We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice resort and super helpful stuff!”
Review of ANANDA RESORT

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
ANANDA RESORT
Ranked #96 of 144 Hotels in Seminyak
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice resort and super helpful stuff!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We happened to be here as we didn't book a hotel before in Seminyak. I was a big surprise with fine price (40$ - as it suppose to be 45$). The receptionist is very kind, bring us to a nice suite - which the living and kitchen corner we wont use, there is a terrace to the garden. Inside it is a nice surprise with a hugee bathroom, with a bath tub and big space. The bedroom is nice, softly king size bed, flowers is also nice decoration in a room.
The pool is also very nice, we enjoyed it alot.
The next thing is after checkout, they help to keep our bags while we went to the beach. When we came back, I was asking if we could take a short shower, and the guy was very nice to give us a room to take shower without worry about anything or addtion service they will have to clean the room. So we appreciate it alot.
Finally, when we left from the bath, I forgot my watch! So bad ;( So next morning when I came back to my country, I called them, they found it. Now they will send it to me tomorrow, hopefully I will have it again. A big thanks to their kindness.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaiAnhVN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    124
    43
    12
    14
See reviews for
41
114
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

I booked here for location & price. Only $ 46 Aus a night! Beautiful gardens and big rooms. A little old but charming old Bali style bungalows. It's not 5 star but for what it is, I liked it. On Oberoi rd. Opposite Trattoria restaurant. If your on a budget, this is great value, beautiful pool & grounds.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dinodissi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

I liked Ananda, but I’ll put it this way: If your girlfriend books this resort then your safe. If you book it for your girlfriend for your special getaway, then she might not be so impressed.

I got off the plane late at night and went to my hotel in Seminyak. When I turned up they could not find my booking, then they informed me that it would cost twice the price than I had booked for. It was late so I asked them where I could find a cheap hotel in Seminyak and they suggested Ananda Resort.

I was extremely surprised at how much I enjoyed staying there. When I first arrived I was given a deluxe room for about US$70 so I booked for one night expecting it to be really bad, and it was late and I just needed a bed. They led me through some lovely traditional styled free standing villas to my villa. My villa was 2 bedroom, and you enter into the lounge room. There is a kitchen and dining room but the kitchen has no equipment in it so nothing to get excited about. I had a room downstairs off the lounge room which was lockable. The bedroom was large but the decor and furnishings were very old fashioned and the TV did not work (I didn't care as I didn't plan on spending my time watching TV). The air-con worked very well considering the size of the room. Off the bedroom was my own private courtyard, which the gardener has ignored for some time, but a peaceful place none the less. The ensuite was huge and looked newly renovated in parts, but still had a feeling of being unfinished. There was a corner spa bath but I'd rather jump in the pool, so I never used it.

Upstairs was another bedroom and ensuite but this was locked and was not rented, so I had the whole place to myself. It was such a good deal that after one night I booked for another 2 nights.

The hotel is halfway down Jalan Laksmana - opposite the famous Ultimo restaurant. Laksmana is such a busy street that I expected Ananda Resort to be very noisy, but that couldn't be further from the truth. The complex is so quiet and the pool is huge and very tranquil. I rarely say anyone else, but the staff assured me that they were booked out.

The hotel offered basic breakfasts but did not offer Lunch or dinner. This is certainly no big deal when you are surrounded by fabulous restaurants and bars. Ku De Ta and the beach are only 10mins walk away.

If tacky furnishings are going to ruin your trip then don't stay here. But if you don't mind the leopard print doona and mis-matched furniture, then this has to be the cheapest place in Seminyak. You are in the heart of all the action, it's quiet and very easy on the budget.

They have a function room next to the pool that they didn't seem to use, but if you were looking at a budget wedding or function and a cheap place for all of your friends to stay all together then this could be an option worth exploring.

Not a lot is available in this area for under $140, so to find a place that is half that price makes Seminyak accessible to budget travellers.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AussieCouple10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012 via mobile

Seminyak is expensive. We walked around the laksmana area and were quoted up to 480/night for a room. Redic. So we were excited when we came across ananda. It's right across from the trattoria, and near everywhere you want to be. Minutes from ku de ta!

Our rate was 500,000/night. That is unheard of for this nice area. Now, the hotel is old and temperamental at times. Weird water pressure issues. Difficult lock on door. But it's got great air con, heavenly bed, and cable tv. We slept like babies here.

We spent our days at the spa, walking around shopping, eating, drinking, so we didn't hang out at the hotel much. If you are budget conscious and have a sense of humor, this is a good find. If you are wanting a luxury resort stay, do not book here. We stayed here as part of a 3 month long travel plan, so it was perfect.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank DallasFlysolofemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

I wasn't super impressed with my stay at Ananda but it wasn't bad either. I'd say average is a good word. The staff was great, though. And the pool was great, too. Our room was big but the television only got a few local channels. But the bed was comfy.

If I was going to stay in Semenyak again (please kill me) I'd look elsewhere first but go back to Ananda if all else failed.

Also, it was pretty quiet considering it's location, so I was impressed with that. I'm mostly hard on this place because of my overall frustration with paying 400,000 IDR and not getting something somewhat backpacker-luxurious like I had hoped to find.

The had internet but only in the restaurant at the front near the lobby (not in the rooms).

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomadjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurong, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2010

We can't find our hotel that we booked, so we settled in this hotel for one night 16/6/10 before we head to airport next morning at 4.30 am.
We reached there at 6 pm, no one helped us to carry our lugguage, unlike other hotels in Bali that we stayed. Passed by a long pathway to our bungalow room with 2 stories
When the receptionist opened the rooms, the smelled choked me to cough, so smelly....
The pillows were so smelly, the towels were gray color, when my husband & I lied down on the bed, straight away we know there were bed bugs making our body so itchy, next morning, my kids told us they got some insects biting them, both air con for both rooms were so hot.
Front door has no key to lock. My son saw someone walked into our garden, then another man walked into our balcony & left. Toilet has no door. Toilet bowl was yellow stink in color. The whole bed rooms were so gloss. When i pulled the curtain, there was a big lizard staring at me..
My kids went to the pool in the evening, they came back after 10 minutes, told us the pool was so dirty.
The hotel named Ananda resort & spa, with no spa. The man in the counter asked me do you want body massage, he can call for massage in the room. Cost Rupiah 150,000. But when i think about the smell, I have no mood to do any massage in the room.
We were glad we left to airport at 4.30 am, only 10.5 hrs stay for Rupiah 800,000 without breakfast. Totally not worth a single cents for this smelly & disgusting so called resort & spa.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jean_koay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2010

Well, I have to agree with pretty much everything Subber from Sydney said about the Ananda Resort in Seminyak (what a very well written review it is) except I got to choose the actual room we had and our bed and our shower was (much) better.
Here's the story: We were on our last night of a 6-day Bali trip from Darwin. We both live in Darwin. Our first 2 nights were at the Casa Padma Suites on Jalan Padma in Legian and I like it there. See the review for that stay. We then drove ourselves to Lovina and stayed at the very beautiful Rambutan Villas - see the review for that stay. We drove back to the south and needed a room for the night and the Casa Padma was "full" so we went off in search of another room, in the trusty Toyota Avanza. We came across the Ananda. It seemed well located (that turned out to be true) and they advertised rooms from 399,000Rp per night. I paid 500,000 but thought I didn't want to argue because I had just driven from Lovina. The Front Desk man was extremely friendly and polite and I had just been into one of the schmicko hotels a bit further north where they told me one night was $US525. I laughed at that. I don't mind luxuries in life but danged if I will pay $US525 for a bed for the night! What are they thinking??
I looked at the room we would be having and it was OK. My g/fr ended up saying it was totally OK. That surprised me because we'd had a quite comfy trip that far.
I'll disagree with Subber on the bed quality. Our bed atthe Ananda was the best we had in Bali - soft and comfy. We used it rather liberally as well and it was fine.
The property though is desperately in need of a big makeover. It is very well situated and it's true there's a cluster of restaurants right where Ananada is. We went to the Cafe Bali for dinner. I will go back and try more food places there. I kept thinking what a good investment the Ananda Resort could make.
The pool area is inviting. There is a 24-hr mini market across the street.
They let us park our car right near the front door for free.
They were very friendly.
And, the WiFi is free.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherokee235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.4 mi away
Destiny Boutique Hotel
Destiny Boutique Hotel
#89 of 144 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bali Ayu Hotel
Bali Ayu Hotel
#88 of 144 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vansari Hotel Seminyak
Vansari Hotel Seminyak
#56 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Taman Ayu
The Taman Ayu
#107 of 144 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.9 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Petitenget
Swiss-Belhotel Petitenget
#57 of 144 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
#28 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ANANDA RESORT? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ANANDA RESORT

Property: ANANDA RESORT
Address: Jl Laksamana 1001x, Seminyak, Kuta, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — ANANDA RESORT 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your ANANDA RESORT reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ANANDA RESORT Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing