We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a waste...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mawlamyaing Strand Hotel
Ranked #9 of 19 Mawlamyine B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 January 2013

First of all, don't be confused between the Mawlamyaing Strand Hotel and the historic Strand Hotel in Rangoon. Although Moulmein is a lovely old Colonial town, there is no connection (nor similarity between the two). This hotel is called the Strand as that is the name of the street it is on.

We were disappointed by the hotel. Although it only opened in 2011 (as shown on a plaque in the foyer) it is very poorly run and maintained. Indeed, it looked as though it had been in operation and the original condition for 20 years.

To put some colour around this :

1. The quality and finish of the bathrooms were bad with mis-laid tiles and unexplained holes drilled in odd locations. (It reminded me of India in that respect)

2. The hotel was simply not clean. The floors in the common areas were filthy; there were cob-webs in the rooms and litter in the hotel.

3. The staff were simply clueless. Whilst I appreciate that Burma is new to international tourism, the hotel has clearly made no attempt to train staff is how to run a hotel. The foyer doors were left half open letting all the mosquitos (read: malaria) in.

5. The restaurant was a shambles - bad service, mediocre food and tables with half eaten food not cleared. It looked like lunch was on some tables even though it was dinner time. It was a talking point amongst guests. The room service menu was also ridiculously limited.

Another example was that the staff simply failed to take the laundry which was left on the bed in the hotel laundry bag. As we returned to the room of an evening, this was a problem as we were relying on the washing to be done for some clean clothes!

6. Construction work (including what sounded like a jack-hammer) continued until 7pm at night. Considering the hotel is so new, we wondered what might have been going on. It literally took place in the immediately adjacent room.

Everyone is travelling to these parts of the world is open-minded however unfortunately this hotel just didn't cut it. There are no hotel facilities either - no pool, no gym etc. Wifi was limited - available in reception but not in any of the guest areas.

My recommendation would be to try somewhere different if staying in Moulmein (Mawlamyaing).

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotsyd22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2013

I agree with the first reviewer of this property that the Strand is probably the best option in Mawlamyine - and it's not terribly expensive for the best hotel in town. Though strangely, despite the fact that it just opened in 2011, they seem to be doing a lot more construction on at least one of the floors.

The biggest problem with our room was a kind of moldy smell coming from the bathroom, which was pretty hard to avoid even with the exhaust fan turned on. In the bathroom, a round (or close to round) shower stall had for some reason been replaced with a rectangular one, making the entrance to the bathroom awkwardly tight. Yet another oddity of the place, like another reviewer's point about the hotel's views being "reversed."

We also experienced the hotel's unique "turn down" service, which involved a couple of housekeepers coming in, one with roach spray and one with air freshener, while we looked on. They applied the roach spray all around the bed, which I have to say freaked me out for the first night until I was convinced there weren't actually any roaches. The subsequent air freshener didn't really help matters.

One final important point I'll add is that this hotel is really not great for independent travelers because of the limited English and limited local knowledge (from a tourism perspective) among the plentiful front desk staff. Even pretty simple requests like getting bus tickets were met with blank stares then, after extensive discussion, incorrect information (e.g., they told us the only way to get tickets was to go all the way to the bus station, which wasn't true). At one point we considered asking them to confirm our reservation at our next hotel, as we'd been doing the rest of the trip, but decided it wasn't even worth the trouble to explain.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imsann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

If you are looking for a cosy, homely place but still affordable, look no further. This place is a good choice and most important of all, the staff are warm, friendly and very helpful!

Made my travel with my wheelchair-bound Granny the best experience ever!

Thumbs Up!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MayThu23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

This hotel is Mawlamyaing's first attempt at a modern, international style hotel. It was opened in 2011 and still feels fairly new. They get some things right - fluffy towels, free bottled water in the minibar and the bathroom and nice room furnishings. The staff are very friendly. Compared to other hotels in South-east Myanmar, it is definitely a cut above.

But the hotel suffers from the same affliction as many similar hotels in Myanmar in that it is already becoming obvious that the maintenance of the hotel is not up to scratch. There is mould evident in many places on the ceiling, and look more closely at those lovely white duvet covers and you will see that they are already stained. Within three or four years, this place will look really run down.

The design of the hotel is also odd - it has a lovely semi-outdoor corridor that you walk down to reach your room on each floor with fantastic views of the river, but when you enter the room you discover your large window just looks out on a car park and old buildings. The inadequate curtains ensure you'll wake when the sun rises, as the early morning light comes blindingly into the room. The whole hotel design could have been reversed, with the corridor for accessing rooms at the back of the hotel and balconies with views out to the river in each room - that would have been lovely. As it is, you have to go out into the corridor to appreciate the views.

In summary, although it's not perfect, this is definitely the best place to stay in Mawlamyaing. I previously stayed at the Ngwe Moe hotel, and this is much nicer. Also, the associated restaurant next door is pretty good and offers an extensive menu.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank digubra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Thank Jiellesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Globetrotter1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mawlamyine hotels
1.3 mi away
Ngwe Moe Hotel Mawlamyine
Ngwe Moe Hotel Mawlamyine
#1 of 4 in Mawlamyine
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Hinthar Hotel
Royal Hinthar Hotel
#2 of 4 in Mawlamyine
18 reviews
1.9 mi away
No photo provided
Sunshine Hotel
#3 of 4 in Mawlamyine
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cinderella Hotel
Cinderella Hotel
#1 of 19 in Mawlamyine
405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Attran Hotel
Attran Hotel
#6 of 19 in Mawlamyine
83 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Queen Jamadevi
Hotel Queen Jamadevi
#2 of 19 in Mawlamyine
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mawlamyaing Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mawlamyaing Strand Hotel

Address: Strand Rd, Phat Tan Quarter, Mawlamyine, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mon State > Mawlamyine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Mawlamyine
Price Range: £74 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mawlamyaing Strand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Mawlamyaing Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing