We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beware”
Review of Mayaloka Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mayaloka Villas
Ranked #77 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“beware”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

chose this for a last minute NYE where everywhere else was full. well located but other than that not much going for it. staff was friendly but they needed a lot of handholding. the configuration of the villa is strange... going to the toilet while raining will ensure you get soaked... also the toilet seat is in plain view of the room.... you have to tell your significant other to not pop out on you while you do your business - otherwise, you'll regret not doing so, which i learnt the wrong view (awwwkwaaaaarddd). TV is from a good 15 years ago. Only villa on this price range w no ipod dock. the long foot path from the entrance to the villa is made of lumpy big stones that ensure your luggage gets destroyed if pulled - also ladies in heels: get that insurance card ready for the likely sprained ankle. the only good part! we generously fed clouds of mosquitoes. i mean yes it was december but it was clear spraying stuff in the bushes hasn't crossed their minds. the vegetation in the bathroom is scarce so you get mostly nasty patches of dry soil. thats it. well below average.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank estarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    93
    18
    6
    4
See reviews for
31
147
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
855 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 442 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We were really looking forward to our stay at Maya Loka but in the end it disappointed.Firstly the maintenance is terrible. When we arrived when they opened the door to our villa it feel of its hinges. The air conditioner with 15 minutes of arrival poured water into our clothing in the drawers. And the soap dish in the shower fell down.
The pool in and our garden and the public gardens are beautiful but the villa is poorly laid out with the toilet open to anyone in the pool!!
The kitchenette as described is joke its a mini bar,a sink and a 2 gas burner but there are no saucepans or barely any cutlery yet alone any things to use to cook with.
So that means room service and the food is pretty tasteless and hardly has any Balinese food on offering. And the prices are high for Bali.
The staff try really hard to meet requests and show a positive attitude but their training is obviously lacking. For instance room turn down, when it happened which was not every day sometimes, was never the same. As was the room st up. Sometime towels were replaced other times not. It seemed totally random.
And the last bug bear was the bugs. The place is a trap for mosquito and only once in the week we were there did they fog them. It needs to be everyday. And they need to top up the spray cans in the room every day too.
So if you get a great deal and don't expect too much Maya Loka is OK but I know there are better properties of better standard for a better price.
I pity the poor staff who are doing their best.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms further from the raod for less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pemblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

The mayaloka located near seminyak square( 3 minutes by motor cycle) . They have total 13 villas. We stayed in villa number 2. The villa is very spasious . The rooms and the poll was clean and well maintained. They also provide aromatherapy in every room. The Villa is located not far from the beach, not in a crowded street so we can rest comfortably. Villa also provides motorcycle rental, it is easier to travel around seminyak with the motor bike. Everyone in the villa very attentive and polite. We were very pleased with all the facilities.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicol_carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We used a scoopon voucher which was a great price and easy to book with.

The villas are possibly getting due for some renovation/refurbishment however they were very comfortable.

We stayed in villa 12 which is down a narrow cobblestone pathway through lovely lush garden on both sides of the pathway.

The bedroom area is the only area air-conditioned but the ceiling fan and high roof of the hut where the lounge is was comfortable with the mild weather we had this trip.

The mosquitoes were very active but keeping coils buring helped to keep them at bay and we sprayed the bedroom every night.

The pool was a perfect size and you could awlays be in shade or sun during the day.

The road into the villas is currently a bit of a mess but they're working on it now and should be fixed by early November apparently.

Room Tip: the villas further down were quieter but they're all in a quiet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NoelandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenelg East SA Australia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We have just returned from spending 8 nights at Maya Loka. From the very beginning of the booking procedure (using a scoopon) we were impressed with the pleasant staff, they were friendly & aimed to please. Nothing was too much trouble at all. Whilst this villa is not in the heart of Seminyak it is only less then a $2 taxi ride away. The Maya Loka offers a free shuttle to the Seminyak area and we utilised this many times, very handy!

The open air pavillion style living was excellent and it was nice to be outside if you wanted to be and get some fresh are and that is one of the main features of this villa. Big fan circulating keeps that area nice and cool. Did have a few mozzie issues, but just keep those coils (provided) burning. These are NOT new villas so there is some general wear and tear however it was clean and serviced daily. The pool is clean but was sometimes a bit cold - but very refreshing that is for sure!

The in-house massage was excellent and the breakfast choices were good. Although being in Villa 8 the breakfast was not very hot, bordering on cold really and often late (rubber time in Bali of course).....

The staff need to learn that IF they take towels they need to replace them as on several occasions, I had to ring up and ask for more of the hand towels, face washers etc.

Overall there were a few negatives but for the price we paid and the wonderful service we received, more than happy with our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a villa closer to the reception area, might be the best way to get hot/warm breakfasts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bockie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Very pretty secluded little Villas. If you are looking for somewhere to get away from the crowd but still close enough to popular spots, this is a place for you!

There is a lot of construction and potholes on the street leading to the Villas and it is very dark at night so AVOID walking back late at night. Just grab a taxi and direct the driver in.

A few things they could improve on: Wifi coverage is spotty, and they do have a mosquito problem. They do provide large amounts of mosquito coils but that doesn't quite solve the problem as the Villas are very open and the mosquitoes tend to get into the bedroom where they can't quite get out.

That being said, the Villas are extremely clean with your own personal pool, the staff are so attentive and nice its scary (They will personally visit even at 11 pm just to check on your kitchen if you want to cook and even lend you a pot to do so!), the in-house spa is BLOODY AWESOME, and i promise you you will love the outdoor toilet!

Room Tip: Make sure you keep your mosquito coils lit
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesNeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We recently spent 8 days staying at Maya Loka Villas! We stayed in Villa 9 and all we have to say is that we thoroughly enjoyed every moment of our stay. To the friendly and accommodating staff that did everything that we asked for and more to the endless trips throughout Seminyak at our last minute requests to dine out and go shopping. The villa itself was perfect, I truly don't understand how some of these reviews have in them that the furniture is dated, insufficient and that they received poor service etc?? This isn't the case and we both stayed here for 8 days for our anniversary. The privacy of our own villa and pool was perfect for our occasion, as we didn't have the hassle of worrying about other tourists, especially like at the bigger resorts like the Samayas. The breakfasts were DELISH and were always on time, if not 5 minutes after scheduled time... Bugger what the other reviews say!! The amenities and rooms are pure heaven and bliss I couldn't say anything better about this place, we will definitely be going back for sure! Even try out some of the websites like Scoopon, as we bought the 8 day voucher for $995 (normally a lot more expensive) but didn't have the money for it at the time, so the villa matched it! Lastly, the only other thing I could recommend is to put the mozzie repellent coils on as soon as it's night... I'm always use to getting bitten by them whilst my partner doesn't get bitten at all sitting next to me! If you have the drapes down on the post bed then this is better too and keeping the doors closed throughout the day also helps. Overall, the BEST stay out of all my travels spent here and I have taken away many memories from Maya Loka. Thank you to all the wonderful staff there that made our stay impeccable, romantic and unforgettable.

Room Tip: Villas where we were (number 9) is perfect, as it's away from the construction work that is happ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank stanlyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.5 mi away
Pradha Villas
Pradha Villas
#63 of 143 in Seminyak
291 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Ahimsa
The Ahimsa
#100 of 143 in Seminyak
186 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Jardin Villas, Seminyak
Le Jardin Villas, Seminyak
#36 of 143 in Seminyak
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Club Villas
The Club Villas
#31 of 143 in Seminyak
684 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sanyas Suite Seminyak
The Sanyas Suite Seminyak
#84 of 143 in Seminyak
299 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Dipan Resort Petitenget
The Dipan Resort Petitenget
#65 of 143 in Seminyak
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayaloka Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayaloka Villas

Property: Mayaloka Villas
Address: Jl. Cendrawasih no. 88 Petitenget, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#36 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#63 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayaloka Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An awarded certificate of excellent 2013 by Tripadvisor, Mayaloka offers open air concept Boutique Villas with authentic Balinese architecture design experience. Expediently located in Seminyak, one of the hippest and most sophisticated neighborhoods in Bali. 5 minutes drive from Petitenget Beach, famous dining venues, shops, and chic boutiques. Each villa features 7,40m x 3,80m private swimming pool, complimentary wireless internet, free drop off transportation within Seminyak area on schedule until 6pm, spacious and quiet living space, poolside sun loungers surrounded by private tropical garden, semi-outdoor bathroom with a separate tub and rain shower. Mayaloka Villas is only 10 km from Ngurah Rai Bali International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mayaloka Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Loka Villas Hotel Seminyak
Mayaloka Villas Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing