We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“highlight of the trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Sibayak

Mount Sibayak
Book In Advance
More Info
US$70.00*
and up
Private Tour: Karo Highlands and Lake Toba from Medan
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Berastagi
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“highlight of the trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

spent 2 nights in samosir and 1 night in berastagi
hiked Mount Sibayak on our last day.
It was just spectacular. Our guide Mr Smiley Lubis was an excellent giude.
He is friendly and informative. We began our journey 4am in the morning in absolute darkness, reached to top just in time for sunrise. Finished our trip with a dip in the hot spring.

Will be back in Sumatera with more adventures with Mr Smiley

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sernsern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    95
    18
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nicest view, easy hike.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Its only a one hour hike if you charter a taxi from the first checkpoint and a relatively easy hike from there on. Experience hikers doesn't really need a guide but do not underestimate the volcano. During bad weather, you need to get a guide.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank YanaHalim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tha Bo, Nong Khai, Thailand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very Cool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

This was my first volcano and it did not disappoint. I chose to walk the access road up to the volcano (you can take a motorbike or pay a local to drive you up), which I would suggest doing as I feel like it is part of the experience. It takes about an hour and a half to walk the road before you get to the jungle stairs that take you to Gunung Sibayak.

The walk up the volcano is awesome. I don't want to give too much away, but there is some sulfuric activity going on and the views are incredible. Once you get to the main crater, there are a ton of options to hike around to different peaks and viewpoints. I'd suggest trying a view. Do be careful as there are some steep drop-offs which would surely ruin your day if you slipped off of one. Also, beware the weather does change quickly and the fog can roll in fast, making it almost impossible to see 5-feet ahead of you at times. Always hike with a buddy.

I didn't hire a guide, but I'm sure you'd find out some great information if you do. If you go without, there is a clear path all the way up to the crater, and there are usually others hiking as well, so you should be fine. The whole hike takes about 6-7 hours on average. Overall, very enjoyable experience!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RSohigian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaencwm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“View worth a climb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

You can take an easy option and go so far by car or climb from the bottom. We took an easy option with car taking us as far as possible. We still climbed for around 40 minutes. Hike is quite easy considering that we are both smokers in our middle 40-ish and that we just came back from jungle trek in Bukit Lawang.Views are breathtaking. We rented a guide and driver from local Travel Centre and he was so helpful. Berastagi town is OK to stop for one night and just to climb the volcano. There is nothing else to do there.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
196 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

This is a really fun and fairly easy hike. The steam vents and the views of the caldera are fascinating. Then the thrilling hike on the rim. Not for someone with a few of heights.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mount Sibayak also viewed

Berastagi, North Sumatra
 
Kabanjahe, North Sumatra
Berastagi, North Sumatra
 

Been to Mount Sibayak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing