa in april. it is a huge property with large bedrooms, day beds, kitchen and a huge pool.
it is near the seminyak beach and shares that with legian, oberoi, etc
the staff is very friendly and the shuttle is good.

the villa can improve on the breakfast choices, but not a major hindrance for a nice holiday in bali.

Room Tip: we stayed in 3 bedroom villa, think all villas are just fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arvind-Pooja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Had a room upstairs, lovely outdoor kitchen/ lounge area and shared the pool- villa with the girls we went with. They had a beautiful villa with indoor fish pond and great pool area. Only thing i didn't like was the very steep stairs to our villa with no landing at the top. Very hard to unlock the door while hovering on a step in the dark and carrying shopping etc . Suggest they put the door at the bottom of the stairs would be a lot safer. Staff were great and very helpful. Pool very clean and decor nice. Bathroom is a bit strange as it is in the entrance to the room. No privacy if you are using the toilet, a door/partition would be great. Seminyak very over rated, give me Legian any time. Very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ground floor to avoid the steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenonholiday2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2014

5* for service. Excellent, friendly, helpful and obliging staff. Can't praise them enough.
5* for apartment (outside). Booked the apartment without pool. Nice outdoor living area & kitchen and a nice view looking down the villas with pool.
3* for apartment (inside). Bedroom OK but bathroom is located between the outdoor kitchen and bedroom. So both doors must be closed when using the bathroom. It's hot like a sauna. I am the type who like to relax in the bath for an hour at the end of the day. Could only stay in there for 5 mins.
3* for location. Central, near Ku De Ta, but not that easy to find. Got rejected by a few Blue Bird taxis even with hotel card as they did not know the way. Beware of taxis that look like Blue Bird. Boarded one late at night without realising it's not and was ripped off.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YYuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Couldn't fault the staff or the service they were amazing and really helpful. Villa in its day would have been quality but our villa really was in desperate need of a major makeover to get it up to the quality that is now in the area these days. Villa is down a very narrow laneway, which once had a second access to Seminyak Square (now being built out) so it is not as convenient as it once was. Would I stay here again - Definitely not there are much cleaner and crisper villas in Legian, that are closer to the action and the restaurants, for half the price. Catching Taxi's to Legian /Kuta became a hassle as it was expensive and took over 30 minutes depending on traffic.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janey1621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hendrawan-alamwarna, Manager at Alam Warna, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear guest,
We are very sorry to hear about your disappointment regarding the access to and the overall condition of our villas. As you may have noticed, especially in January, the start of the rainy season this year has been extremely wet, which had obviously a negative impact on the open-air setup of our villas. We usually wait until mid-March, when it stops raining, to start addressing all the cosmetic issues and return the villas to their pristine condition. We therefore regret that you were caught right in the middle of it. Regarding the temporary closure of the shortcut to Seminyak Square and Oberoi Street, we are as disappointed as you are, yet the manager of the project blocking this access has assured us that the driveway will be reopened by April, better than ever, offering an easy 5 minute stroll to all the Seminyak action ! As for taxis to Legian or Kuta, our front office staff is always more than happy to call a reliable taxi company for a taxi to pick you up on our doorstep and take you quickly via back roads to your destination. This said, Alam Warna Villas being a 7 minutes walk away from Seminyak beach or Petitenget restaurants, you wouldn't need a taxi very often ;-)
We therefore look forward to welcoming you again and impressing you with all the scheduled upgrades and changes !

Thanks
Hendra !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a three bedroom villa with five adults and a toddler. Layout was excellent - and yes the stairs somewhat steep but the little fellah handled them very well...and there was no problem with the pool or pond from our perspective....they were great! the open plan layout was perfect for Bali and although we had some rain made for perfect laze about spaces with a little something for everyone. Breakfast was nice and had a great range...though if we'd stayed for longer than five nights would probably have ventured out - just for a change. Staff were friendly and assisted as we needed and were always playful with the toddler. In house massages were very nice but there are cheaper options close by that were just as good. Definitely recommend this place for groups and families - heaps of space, non pretentious, private with a real 'Bali' feel. Excellent eating spots close by, and the lane way walk (which we had to take the long way around due to some construction blocking the short route) was safe in the evening and easy to navigate - even with a stroller. Only minor criticism is that there was some mould on the furnishings and walls but at this time of year in the tropics it is kind of to be expected!!! If you choose Alam Warner... Enjoy! It is worth it!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.1 mi away
Seminyak Square Hotel
Seminyak Square Hotel
#67 of 143 in Seminyak
186 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kutaville
Kutaville
#42 of 416 in Seminyak
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seminyak Sky Suite by Kupu Kupu Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
4S Villas at Seminyak Square
4S Villas at Seminyak Square
#73 of 416 in Seminyak
62 reviews
0.9 mi away
Annora Villas Seminyak
Annora Villas Seminyak
#51 of 416 in Seminyak
181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Kayu Aya & Airy
Casa Kayu Aya & Airy
#41 of 110 in Seminyak
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Warna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Warna

Property: Alam Warna
Address: Jln. Laksmana Gang Pandu nr.20, Seminyak, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 416 Speciality Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alam Warna 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alam Warna, a stunning boutique villa development located in the heart of Seminyak, is of contemporary Balinese architectural design and comprises six large villas, each with their own private 10 x 4 m swimming pool, jacuzzi and garden. The interior of each villa is colour coordinated with a precious stone and its open living space, featuring a huge indoor waterfall, is designed to let the guests take full advantage of the Balinese tropical climate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alam Warna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Warna Hotel Seminyak
Alam Warna Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing