We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel. Probably nothing better in the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mawlamyaing Strand Hotel
Ranked #9 of 19 Mawlamyine B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The Mawlamyaing Strand Hotel is a good hotel, but not excellent. For the price I’d rather stay somewhere else…but there is nothing better in Mawlamyaing. When you travel to Myanmar you should be prepared not to find a Four Seasons in every city. If so, you should travel to other countries.

Our Room was very spacious and clean. The service was very good, as everywhere else in Myanmar. The food at the hotel was also good but nothing outstanding. The hotel is well located and the area pretty calm (there is some trafic in front of it but nothing disturbing). Wifi inside the rooms was working fine (but again don’t expect a super-fast speed, as everywhere else in the country).

I would definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seraph1Lampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

I continue to be amazed at the standards of hotels in Myanmar. This one is excellent! Located on the shores of the river in the lower part of town, with the local market right behind it, it is a lovely place. The rooms are great, the amenities as good as any and the service, although a little inefficient due to the language problems, was very satisfactory. It was an enjoyable stay for the 3 nights while on a larger tour. The buffet breakfast was as good as you would get anywhere, except a 5-star hotel, perhaps, and the staff were attentive and helpful. The bar and restaurant setup was interesting - the bar in the Hotel lobby was good for the 1st night but seemed to have moved to the outside restaurant on the 2nd night. We ended up moving to the outside restaurant to ensure quicker service hehe. But, the last night was disappointing as they had ran out of Red Wine, White Wine and Gin. We will never know the truth of this unfortunate episode but memories of the country's military rule came flashing back. And our laundry service was regrettably inefficient. Each of our 3 rooms had laundry, that was picked up and returned within 24 hours - unfortunately, they had mixed up the laundry with other rooms as well. But, they get points for trying and I would go back, if only to support these beautiful people of Myanmar.

Room Tip: I think all rooms open to the passageway that provides a panoramic view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The hotel, located on the Strand, very near the market and the old mosques, is facing the Salouen river. Clean, quiet, large and comfortabe rooms. Excellent bedding. Air conditioning, satellite TV,complimentary bottles of pure water. Helpful staff. Free wifi. Good buffet breakfast (continental - a.o. cheese and cold meats - & Asian food); there is even a staff member dedicated to the cooking of the eggs!
It has got 2 restaurants: one inside (not tested) and one in the open air, next to the hotel, where we ate a delicious ginger fish. Live music every evening, some sort of karaoke, a bit destroy but nevertheless nice.
The singularity of the hotel is that the windows of the rooms don't look out over the river. Instead, a large corridor, where you can sit and smoke your cigarette, gives access to all rooms, offering a panoramic view on the river and the bridge.
Very large lobby with sofas and a bar where you can have a drink while writing your postcards.
A nice place to stay at.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FranCess1390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

If my rating was based on a comparison to other hotels in the area it would be higher. Overall this is a very good option for Mawlamyaing. Great location across from the road from the waterfront and a short walk from the markets. For what is a relatively new hotel though, a number of issues are starting to emerge. There was a big water leak in the roof of the foyer while we were there and some of the amenities in the rooms have not been well maintained. Having said all that I would stay there again. Just a tip - If you are looking to get washing done while in Myanmar, this hotel is a great option. It was very reasonable and the clothes came back beautifully washed and folded.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MHJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I am not a backpacker anymore...so this hotel was the only one I could stay without feeling uncomfortable. We stayed three to a room and the staff was nice to put two extra mattresses to accommodate the third person. My sheets smelled of cat urine the first night, but they dry their sheets outside, so I can see how that can happen. As this was "natural" I did not mind:) The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was clean. The views are great, but you cannot see them from the room - we pulled chairs into the hallway to enjoy the sunset.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruchei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

At first glance, this looked like a great hotel. When we checked in, we were given a room on the 5th floor that was adjacenet to the elevator. I specifically asked for a non smoking room away from the elevator. Our tour guide objected as he knew what I wanted. We were assigned a room on the third floor facing the water. It reeked of cigarette smoke. I asked for another room since I had a breathing problem and I could not tolerate being in a smoke- filled room. We got a room on the second floor overlooking the water. The air conditioner did not work well. Teh outside temperature was probably almost 40 degees Celsius! There was a pair of dirty flip flops (sandals) in the bathroom the first day and the next day, they added another single one (not a pair). Both were filthy. I could not see the rationale of leaving dirty rubber sandals for new guests! They should have thrown them away!
We had coffee and pastry at the lobby the first night and they were good with reasonable prices. The lady in charge was efficient. Sonny, our bellman was friendly. He waved at us whenever he saw us. The staff at breakfast were indifferent. We arrived at 6:30 AM the next day and the doors were locked. Same on the next day. They were not prepared at all. They saw us but did not acknowledged our presesnce. We saw them put the sterno (light for heating food) on the floor , lit them and put them up on the table under the trays of food. That was not too sanitary! The restaurant staff was not friendly at all. They served other guests but avoided us even when I motioned to one that I needed more coffee. She served the 6 people next table to us but ignored us. On the second day, the bus boys were friendly and smiled at us. We told the reception desk staff about it and the waitresses were a little more friendly the next day. They only gave us a bottle of water each day and there were two of us in the room. There was a small TV set in the room. There was a very small safe that was located on the side of the wall but it was hard to access so we did not use it, There was no place to hung our bathrobes. There was only one towel rack.
There was a huge wedding reception the next day. We were told that it was a popular place to hold big receptions.
Given the chance to go back to this city, I will chose another hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TRAVELdglobenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Pristine hotel on the waterfront, very friendly front desk staff, clean rooms, comfortable beds, breakfast buffet with a variety of choices, walking distance to local market and delicious restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BarbieMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawlamyine
2.7 mi away
Royal Hinthar Hotel
Royal Hinthar Hotel
#2 of 4 in Mawlamyine
20 reviews
1.9 mi away
No photo provided
Sunshine Hotel
#3 of 4 in Mawlamyine
6 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cinderella Hotel
Cinderella Hotel
#1 of 19 in Mawlamyine
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Attran Hotel
Attran Hotel
#7 of 19 in Mawlamyine
83 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Queen Jamadevi
Hotel Queen Jamadevi
#2 of 19 in Mawlamyine
64 reviews
23 mi away
Hpa An Lodge
Hpa An Lodge
#1 of 9 in Hpa An
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mawlamyaing Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mawlamyaing Strand Hotel

Address: Strand Rd, Phat Tan Quarter, Mawlamyine, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mon State > Mawlamyine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Mawlamyine
Price Range: £74 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mawlamyaing Strand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Mawlamyaing Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing