We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New hotel with nice rooms in a pretty setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Mutiara Hotel Berastagi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Mutiara Hotel Berastagi
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Berastagi
Clearwater Beach, FL
Level Contributor
265 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“New hotel with nice rooms in a pretty setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

Very nice hotel and nice rooms. Hot water only 4 hrs per day. Internet only by the bar. Good buffet breakfast

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler5548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    75
    57
    18
    8
See reviews for
54
60
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
221 reviews
197 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

Big hotel. We had a nice stay for one night. Huge room, free internet, not so impressive breakfast (most food was cold). No disturbing sounds at night. The best hotel in the far neighbourhood.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_&_Sanderella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

This hotel was chosen for us. We wouldn't normally choose such a large hotel. It was perfectly fine. decent room with a balcony looking out across the grounds - unfortunately ours wasn't one that had an outlook to Mt Sinabung but you can't have everything. There isn't much nearby in the way of restaurants etc as it's a little way out of town. If you turn left as you leave the hotel you can walk down to a warung which serves nice food. We had tea & coffee in the hotel restaurant and it was reasonably priced. You can access free internet in the lobby if you can get hold of the code. Apparently the reception staff were on a dinner break when I went to enquire and I stood waiting for about 10 mins before someone even bothered to acknowledge me and tell me that the reception staff were on a break and they couldn't/wouldn't help me!! That is my only complaint.
Hot water is only available from 6 - 9 morning and evening but you are aware of this, so it's no drama.
Breakfast is buffet style and perfectly adequate.
If you are lucky and there is a break in the clouds, you can get a fabulous view of Mt Sinabung if you go for a walk around the property.
There is a nice pool area but I wonder if it ever gets hot enough for anyone to want to use it? Guess it would be great if you have kids.
All in all a pleasant stay apart from the lack of interest from some front office staff.

  • Liked — Comfortable and clean
  • Disliked — Lack of service by some front desk staff (restaurant staff were great though)
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank veejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2011

beautiful big rooms.a veru big toilet .for my medan trip i think this is so far the best hotel i have stayed that matched the stars given(4 star ) .buffet breakfast is nice but should have more variety.lacking in western food.in indonesia smoking is allowed everywhere.the restaurant should ban smoking.afterall they have the outdoor section and smokers should smoke outside.berastagi is cold .we stayed one night. nothing much to do .the view is nice .we were given the mountain view.the fruit market was nice but must bargain for anything you want to buy. before you reach brastagi you will be stopping at spiso piso waterfall .it is very scenic .there is also another stop at a restaurant where you pay 13000 rupiah for a cup of ginger tea and a piece of banana fritters -the banana is not even ripe yet and quite a rip off.nothing great anyway.

Room Tip: book thru local tour and get cheaper rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yasminf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Nederland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2010

The rooms are large but run down because of the old flaking rotan furniture. No fridge in the room.
No wifi in room but in the hall which is sold at highest prepaid card (available in any telephone shop) and then with a 20% plus charge.
Breakfast is too Indonesian and they dont like it even. No western food but toast.
The restaurant for lunch was great though.
No hot water after 9 am and 9 pm.
Garden is great and pool.
Information about sighseeing is poor.

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank WouterBaliIndonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
378 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2008

We stayed for a night on 4th Oct. We were in the car from the morning at Bukit Luawang and then to Medan and finally, we reached Berestagi at 4 pm in the evening after some 7 hours of travel. It was a long, tiring journey and when we finally reached this hotel, we were plesantly surprised on the quality of the hotel and the courteous staff. The rooms were very clean and the linens were very crisp. We were given a room which was facing the garden. Excellent view. It was raining outside and the view was great! The front office staff told us that the hot water would be available from 5 pm to 9 pm and again from 5 am to 9 am.

We dined at their restaurant and the only problem was that they were not stocking Soda Water to mix with Whisky. Another thing was that they don't serve alcohol in measures ( 30 ml or 25 ml in Britain ). We need to buy a full bottle! The food was good and their staff very efficient and service was really fast! Next day morning, we were back in the car to go to Samosir Island. Nice hotel and will definitely recommend to anyone going to that part of the world.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — serving measures in the bar
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Qwelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2008

It does feel like a upclass hotel when you step into the hotel and the rooms. Rooms are clean, well decorated, and in good condition (most parts).

Things that bugs me:
-Hot shower only available 6-9am and 6-9pm (this place is on a mountain = cold)
-I can hear the traffic throughout the night, even though my balcony doors are tightly shut
-No hot water kettle provided and that also mean no coffee and tea provided in the room
-Swimming pool is not heated

Other than those above, I had a good stay at the hotel. Another plus point is, there is free wireless internet at the hotel lobby (bring your own laptop).

  • Liked — It's classy, clean and well maintained.
  • Disliked — Hot water shower only at certain time of the day!
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ABCSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berastagi
3.5 mi away
Mikie Holiday Resort
Mikie Holiday Resort
#1 of 8 in Berastagi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Sibayak International
18.5 mi away
Hotel Deli River
Hotel Deli River
#2 of 69 in Medan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sinabung Resort Hotel
Sinabung Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pondok Brastagi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
19.1 mi away
Taman Simalem Resort
5.4 mi away
Serdika Pavilion
Serdika Pavilion
#5 of 14 in Berastagi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mutiara Hotel Berastagi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mutiara Hotel Berastagi

Property: Grand Mutiara Hotel Berastagi
Address: Jalan Peceren No.168, Berastagi 22156, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Berastagi
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Berastagi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mutiara Hotel Berastagi 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Grand Mutiara Hotel Berastagi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing