We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful villa and 5* service”
Review of Serene Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Serene Villas
Ranked #10 of 423 Speciality Lodging in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My family and I stayed in the Garden Serene Villa when we booked a surprise Bali trip for my Dad's 70th birthday. We had a fantastic time starting from when we first walked in the front door of the villa... just stunning! My mum booked the villa and originally booked the one next door, which was accidently double-booked. The owner was very apologetic and booked us into the Garden villa, which was bigger, for the same price.

The villa was beautifully decorated, modern, very clean and with all the conveniences you would expect and more. The villa has its own kitchen with unlimited fresh drinking water, natural stone pool, beautiful green lush garden with deck chairs, huge open plan and al fresco lounge and dining area with large satellite TV with Foxtel (not that you need TV in Bali), 3 bedrooms each with massive bathrooms, free toiletries, a safe, and even bathrobes and slippers.

The location is very good - a 5-10 minute walk down Jalan Drupadi and you're on Jalan Laksamana, one of the main shopping streets of Seminyak. The awesome thing about staying in a villa when you're with a group of friends or your family is that you can get privacy in your room but you can also easily all hang out together in the shared areas.

There were many lovely local Balinese staff who serviced us - Yani and Ako cooked us a breakfast of our choice every morning. The whole villa and garden is cleaned for you every day. Also included in our package were a 30 minute free massage for everyone (in the villa), airport transfers, US$150 worth of extras (they will stock your fridge with Bintang using this if you want), a big seafood/meat BBQ one night and a huge Balinese dinner another.

A quick note about the things that other travellers complain about - geckos, mosquitos, thin towels, etc. When you travel to other countries you have to expect that things are not the same as home. When you travel to a tropical country like Bali, yes there will be more bugs because of the humid temperatures that insects thrive in, and yes this means there will be more geckos to eat them. Staff spray for mosquitos in the villa but you usually need to have mosquito coils burning at night-time too. And if you have a gecko or two, they are very cute and considered good luck. Regarding the towels, all of Bali is pretty much the same. Ours were fine but obviously not as plush as home. No problems. Enjoy the rest of the amazing experience and don't worry about nit-picking.

I cannot rave about this place enough and would love to live in a house just like it. It made it very hard to go home to our normal homes (in the cold of winter and no home cooked breakfast in the morning). I hope we will be back one day soon!

Room Tip: The Garden Serene Villa is a huge 3 bedroom villa with its own beautiful garden and pool. All three...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SereneVillasTeam, Manager at Serene Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

We are glad that you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us and your Dad's birthday. Celebrations are held often at Serene Villas and the staff take extra care to ensure that everyone leaves feeling like old friends. Thanks for answering some of the often asked questions by our potential new guests. Visiting another country and experiencing a different way of living is part of the overall Bali Villa lifestyle. Hope we have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

240 - 246 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

Had a holiday in Bali a while back with a group of friends and stay at Serene Villa. Stayed at the Cendana villa which is an absolutely beautiful and spacious 3 bedroom villas with its own private pool in a tranquil setting. A perfect place for some R&R and the staff are friendly and helpful. The villas are luxuriously designed and facilities are well thought of, providing one with much to do especially when they have a huge collection of movies and shows which you could select from when you just wanna do nothing but chill out while having a cold beer or juice.

It is located just a stone throw away from some wonderful restaurants and shopping area in Seminyak, there is enough things to keep everyone busy and yet quiet and private enough for those seeking a place to rejuvenate.

Private massages can be arranged at the villa and we had a couple of sessions at the poolside which were very relaxing and absolutely loved it !! Bali has already been a favorite holiday destination for me and I am definitely looking at coming back to this hidden gem again whenever I come back to this lovely tropical island.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fanny88_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SereneVillasTeam, Manager at Serene Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Being located in a quiet back street from all the action in Seminyak, keeps us true to our name "Serene" and that combined with the trained and ever helpful Serene Team means our guests will keep coming back to the place and people they love. Yes we have in-house Spa treatments along with private chefs to cook in your villa. What more could one ask for on a Bali Villa vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Great service from staff here. Emails were replied to very promptly and Serene Villas was also very flexible with last minute changes. Stayed in Serene Villa Palm #2 (3-bedroom) for 3 nights, and Serene Villa Acacia (2-bedroom) for a night. We were pleasantly surprised with the gazebo in Villa Acacia, which Palm #2 did not have. Special thanks to our butler Wiparma who was very attentive, helpful and makes a mean Indonesian breakfast. Reception was also very helpful with all our last minute transportation arrangements and made our stay as fuss-free as possible. The butlers also helped move all our belongings to Villa Acacia for our last night in Bali while we were out. We really appreciated that! Location-wise, the villas were located in a quiet part of Seminyak but still a quick drive to restaurants etc (walkable too if you do not mind). We loved the picturesque walk down to the villas (both were at the end of the laneway) from Jalan Drupadi.

The only issue we had with Palm #2 was that the air conditioning in all bedrooms could be a bit more powerful (the ceiling fan helped). As 2 of the bedrooms were facing East, the rooms were slightly warm during the day. We did not have the same problem in Villa Acacia. Nonetheless, both villas were well maintained and we had a very comfortable stay here. In-house spa services were fantastic too!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank painaulait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SereneVillasTeam, Manager at Serene Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thanks for your feedback and happy to read of your experience at Serene and with our staffs service. Having a butler to help with all your needs while on holiday is quite addictive and many guests want to bring them home. Glad you enjoyed the breakfast ! Come back again and enjoy even more !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My friend Lora and I just spent 3 days at Serene Villas and it was the best place to start our vacation!! The rooms with private pools were amazing, the staff was so friendly, and the service was excellent. If I ever go back to Bali, I am definitely staying here!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SereneVillasTeam, Manager at Serene Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

We glad that Serene was able to meet and exceed all your expectations and that you will be coming back to visit us again. The staffs friendly attitude is something that only years of service and training brings. Please spread the word to family and friends and we await your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

A great hideaway in busy Seminyak our villa was down a long drive way within walking distance of the main shopping and eating street. It was so relaxing and the villa was impeccably clean and provided everything you'd think you'd need. Beds were amazingly comfortable and we slept fantastically due to the quiet nature of the location. Wiparma, our butler, was attentive and helpful preparing delicious breakfasts and providing advice during our all too brief three night stay. Spent a long time looking for villas to stay in and this one was worth the $300AUD night cost. We stayed in Serene Villa Palm 2 (3 bedroom) and took full advantage of the pool and enjoyed the nature sense of the garden. Frangipani tree was naturally dropping flowers into the pool - pretty amazing really.

Room Tip: Rooms further from the road are quieter. Serene Palm Villa is near the rear of the complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J-Lou_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SereneVillasTeam, Manager at Serene Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

All of Serene Villas are located down a lane far from the less peaceful areas of busy Seminyak which makes the choice to stay with us even easier. Glad that you enjoyed our beds with crisp linen and comfortable furnishings. We know that getting everything right in our bedrooms ensures guests will leave us feeling rested and wanting to stay longer and come back for another visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This was in a great location to walk around to shops and restaurants. The staff were so helpful and kind to us. Their service was great. They cooked for us and had breakfast ready each morning which was more then we could ever finish. The plunge pool was great to take a dip and cool off, we could even watch a movie as its right beside the outdoor lounge. The room were clean and spacious and what an experience to shower privately but outside! loved the feel of this villa and was clean and air-conditioning in the bedroom which was good to come home to after shopping all day. We could however hear the villa next door when their tv was on loud when they were watching their movies as its all outdoor lounges but we only had this once and didnt mind much depends on person to person i guess. Otherwise great service!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLeeSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SereneVillasTeam, Manager at Serene Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Having all your expectations and more met on a vacation is very important and we are glad to hear that yours were met and exceeded. Service is also important and this does come naturally to the Balinese as you have experienced. Thanks for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We spent 6 nights in late April at the Frangipanni 2 bedroom Villa which was lucky because 1 more night, we would have stayed forever. We cannot find a single fault from the airport pickup to the welcome drink, the cleanliness and the ambience of the Villa. The location is a little bit off the beaten track but perfect for solitude. The staff were fantastic. Wayan our butler and the breakfast prepared daily was just wonderful. Wie the "mosquito Man" full of friendly local advise. We really can't thank them enough for a truly wonderful holiday. Nothing was a problem.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carmiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SereneVillasTeam, Manager at Serene Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Serene Frangipani is a favorite with guests traveling as a family with its large garden and pool areas to relax and still to keep an eye on the kids while they play nearby in the pool. We have passed on your comments to Wayan your butler who like all the Serene Team are always glad to learn that their efforts to make each and every guests vacation with us the best possible. Hope you will return to Bali and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.6 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 148 in Seminyak
745 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#28 of 148 in Seminyak
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#9 of 148 in Seminyak
1,691 reviews
0.1 mi away
Space at Bali
Space at Bali
#6 of 423 in Seminyak
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serene Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serene Villas

Address: Jl. Drupadi 22, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 423 Speciality Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range: £118 - £373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Serene Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Serene Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serene Villas Hotel Seminyak
Serene Villas Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing