We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandalwood Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunshine Hotel(Mawlamyine)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Htun Yadanar Motel(Mawlamyine)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
20
42
20
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
42
20
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfried ricebreeze guesthousevery clean hotelworking finestaff are very friendly and helpfulfree wifibig roomin townstrand roadthe riveron arrivalother hotelsfanenglishtoiletriesmapdollars
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

We booked this guesthouse after reading an outdated Lonely Planet review. It far exceeded our expectations and was possibly the best value for our money hotel for our stay in Myanmar. The owner is very helpful and speaks good English. He immediately sat down with us to help plan our stay. Since we wanted to see some sights after the public buses stopped running he set up a taxi to take us around at a reasonable price.

The large room and bathroom were clean and in top shape, appearing to be almost brand new. Breakfast was western (eggs, bread/jam and fruit) or local (rice with a fried egg). And they offer very strong and fast WiFi from anywhere in the building. Also available was free water for refilling bottles. At night, they would hand out free water bottles and instant coffee packets, a small but extremely memorable touch.

The location is very good and an easy walk to restaurants (Try a soup at the place next door, it is an old department store, converted to a restaurant. They are HUGE!). It's right off a "bus" route so you can easily catch the local "bus" to the jetty to get to Ogre Island.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2Travelaholics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed there in a no frills double room on the ground floor without air condition for $20. The room was quite dark, the window opening to the wall of the neighbouring building, but it was functional and even had some neon light kind of coziness. Before I moved in, they sprayed all the corners with insecticide. I slept with open windows, nicely cooled be the fan. In the morning there was a huge beetle on the table, but hey, you have to expect things like that when traveling in these climates. The room and the bathroom were extremely clean. They had a big drying rack in the room -- extremely useful. The breakfast was okay, and the staff at the reception were smiling and very forthcoming. Wireless only worked in the lobby, but it did work!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boardshorts48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in Dec 2012 and paid US $14 for a single room with breakfast. Room and overall value for monev was good by Myanmar standards. Generally hotels in Myanmar are these days way over priced and totally crappy. Service was very friendly.

Room Tip: Room away from the noisy street
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hk-trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We only stayed here for one night because the Cinderella was booked out. It's very cheap and kinda clean but the smell was outrageous. The ants in our room weren't that pleasant either.

Location is good, staff is friendly, wifi doesn't work, breakfast is Myanmar standard/ good. Also the common Buddhist chanting at 4am.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stitch_756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

The best place we stayed in Myanmar. They deliver great value for your money.
At first we planned to stay there for 4 days but we eventually extend to 7 days.
Anyone who ever travelled in Myanmar knows how bad the accomodation usually is considering the price you pay for it. This Hotel is different. Yeah, really! You get the upper class quality for the price of a middle class.
Back in France, the price for that kind of accomodation would be around 60$ a night. Over there we paid only 30$ for a superior double (december 2012).
Very clean room, good breakfast (cooked in a clean kitchen, yes!), WiFi at every floor, air-con.
On top of that, you've got a very friendly & smiling staff.
The owner could be your grand father as he is caring a lot about your confort and give you useful travel tips in a fairly good english.
Bref, le top!
One last piece of advide: as we stayed in Moulmein for an entire week, we had time to try many restaurants in town, the best one is called 'YKKO' on the seaside (10 min walk south of Sandalwood Hotel)
Bon voyage!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alain482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews