We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great relaxing holiday and spectacular diving experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Tulamben
Certificate of Excellence
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great relaxing holiday and spectacular diving experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

I totally enjoyed my experience at Tulamben Dive and Spa Resort. If you want to totally get away from the hustle and bustle of Kuta then this is the place to be. When I arrived at the airport the friendly driver was waiting to pick me up; It's about a 3.5 hour scenic car trip from Denpasar to Tulamben. The rooms are very comfortable and tastefully decorated in traditional Balinese style with teak wood furnishings. The beds are very comfortable and all linen is of a high standard.
The resort has a nice family feel about it and we were made to feel very welcome by the owner Suci as well as the staff, who really went out of their way to make sure we were having an enjoyable stay. The diving was exceptional and my dive instructor Dede made every effort to ensure our dives were safe as well as enjoyable. The variety and number of tropical fish was amazing and the great thing is it's all just out the front of the resort - you don't have to take boat anywhere. The USS Liberty wreck dive was my favorite, this was a WWII cargo ship that was sunk, then brought ashore but subsequently slid back into the ocean when the volcano erupted in 1963. Other dives include the Coral Garden, as well as the Drop Off - both terrific dive experiences.
If you're into mountain climbing there is a dormant volcano nearby which you can climb. Be prepared to get up early though (or not go to bed at all) as you leave at 12 midnight in order to get to the summit by sunrise. It's 3,500 meters up so bring warm clothes as well as proper hiking boots.
The meals were great value, we ate from the Balinese menu and it was delicious.
We also enjoyed the spa; the hour long facial is a must, as is the massage. The girls are very professional and well trained and it was a wonderful experience.
All in all I can't wait to get back to this resort. Nice accommodations, great food, spectacular diving and a wonderfully relaxing spa - and all very affordable. I will definitely be returning on my next visit to Bali.

Room Tip: I booked a delux room which had a big bed (I think king) as well as air con and a mosquito net. It w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    206
    51
    13
    9
See reviews for
63
240
84
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

Stayed for a week, chose upgraded accommodation, glad we did as some of the accommodation looks a bit small, but if you are only sleeping then that is OK. We chose the bungalow which had 2 floors, very spacious but the steps were surprisingly steep.

A unique place to stay. Staff wonderful, food brilliant. Dive centre and shore diving 2 mins from bed. Dive Guide was excellent. Small gardens immaculate. Sorry I didn't have time to do the spa, just so many dives to do.

Perfect and good value.

Room Tip: Up grade if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
divetulamben, Owner at Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Dear Alyson,

thanks a lot for your nice report and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

And thanks for the advise that there is the possibility for upgrade the room. Because its true. Our standard rooms are small and only with fan and cold water. It's basic. But many divers love to spend the money for diving and not for the rooms. But we have also nice bungalows and deluxe rooms available.

We are happy about your advise. Thanks and have a good time. Suci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
soweto
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

First, foremost, this is a diving destination to a great wreck site. Entry, and exit from the sea can be complicated by packed boulders, and moderate to heavy surf, but once you are in....
The Matahari is run by an enthusiastic young staff, who smile often, service is first rate, nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are clean, food is good [great soups], the owner, Komang Suci, is constantly improving the facilities, with great attention to detail, this year a huge improvement to the dive shop. Nitrox is now readily available, the guides are to be recommended, particularly if you want to observe the Macro, which jet-lagged eyes struggle with. Good divers will be rewarded here, and very pleased with the facilities. On your final day you can spend time in the spa, also new this year, and be pampered prior to the 3 hour journey to the airport, where the departure tax police await...

Room Tip: Remember, they have two-pin sockets, ask for hot water for the shower after the night dive...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aquajunkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

We had a nice vacation. with lots of good (and some excellent,too for sure :-) ). The food was very good. Mostly we have choosen indonesian food, which was our favourite. The rooms were clean and spacious (we had a bungalow for 400000 IDR incl. breakfast for 2 pax). Next to dives at the housereef anf the Liberty-wreck we did some dives with the local boat (called Junkung) to dives-sites nearby. Late afternoon (after second dive) on our 3rd day of stay we had our first massage at the SPA. Very relaxing, a bit more expensive than the massages at the beach (add 10-20000 IDR), but more enjoyable. They are using original massage couches and fill the air balines music..... Transfer we organized by the resort. Driver waited for us with a sign. Took around 2 1/2 our to get to Tulamben (northwest of Bali).
All in all, we can recommend this resort and the kindly staff, so we will become repeaters.

PS: Tulamben is very quiet place, no discos or fun-bars !!!! For divers excellent, but take a good book or found some entertainment by WiFi (free)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christiane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

Stayed here for a few nights whilst diving in Tulamben with another company. Was initially staying in Sanur and travelling up to Tulamben, but so glad I changed to Matahari. Room was excellent; spacious, clean and very comfortable. Bar area was good to relax in and have a few drinks whilst using the free wifi. All for a very reasonable price!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redpandadiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

This is one of the great places for relaxing and learn diving. People are very friendly and service are good. They have very patient dive master to guide us how to dive in swimming pool and open sea, definitely will be there again .

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ongcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

very nice resort. staff are very efficient and friendly. good food throughout our stay. scuba diving was superb. the dive guides and divemasters know the terrain very well and was able to satisfy most of our request for the underwater sights. macro as well as big stuff. the wreck dive is always very good. sea conditions this time of the year is ideal with little currents and good visibility.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kahchoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tulamben
16.7 mi away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
15.8 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
2.5 mi away
Resort Relax Bali
Resort Relax Bali
#5 of 12 in Tulamben
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tulamben Wreck Divers Resort
0.3 mi away
Tauch Terminal Resort Tulamben & Spa
0.5 mi away
Liberty Dive Resort
Liberty Dive Resort
#3 of 12 in Tulamben
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA

Property: Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA
Address: Jl. Kubu-Abang, Tulamben 80853, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Tulamben
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tulamben
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tulamben
#6 Family Hotel in Tulamben
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With direct access to the beach, Matahari Tulamben Dive Resort & SPA offers an outdoor pool and a restaurant with stunning ocean views. Free Wifi Hotspot. The Dive Center provides convenient access to the Coral Garden and only 5 minutes walk to the USAT Liberty Wreck. Enjoy relaxing massages and beauty treatments in the lovely SPA.The homely Balinese-style rooms are all with private bathroom and equipped with either air conditioning or a fan. The low cost standard rooms have only cold water.The resort offers free parking, motorbike rental and laundry service as well as a tour desk for trip planning (included climbing).Enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner at beach restaurant, which serves appetising Seafood, Balinese Specialities, Indonesian and International cuisine.Transfer time from Ngurah Rai International Airport to Tulamben is 2,5 hrs and is available for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matahari Tulamben Hotel Tulamben
Matahari Hotel Tulamben
Matahari Tulamben Hotel Bali
Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing