We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Diving Resort (Newbie or Experienced)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tulamben Wreck Divers Resort
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Tulamben
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Diving Resort (Newbie or Experienced)”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Im a newbie and came here with an intention of completing my open water course, while my friend who's an experienced diver came to take underwater photography lessons and do social/fun dives.
At the end of my stay, I walked away completing 3 more courses (total of 4 altogether).
TWD is an excellent resort as they cater for newbies to experienced diver. From the time we arrived at the airport, the driver was there waiting for us (eventhough our flight arrived early). The car was spacious for our luggages (as we brought most of our own gear, except for the weights and tanks).
I stayed in one of the new superior rooms at the ground floor, which was comfortable with spacious and firm bed. It has a safe if you want to lock your wallets, passports etc, it has a hot shower, mini bar, TV and DVD, aircon and fan.
The resort was a nice easy walk to various dive sites such as: Liberty Wreck, Coral Gardens and Drop-Off. Which suited a newbie like me as I got to experienced them all and was able to practice my skills while having fun.

Erik was my instructor and he's excellent! He knew how to deal with the anxiety of newbies and made me at ease after my very first ocean dive. I enjoyed my courses and progressed to Advanced and took Deep Specialty and Nitrox as well. By 3rd day I was averaging 3 to 4 days of diving, as I also took social diving with the guides in between my courses.
Darma - one of the dive guides is a macro fan! He's very good at finding the little stuff! Make sure you ask him to take you to the "cleaning station" in Coral Gardens.
One of the highlights of my experience is the diving the wreck at night - which I got to do 3 times and it was awesome! We got to see a huge moray eel, bumphead parrotfish, big gropers etc.
My favourite was the close encounter with the turtle at the Drop-Off at 5m off the wall...fantastic!

With regards to food, I favoured the "Safety Stop" resto which is about 500meters away from the resort.

There's also a convenience store opposite the resort so if you're OK to use the typical brands of shampoo, soap, detergent etc then don't bother bringing those with you to save your precious kilos of luggage.

You can also request for a massage which only costs about 8 to 10AUD (full body). Trust me, after 4 dives a day, nothing beats a good sleep after a relaxing massage!

I strongly recommend this resort to anybody wanting to try diving, average and even experienced divers. There are so much to see and do. We also did a day trip to Seraya which was a heaven for the macro buffs!

I will definitely come back :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hakunamatata16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    85
    43
    14
    8
See reviews for
42
107
59
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I recently stayed at TWD for a week. The room was spacious and clean, the setup for divers perfect and it was nice and quiet. It was easy to book and a pickup service from Denpasar Airport is also offered, which is very convenient since its a bit of a drive to get there. Diving the wreck was a bit average due to the recent weather, but the macro diving was fantastic and the guides really knew where to find stuff. I also did some day tours (land-based) and they were great fun! The staff and dive guides were professional and friendly and always happy to help with any questions I had. I definitely can recommend this place and would come back to it if I come back to Tulamben again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinaF76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warnbro, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2013

My partner and I first stayed at the Wreck Divers Villas December 2012 so that I could get my Open water. We went off peak and had the benefit of One on One instruction for me to get my ticket. Eric was an awesome instructor and had me calm and eager to blow bubbles from day one. While I was busy learning my partner was out enjoying "the drop off" and the "US Liberty" with Norman (I have spelt it wrong) and they were taking the most amazing footage that inspired me more. After 4 day I had my ticket and the boys took me out to cruise with the bumpheads at the Wreck. it was amazing!!!!!!!!!!
We stayed at the Villas (just up the road) in Number 4 and had the most distracting views in our elegant room. There was no TV reception (fine for us, we watched DVDS), no radios and no outside interruptions, it was blissful to put aside our busy lives. The staff were very kind and welcoming and always ready with a smile and a hand to help. Breakfast is awesome there as well.
After the Peace and Beauty of Tulamben, we made a poor choice and went to Kuta (enough said)
It took us 6 weeks after we returned to Australia to begin planning our next trip....
In May 2013 (for my birthday) we returned to the Villas and the Wreck divers for a second pure diving holiday, the second time was even better than the first, we spoke to our guide (Norman) and trusted him to make the right choices for us in regards to where to dive and when to dive for the best experience, we figured he lives local and knows the environment better than we do and we were not disappointed..... 15 dives 1200 photos and 6 days later we were exhausted and exhilarated and excited to plan to go there again.
This time we deco-ed in Sanur and were far more relaxed for our trip home......

Room Tip: The Villas are a great choice if you crave calm and quiet, but its best if you can ride a scooter as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShellSeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

An excellent experience. The resort was very good value for money, with clean, comfortable rooms; which is all you need when your main reason to be is Tulamben is to 'get wet'. The diving was good and I can highly recommend to anyone that if they wish to stay and scuba dive in Tulamben they need to look no further. I would especially suggest to all those qualified divers to do a very early morning dive on the wreck.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingArcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Firstly, we had good experience when communicating with the resort. Their prompt and clear replies have helped ease our planning process.
Next, we were very pleased by the pick-up service from Denpasar Airport. The driver was courteous and helpful. He was able to provide practical advice about sight-seeing and amenities in Tulamben. The car was clean and spacious. Most importantly, the driver drove safely throughout the 3-hour journey.
The beach front villa was neat and clean. It was very spacious, which allowed us to dry our dive gear. Daily housekeeping was available.
Lastly, the dive centre is located very near to the Liberty Wreck and Coral Gardens dive sites, which was within walking distance. The Tulamben Wreck Divers restaurant also serves excellent local cuisine.
Overall, we were very satisfied with the service rendered by the staff at dive centre, villa and restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henrychinhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Great resort! We stayed there in May for the Open Water diving course and we couldn't have picked a better place to learn to dive. Firstly, the communication with the hotel was excellent; we received fast and clear replies with no hassle. Always a good indication of the rest of the services a hotel provides. We were picked up from the airport and since the drive to Tulamben is about 3 hours from the airport in Bali we had lunch in Candidasa. It's a long ride, but plenty to see on the way.

Our room was on the second floor overlooking the pool. The room was very spacious and it included a big balcony and a big bathroom (although a bit slippery when wet). Overall it was very nice indeed. From the front door there is a great view of Mount Agung. Basic breakfast at the hotel was provided. The staff overall was extremely friendly and nice. The only downside was the Wi-Fi, which was almost non-existent in the room.

We stayed there in total for 4 nights and started the training course right away. The dive course was amazing. We learned so much and our instructor Eric was fantastic and fun. He was patient, helpful and knowledgeable about all things diving related. After our pool training sessions we had 4 dives in the open water. Because the resort is located quite near the shore, we only had to walk a short distance to the diving location. It was quite convenient. The dives were great in their own right. Just a few meters below the surface is the infamous wreck of the USAT Liberty. For our first dives we went along this amazing wreck, saw tons of fish and also a large sea turtle. Not bad for a first dive.

This is a great place to stay for a few days and do some diving. Besides diving there is not much to do in Tulamben though, the town itself is somewhat quiet (I personally like that, but for some people it might be too much). There are a few restaurants down the road from the hotel, which offer pretty good food especially the Tulamben resort related restaurant. We loved the food there and came back a few times.

Will definitely consider coming back to take the Advanced Open Water course.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelsaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

It's fantastic. Secluded. Green. Lush. Great infinity pool and sunrise. Staff attentive.

We went with our two infant children. I went scuba diving. We had the upper villa overlooking the ocean. Great deal for $75 a night. Lots of space. Clean. Lots of towels.

Downsides: No cable. Internet was poor. Breakfast was mediocre.

This wasn't the hotels fault, but diving (especially the wreck) was a little over rated.

Despite the downsides, we stayed two nights and were very happy.

Room Tip: Get the upstairs villa near the ocean. otherwise try and get on the ocean side. It's a bit of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdubs10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulamben hotels
0.2 mi away
Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA
2.3 mi away
Resort Relax Bali
Resort Relax Bali
#5 of 12 in Tulamben
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tauch Terminal Resort Tulamben & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Liberty Dive Resort
Liberty Dive Resort
#4 of 12 in Tulamben
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mimpi Resort Tulamben
Mimpi Resort Tulamben
#8 of 12 in Tulamben
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradise Palm Beach Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulamben Wreck Divers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulamben Wreck Divers Resort

Property: Tulamben Wreck Divers Resort
Address: Jl R Singaraja,, Tulamben 80853, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Tulamben
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tulamben
#5 Family Hotel in Tulamben
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tulamben
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Tulamben
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tulamben Wreck Divers Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Standard, Superior and Penthouse Rooms are at our dive centre hotel, right in the centre of Tulamben. Our Beachfront Villa Suites are about 1km out of Tulamben and we provide free scooters or car shuttle to get you to our dive centre and/or local restaurants for meals - breakfast is served at the villas. We recommend the Beachfront Villa Suites for guests who like very quiet accommodation. Both locations are set in tropical gardens with sparkling pools, modern and very clean. All rooms have air conditioning & ceiling fans, hot/cold water, fridge / mini Bar, tea and coffee making facilities, TV with DVD player for playing DVDs (there is no TV program) Our room rates include full, cooked, breakfast - we even have vegemite! Tulamben is a small village, about 3.5 hours from the international airport and famous tourist destinations such as Kuta, Legian, Seminyak, Sanur, and Ubud. The village is almost completely geared towards scuba diving - there is also some snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Tulamben Wreck Divers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulamben Wreck Divers Hotel Tulamben
Tulamben Wreck Divers Resort Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing