We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berastagi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wisma Sibayak Guest House
Ranked #6 of 14 Berastagi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Wisma Sibayak Guest House is situated in a very good central location which makes it a good base for visiting outlying villages and the volcanoes.The time we were there saw a lot of volcanic activity and was at times quite scary but seeing the locals going about their business unconcerned we were able to relax. The rooms are clean, comfortable and quiet plus the food is good

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Rhoderic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for Wisma Sibayak Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

The location is great since it is in the main street of Berastagi. The walk from there to the beginning of the path to the mount Sibayak is about 20 minutes. The staff is friendly and they can organize you transportation to Medan, Bukit Lawang, Pulau Samosir and probably to every other places of interest.
The room we had was with a shared bathroom without hot shower but you can pay an extra to have a hot shower near the lobby. I think they also have a laundry and a restaurant but we didn't try it.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank neuhaus_benjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

It's located in main street with easy access to local public transport, in fact it's only 3 minute walking distance from Berastagi market - terminal & when you enter their lobby, which is also their travel agent office, don't be surprised on their welcoming friendly smiles........

We took corner room at 2nd floor, it was very simple room w/bathroom inside even though there's no hot shower, view of the room that is facing village life is has warm-refreshing feelings ^o^
[PS, all rooms not include hot shower but you can enjoy it downstairs by paying extra IDR10.000 or less than €1: believe me, it's worth it] ^o^

Food price is more expensive than room price, but you will have similar price if you decide to eat outside, & chef of the wisma is very minus in smiles + words, however we enjoyed nice breakfast he made for us ^o^

Overall, it is good place to stay and value for money to whom those want to visit Berastagi and enjoy climbing the volcanos.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ratih_Martial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

A lot has already been said that I'd agree with- very friendly and helpful staff especially if you want to climb a volcano. Good food for a good price and shared bathroom rooms 60,000- who can argue with that?! Id agree the shared bathroom isn't great but it does the job. And for 10,000 (less than £1) I'm not going to complain at the price of a hot shower! Really pleased to find this great tourist/travellers spot.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahfbirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We were dropped off here by the coach driver who drove about 7 of us from Bukit Lawang. Nice little place with reasonable prices. Located right at the (only) main road where there are shops, food and buses littered everywhere. You could easily walk out and explore Brastagi/go to the mountains and come back back safely.
The rooms were pretty big and the toilet was small but clean though there was no hot water (you can pay extra for it though -- we regretted not doing that especially seeing how cold it can be). There was a nice little front porch with chairs and a table which was also nice. The only thing to take note of is the school behind the guesthouse which had a group of people singing loudly in the mornings but otherwise a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This guesthouse was recommended to me by a girl that runs a guesthouse by the same name in Danau Toba, and it was also the bus' first stop in Berastagi, so I spent 2 nights here. The only reason I made to Berastagi was to climb either one of the 2 volcanoes in the area. The guesthouse was decent, the bed was pretty comfy, and the room was reasonably clean. There was a nice garden area, and patio furniture in front of the bathroom ensuite rooms, which started at 100,000 rupiah (about $10) per night. The western style toilet, though, had no western style flush. There was a large bucket of water, and a plastic utensil for pouring in the bowl when done doing your business. The showerhead was right over the bucket of water. It was a teeny bathroom,with no hot water, but it did the job. The staff was amazing, and the food was as well. There was a plethora of information about the town and surrounding areas, and the woman that runs the guesthouse also teaches local girls English, so there were no communication problems there :) I recommend this guesthouse for budget travelers; there are also rooms with a shared bathroom, and those are cheaper!

Room Tip: There are privates as well as dorms here. Very basic lodging in a convenient location.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amylaic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The good: easy to find, pleasant enough reception staff, little terraces outside rooms
The bad: dirty rooms, rat infested, very noisy traffic/workmen/school, bed sheet had one rip and TWO cigarette burns in, only one threadbare blanket provided, rock hard pillows, all furniture very worn and filthy, no hot water, wifi turned off early.

I wasn't expecting 5 star luxury, but the room was pretty much the worst I've found in Sumatra so far and this is not the cheapest place I've stayed. Also, despite seeing hardly any other clientele, the cheaper rooms were "full" so I had to take one of the more expensive rooms. The communal areas look nice, hence "fur coat" but I really do challenge anyone to get a decent night sleep here. The rats running through the dining area towards the kitchen just made me shudder.

Room Tip: I'd imagine they're all noisy and dirty...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjharris0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berastagi
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sibayak International
1.5 mi away
Mikie Holiday Resort
Mikie Holiday Resort
#1 of 8 in Berastagi
231 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sinabung Resort Hotel
Sinabung Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pondok Brastagi
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Grand Mutiara Hotel Berastagi
24.5 mi away
Hotel Deli River
Hotel Deli River
#2 of 73 in Medan
307 reviews
4.6 mi away
Serdika Pavilion
Serdika Pavilion
#2 of 14 in Berastagi
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wisma Sibayak Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wisma Sibayak Guest House

Address: Jl. Udara No. 1, Berastagi 22152, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Berastagi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Berastagi
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Wisma Sibayak Guest House Hotel Berastagi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing