We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish & fabulous view...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chez Gado Gado

Chez Gado Gado
Ranked #68 of 501 Restaurants in Seminyak
Cuisines: Contemporary, French, Mediterranean, European, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, View, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Seminyak Beach front Restaurant Chez Gado Gado offers an exciting new concept in modern and contemporary European style dining in a relaxed, yet stylish environment. Surrounded by a beautiful outdoor deck dining area complete with pergola, Chez Gado Gado offers uninterrupted views across the Seminyak beach and Indian Ocean. It is a perfect setting for romantics and special occasions. Our cuisine can be described as eclectic with a mix of European and Indonesian an Asian items while offering a relaxed and casual service during lunch time. Dinner time provides a slightly more formal and professional service that matches its European style menu with local flavors. Chef Quirijn Rademaker proves his creativity by creating an innovative culinary journey with clean finishes. While we are a casual fine dining restaurant, proper attire such as shirt (no branded tank tops/singlets/T-shirt) and footwear, will be required in fairness to all of our guests. Bookings and reservations larger than 8 and no smoking requests will be prepared inside our dining room. Parties of 12 or more adults requires an assigned set menu so that the flow of service for all of our guests is not disrupted. Outside tables will require a reservation and will be set per weather permitting and space availability.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stylish & fabulous view...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

With such fabulous views Chez Gado Gado is a must when dining in Seminyak. On arriving you walk through the massive glass doors and wait to be seated on the outside expansive deck, Chez Gado Gado gets it so very right. Staff are attentive, helpful, brilliant smiles and so willing to assist. A fabulous extensive food & drinks menu, also quite a few vegetarian options. The asparagus with the poached egg, perfectly poached, hazelnuts and nicoise dressing is absolutely heavenly !! The lasagne with the beef cheeks is also a must. Meals are beautifully presented..Seating & tables, napkins are simple but stylish..This was our third return visit over the last 12 months this week and was our final meal in Seminyak and did not disappoint. Glamorous toilets are also greatly noted..A perfect meal, sunset a perfect way to say goodbye to Seminyak..Cannot wait to visit again in September.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Felicity S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,994 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,177
    540
    178
    63
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot, good food. Not particularly cheap service could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

This restaurant was highly recommended by friends before we went to Bali, and we were keen to try it out. It was nice to be met by a doorman as we left the cab. Very nice looking restaurant with a beautiful view, but very open, and very hot at midday. The waiter insisted on seating us at a table in the sun although I'm very fair and it was uncomfortably hot. My friend eventually went to him and insisted we be moved, as the were plenty of spare tables in shade. Although we were on holidays and in no hurry, the menus took quite a while to come out, and we had to order our drinks twice after it was obvious they'd forgotten the order we'd been patiently waiting for. Meals were very tasty, but not large. We elected to order some share items, but were left hungry for the first time since being in Bali when there didn't seem to be quite enough to go around. Maybe it was the staff attitude, but this restaurant didn't seem to have the atmosphere or friendliness of many other places we dined at in Bali.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best meal in bali this trip.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent night out at gado gado. Started with some frozen margaritas and dacquris. For entree we had prawn and pork belly which was so mouth watering I want some right now. Mains were rib eye, duck, lamb and lasagne with beef cheeks. All cooked perfectly and melted in your mouth. Dessert was chocolate cake which melted in the middle with a beautiful hot chocolate sauce. Omg so nice. Black Forrest pudding was also delicious. All the meals were presented beautifully, service was excellent and the setting gorgeous. It's a pity there's that beach path in the front which the speeding scooters spoiling a bit of the ambiance. But really, it wasn't a big deal. The place was excellent. We even met and congratulated the chef. For a treat if you are cashed up, defs come here. To me it leaves all the other 5 star restos in seminyak for dead.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Madnesss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, beautiful atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Five of us went for dinner and sat outside. The atmosphere is beautiful. The food is nice, though the servings are a little on the small side for the prices charged.
It is a beautiful restaurant for an occassion dinner but not for a casual dinner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RandR-Travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great setting and great dessert!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Beautiful view of the crashing Seminyak waves and lovely outdoor setting, love the fact the toilets are air-conditioned as it can get quite sticky sitting outside.

We had dinner here with another couple for $280AUD with plenty of drinks and love the dessert so much that we came back another night just for the dessert again!

3 out of the 4 of us had the rib-eye imported from Australia and it was melt in your mouth kind of meat, delicious.

Service was not too bad, coming from Perth where customer service still has a way to go, we didnt mind the service.

The only detraction would have to be the path/road below the restaurant where a constant stream of mopeds was the only annoying thing about this great restuarant.

Definitely recommended! Try the rib eye and chocolate melted cake!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alza164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez Gado Gado also viewed

 

Been to Chez Gado Gado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing