We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place, great food”
Review of Sunset Garden Inn

Sunset Garden Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Angeles City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset Garden Inn
Ranked #53 of 70 Hotels in Angeles City
darwin
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice place, great food”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here for a few nights and the room was fine, the wifi was fine and the food was great. Staff could have been a little more friendlier perhaps, also the receptionist could have been a little more chattier as well. The swimming pool was lovely and I went in the pool each day, a nice little setting and was happy to stay there.

My main gripe was the price, it was not necessarily expansive compared to other hotels there, but I think Angeles City is over priced. I could find a better deal in Pattaya or Phnom Penh, I am unsure if the Philippines will ever get the tourist numbers up unless the standards improve and the prices are lowered.

I would recommend that the hotel cleans the rooms without the need to leave your key at the reception. Also the reception staff should tell the guests about the hotel when checking in, such as needing to tell the staff you want your room cleaned and any other information, I also never saw any prices on the laundry service so went elsewhere to have it done.

But as mentioned, the hotel was fine and I had no problems there. I would recommend anyone visiting Angeles City to stay at this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonygoesaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    19
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
10
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Angeles City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Spent a couple of weeks here while house hunting in Angeles. The food is excellent in the poolside restaurant and the staff very friendly. Accommodation prices are very reasonable and the top class rooms are excellent and recently refurbished, although some of the lower grade rooms are a little tired, but still clean and tidy. The rooms on the main highway side can be a little noisy, I had to use earplugs, but the other side is quieter.
The pool is a great place to spend a quiet day with good wifi throughout and there is a small gym for residents. The Swagman bus from Manila will drop and collect you at the door.

Room Tip: Avoid the main highway side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORTH LONDON
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

All staff are very pleasant whatever the situation. Reception staff, waitresses, cook, even management always address you by your name, they have very good memories!!! Feel very comfortable in this Hotel. Maybe the rooms aren't the best but you get what you pay for. Rooms cleaned and sheets changed everyday, extra towel if you need it was no problem. Everything works and that includes air conditioning in each room. The restaurant has a very good setting and the food is very nice, especially the kebabs that were on offer when we were there. The pool surrounds are very simple but what they have done makes you feel like you are in a relaxing tropical environment. I lazed by the pool for many hours listening to my music. The wi-fi free connection in the hotel is also a good free facility. Security is 24/7 on the main entrance and they do make you feel safe. Porter met on arrival and took our cases to the room immediately upon arrival. Nothing is too much bother for anyone in this Hotel, they simply want you to have a good time from the moment you arrive till the moment you leave. They organised the taxi, they call the trike or they just give you good advise at all times at no extra cost. Highly recommend this hotel for overnight or long stays.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank SDP092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This is one of the cheapest hotels I have stayed in Angeles but still one of best in terms of the pool, food and service. The rooms are very poor by western standards but they are clean and the air con is fantastic (and free). The rooms have a safe and whilst I have read some poor reviews re theft from the rooms, my friends and I have stayed here on many many occasions without any issues. I have also stayed here with my Filipino wife and son and it suits families, groups and solo travelers .

I heard that the hotel is about to start refurbishing the rooms which is sorely needed. Fingers crossed for that!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beaslel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

ok, im giving this hotel a 4 star mainly because of their pool...good size for doing laps,,exercising ...also staff are polite , helpfull an found honest....food is v.good but a tad expensive i think..from the front gate of hotel, look right,, you can see other eating options maybe 30 sec walk away...eating poolside with company can be romantic...rooms are spacious and secure..in room safty boxes are there....yer the area can be a little dark at night..but i allways carry a tourch,,and keep my wits about me..i like the location though...its quieter than most..and pool grounds are relaxing..surgest getting a room on the "quiet side".. not the main rd. side...rooms are dated,,could use some paint..pillows need renewing...air con , hot water an cable tv never a problem during my stays there...trike transport at door...jeepney transport 1 min walk away....o and like stk...wlife i also had transport booked and it did"nt arrive..but found the taxi driver to be at fault,,he was at airport but found he was waiting for a better fare...surgest getting taxi from airport...but pay no more than p.300.....prices are on window at taxi stall...

Room Tip: choose a back room on the quiet side..main rd. side is too noisey...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank omybuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Stayed at the Sunset Gardens Novemeber-December 2012. The large open air bar and restaurant with adjacent large pool represents an oasis in which to relax. The bar and restaurant staff, the girls, are truly magnificent. They are wonderfully polite, helpful, happy and beautiful. One could stay at this hotel just for this ambience alone. The reception staff are friendly and the guards at the gate helpful and deserve to be tipped. The all deserve to be tipped. I stayed in the 1490P room, $A35.00 per day at the time. The room is large enough. It was well worn, but clean. As noted elsewhere, the double mattress was not as soft as some might like, but good enough. Wireless for notebook is on tap; you can plug your laptop into an outlet in the pool garden area also. Traffic noise, as has been commented on, is a little loud. Probably the rooms over-looking Fields Av are noisier than the rooms on the opposite side. I slept ok. I had a great, relaxing time at this hotel, and would go back there for sure. Regards to Amor, Lovely at the desk; Rosie, Nezzie, and the rest at the restaurant/bar. You are all great. From Michael.

Room Tip: The rooms backing on Fields Av. may be noisier than the rooms backing Malabanas Road as the former i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

booked transport didnot arrive,,,made own way 10 minutes cost 300peso,,,,found hotel no street lighting not siutable at night times ,,,gaurd with machine gun good to see,,,,room intself was disgusting and only 1 star max,,,,smelt damp,and rotten insid e complete with ants ..
[well biten thanx},,the rooms back on to the highway and sleep is impossible due to comings and goings of motorbikes ferrying prostitues,,totally avoid i didnt stay 2nd nifht i moved as soon as lihght,,,it has nice pool though and wifi working in room

Room Tip: go elswhere much cheaper and better sleep away from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stkildalowlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Angeles City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Angeles City hotels
0.0 mi away
Marquis Hotel
Marquis Hotel
#41 of 70 in Angeles City
30 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saleh
Hotel Saleh
#54 of 70 in Angeles City
28 reviews
0.3 mi away
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#27 of 70 in Angeles City
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DM Residente
DM Residente
#57 of 70 in Angeles City
81 reviews
0.6 mi away
Red Planet Angeles City
Red Planet Angeles City
#2 of 70 in Angeles City
550 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kokomo's Suites Hotel
Kokomo's Suites Hotel
#29 of 70 in Angeles City
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Garden Inn

Property: Sunset Garden Inn
Address: Malabanas Road | Clarkview, Angeles City, Luzon, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Central Luzon Region > Pampanga Province > Angeles City
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 70 Hotels in Angeles City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Sunset Garden Hotel Angeles City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing