We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Tulamben
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not bad!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

It's a great place, has a tranquil environment. Rooms were basic & clean. Alright for it's price. But the beds were a little too soft for my liking. Service crew were always smiling. Restaurant food was mediocre. We did dives and the instructors were friendly. But the shore dives were more taxing than boat dives as it is a rocky beach. A place recommended overall. Check out other restaurants nearby at night. It's a small town but with dim lights so if you decide to walk about at night bring your phone or torch

Room Tip: They are along the same stretch, not much of a difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mahfreakinlaif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    210
    56
    14
    9
See reviews for
67
257
86
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2014

It is my second time here, and I'm bringing four friends over to get their OWC cert with Matahari. We stayed in Matahari for a total of 4d3n while they get certified as new divers by end of the trip. One important figure of the resort is the owner, Suci, who replies your email promptly and personally. This reassured me that someone will be there to pick us up when we arrive and rooms will be ready upon our check-in. Especially that Tulamben is remote, and is three-hours drive away from Dempasar airport.

We are a group of 6 who stayed in their superior and standard room. The room is basic, equipped with a comfortable bed, a safe box, and aircon (superior)/ fan (standard). It is not fanciful, but definitely satisfy all basic needs (especially a clean bathroom equipped with hot shower). The staff cleans your room everyday whenever you leave your keys with the reception before you go for your dives, and thoughtfully replaces the bottled water in the room.

The cafe is situated facing the sea and he dive center. It is definitely a good place to relax during your surface intervals. It faces a good view of sunrise and moonrise!!! Friendly staff who serves you promptly, and food is rather good! You can just make a note to the staff of your room number and they will charge it to your room directly. This saves us a lot of trouble to return to room to get cash inbetween or after dives!

This place is a treasure for divers! Though facilities may not be fanciful, the service and sincerity from the Balinese exceeds its shortcomings.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalind T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We took a diving package from Matahari, and I can say it was really well worth it for the price! The owner, Suci, also gave us special rates for Nitrox Courses and additional fun dives.

I won't be able to say that this is the BEST place in Tulamben, as this is the only resort and dive centre I've been to in this area. The rooms were comfortable, clean, working AC, spacious enough for me and my friend, you'll definitely be able to fall asleep after a full day worth of diving.

Food was also included in the package, and there's huge variety to choose from. Since there wasn't much to do in Tulamben, we spent most of our time inside Matahari, and it was sufficient for us. An hour long Bali Massage was also included in the package, and it was a good experience.

For diving wise, I guess it really depends on which DM you are assigned to, some really have good eyes, spotting many small creatures such as frogfish. The diving is also very flexible, there were only 2 of us assigned to 1 DM, and we basically have full control over when we wanted to dive, and where we wanted to go (for shore dives). Dive sites, including USAT Wreck were all walkable distance!

My friend and I were rather new divers, and the DM was patient in guiding us to set up our dive gear for the first few times. Once he saw we were proficient, the subsequent dives he set up all gears for us! Really convenient.

Take note that there is only 1 Dive Instructor for the dive centre, but they are able to manage it well for my group of friends taking both OW and AOWD courses with plenty of DMs around.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I stayed here recently for my diving trip. The price is modest for the accommodation and unlimited dives package. This dive center had five diving schedules with a guide per day and even if you are the only person diving during the schedule, such as in my visit, they still committed to pair you with a guide. But if you don't dive quite often in a day maybe it's cheaper to pay per dive rather than taking the unlimited package.

The location of several dive spots are nearby, just need to walk a little bit. These sites are beautiful. The food was good, it is over my expectation actually considering this is a rather remote location. The staff are okay and polite...well not too sociable though. If you have a specific dive interest or needs, such as photography or maybe you would rather to go slow with your dive, you should mention it in advance as not all the guides are quite familiar or had the same interest.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I stayed there for 5 nights - to relax and make my dive license... It was really awesome there, quiet and the staff is friendly.
And the dive staff is really professionel, funny and in every single way to recommend.
Tulamben is small, but there are a few supermarkets and restaurants, too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nenelicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My first impression of the Matahari resort was that it looked a bit cramped between the neighbouring resorts, and that it was a bit mouldy (no surprise with so much humidity). That first impression was completely gone the next day.

I had a pretty standard room, nothing special, but very decent for the price. Airco worked fine, and mosquito nets which didn't seem necessary. And a balcony too. Thing is though, you won't spend much time in your room.

I spent all day either at the restaurant or the dive school. It's all divers in the resort, so within no time everybody seems to be friends with everybody, bragging about what they seen in their last dive, and wishing others "good luck" for their next dive. And it's great diving, the famous drop off is a 50 meter walk to the right, the Liberty is a 100 meters to the left, and there's some amazing muck diving at the coral garden right in front of the hotel. And no worries about carrying your tank, it's all sorted by porters.

The people working at the resort are amazing. Very friendly, all smiles (without being fake). The guys from the the dive center are all young local guys, and seem to have a lot of fun, which works works infectious. Within 2 days I just felt part of a big family, with family members coming and going every day.

The restaurants serves a very varied menu, and pretty cheap too. Never been out of the resort, and kept on ordering more. Will definitely come back! No need to look for anything better!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikeynl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel together with it's dive shop is situated just a few minutes walk away from the infamous Liberty Wreck site, whereby they can offer unlimited shore dive package that allows you to dive around it's dive site for all you want.
The resort itself serves delicious local food as well as any food well in it's menu, the sarefs there, it's dive crews, are always greeting you with a big smile and it's beautiful and yet intelligent lady owner Mdm Suci is all friendly and helpful to provide you with all the help you need and meet up with your requirements.
I'll definitely come back again for more of it's delicious food and of course explore more of it's dive sites.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tulamben
16.6 mi away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
178 reviews
2.4 mi away
Resort Relax Bali
Resort Relax Bali
#5 of 12 in Tulamben
82 reviews
15.9 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tulamben Wreck Divers Resort
0.4 mi away
Liberty Dive Resort
Liberty Dive Resort
#4 of 12 in Tulamben
391 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tauch Terminal Resort Tulamben & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA

Property: Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA
Address: Jl. Kubu-Abang, Tulamben 80853, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Tulamben
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tulamben
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tulamben
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tulamben
#6 Family Hotel in Tulamben
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With direct access to the beach, Matahari Tulamben Dive Resort & SPA offers an outdoor pool and a restaurant with stunning ocean views. Free Wifi Hotspot. The Dive Center provides convenient access to the Coral Garden and only 5 minutes walk to the USAT Liberty Wreck. Enjoy relaxing massages and beauty treatments in the lovely SPA.The homely Balinese-style rooms are all with private bathroom and equipped with either air conditioning or a fan. The low cost standard rooms have only cold water.The resort offers free parking, motorbike rental and laundry service as well as a tour desk for trip planning (included climbing).Enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner at beach restaurant, which serves appetising Seafood, Balinese Specialities, Indonesian and International cuisine.Transfer time from Ngurah Rai International Airport to Tulamben is 2,5 hrs and is available for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matahari Tulamben Hotel Tulamben
Matahari Hotel Tulamben
Matahari Tulamben Hotel Bali
Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing