We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an oasis of calm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kayana Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Kayana Bali
Ranked #26 of 142 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“an oasis of calm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2010

My husband & I have returned from Bali today after celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary at the Kayana at Seminyak. The occasion warranted a bit of indulgence & luxury, as well as some romance & privacy.

The Pool Villa was perfect- large, airy,& private with a large private pool. We had room 825 which was quiet & sunny.

The staff are very attentive without being intrusive & always very helpful & friendly.
The area of Seminyak is now trendy with lots of good restaurants & boutiques sprouting up at each corner. It is relatively expensive compared to other parts of Bali but the quality is better & more on par with shops at home.

There is a grogeous pedicure place opposite the hotel call Arno & the standard of hygiene & treatments there are very good. The hotel has a beautiful but pricely spa- I think it may be attended more frequently if the prices where a bit lower & not in US dollars!

I enjoyed the afternoon tea with is complimentary- usually a coffee or a freshly squeezed OJ with a small tempting bite to eat . After returning from a hot outing this was a welcome treat.
The Hotels free car service is also very welcome- they will take you anywhere as far as legian for shopping expeditions or dining & pick you up. Taxis are also a very cheap option - usually only costing about $3-5 for a reasonable trip.

OVERALL we where both very happy with the Kayana & would not hesitate to recommend it to those looking for a relaxed quiet romantic stay. Children are not catered for & those for looking for the hustle & bustle of street markets may find it a bit quiet in this area. It was perfect for the type of holiday we wanted.

Thank you Kayana !

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdelaideLovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    140
    19
    9
    2
See reviews for
72
375
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2010

Beautifully designed villas in the contemporary Bali style with high-end finishes. The service is attentive and friendly yet discreet and the villas, with private plunge pools, are an oasis of calm. Highly recommended, within walking distance of Seminyak's grand hotels and fine restaurants and, of course, the beach!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatemattSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2010

The Kayana consists out of +/- 24 fenced private luxury Villas including private pool. The villas are in modern Balinese style and equipped with large LCD TV with DVD and Bose iPod audio. However there is no beach connection and there are some development opportunities. But still one of my favorite hotels ever stayed in.

What I liked:
- Private modern Balinese luxury Villa
- Private swimming pool / garden
- Private set-up of the resort
- You can deliver the breakfast at the villa
- There is a complementary shuttle available on call (to drive you to the center)
- There are small shops and supermarkets in short walking distance
- Free DVD rental
- Friendliness of staff

Improvement opportunity:
- Some villas need renovations (dirty pool, de-colored wood, etc)
- Housekeeping sometimes changes sheets with stains
- Turn down service makes the villa ready for night, but doesn’t clean (e.g. garbage, etc)
- Afternoon thee is complementary but not worth ordering
- Mini bar is complementary but poorly refilled
- Breakfast is a la cart. At first sight the level of choice looks great, but its actually very basic for this range of hotel

Location:
- North of Seminyak, close to the Seminyak shopping center / mall and restaurants.
- 5 minutes by complementary shuttle to the center
- Close to public beach

Tip:
- Make sure you get a renovated villa (with clear swimmingpool)
- Make sure you get a villa with the right sunlight, some have shadow all day
- There are some good Italian restaurants at the mainstreet in Legian e.g. Ultimo
- For (expensive) exclusive diner / drinks and sunset you should go to Ku de Ta

Room:
- Value for money: yes
- Room size: small house, great light design
- View: private garden
- Bed: good
- A/C: yes
- Entertainment: large LCD TV, DVD, Bose Ipod, over 60 (international) channels (HBO)
- Bathroom: separate bath, toilet, shower, large sinks
- Cleanness: good
- Housekeeping: ok (see remarks)
- Minibar: complementary, poorly re-filled

Breakfast:
- At first sight huge choice out of a la cart, but quality and choice should be better in this range

Facilities:
- Swimming pool: one large swimming pool at restaurant
- Fitness: No, but this is a must have in this range
- Sauna: No, Spa
- Beach: No, but close to the beach
- Internet: WiFi free of charge
- Restaurants: yes 1


Service and hospitality:
- Staff: great
- Service:great

I hope this review will help you in your travel. This reviewer is an experienced international traveler, check my profile and other reviews! Please do contact me for any additional information or clarification!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andres_Boot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2010

Stayed there with my wife for our honeymoon in November 2009...just been lazy putting up the review!

The Kayana is an excellent place to stay. We stayed in a plunge pool villa which was amazing. The villas are large and everything has been thought of. The bed is so big and very comfortable with a 42" plasma tv placed perfectly. The bathroom is so nice and the shower is brilliant. There is an outside dining area which romantic and great to just chill out in near the plunge pools .

The staff are also brilliant and are so helpful. We never felt like they were helping us just for a tip. They were genuine and I am planning to go back as soon as possible! You also get a butler on call and they were always happy to help even at odd hours.

Also location for Bali holidaymakers is good. Everything is pretty accessible and the Kayana is in a quiet but nice area. Beaches are a nice walking distance of 10 - 20 minutes.

The only minor thing I would point out is that the Spa services they provide is very expensive! There are cheaper places close by but if you can afford it then the Spa is good as well.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Javed817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2010

Kayana Villas are only 1 year ½ old and located about 15 mins from the beach. I found this hotel while browsing different options on TripAdvisor for the last days of our stay in Bali.

I have to say this property does care about their guests.


We were welcome at 2pm and were given some tea and coffee while they were giving the final touch to our villa. One the reception advised us that we have a dedicated butler who will show our villa. We had a private double room villa with swimming pool. The villa was absolutely beautiful with modern design setting and the swimming pool outside was just a dream for us. The villa has a separate shower room and a separate bathroom with 2 sinks with plenty of wardrobe space. You could easily stock clothes for 2 weeks in there. The room itself is gorgeous with different light setting and the 4 poster bed with mosquito net. On the bed table you have the Bose speaker where you can plug your iPod and enjoy your music all throughout the villa (including the swimming pool if you open the doors).

The service is 10/10. In the morning, we ordered our breakfast at our villa by the swimming pool. We really felt we were spoiled and didn’t want to leave this place.

In the evening, we were puzzled what to do. The hotel took us for 2 hours tour of the area and drove us to the beach to enjoy a nice dinner with fresh fish and prawns. A taxi was waiting to take us back to the hotel. This service was complementary. Also, the hotel took us back to the airport for free as well. The driver was very nice and took us in different places we wanted to see.

We had the chance to talk briefly to the manager: a very nice guy who knows how to look after his guests. The guest book at the reception is full of positive feedback.

This place is one of my favourite top 5 hotels I have experienced.

I will be back for sure.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GdeLondres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.8 mi away
The Elysian
The Elysian
#10 of 142 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.7 mi away
eqUILIBRIA SEMINYAK
eqUILIBRIA SEMINYAK
#18 of 142 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#23 of 142 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Dusun
The Dusun
#16 of 142 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Peppers Seminyak
Peppers Seminyak
#22 of 142 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kayana Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kayana Bali

Property: The Kayana Bali
Address: Jalan Raya Petitenget, Kerobokan Kelod | Kuta Utara, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#15 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#19 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#24 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#25 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kayana Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kayana is the one of the preferred villas in Seminyak, boasting a reputation for quality accommodation at agreeable rates. The 24 separate villas are positioned just off a winding pathway, flanked with Frangipani trees and tropical foliage. Surrounded by pristine gardens and rich in the rewards that fresh open air brings, a stay at The Kayana offers guests total privacy and tranquility. The Deluxe Villas is featuring a plunge pool as well as an outdoor dining and lounge area. Moving further, each unit of their Pool Villas is featuring a spacious 28sqm pool with outdoor dining and lounge area with pristine gardens. All of the 24 private villas is stocked with double canopy king size bed, air condition, wireless connection, safe deposit box, a plasma TV, buggy car and many more The Kayana is situated close to Potato Head, Huu Bar, Kudeta and surrounded by good restaurants and boutiques. Just 15 minutes by walking to public beach and 20 minutes by walking to Seminyak center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your The Kayana Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kayana Bali Hotel Seminyak
Kayana Bali Seminyak
Kayana Bali Hotel Seminyak
The Kayana Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing