We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue Rock Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Olongapo
Darwin, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

On advice from a friend I brought my family here for a few days. Not enough space for 2 small kids. We felt out of place here as the majority of guests were single old men looking for that which we weren't. I'm sure this is a fine spot for them. But not for a family. Food is good and drinks are cheap. The seagulls (local hawkers) never leave you alone unless you pay them something to nick off. We wanted to see the Philippines and we did visit various places. No need to come back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    46
    26
    14
    15
See reviews for
25
28
30
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We did not have a good start to our stay here, first they gave us a room with a sea view overlooking a roof, and then made us wait three hours for an alternative room which was better and right on the beach. I have stayed in place for less money and far better. Our room could do with updating/ decorating and the door lock made more secure. The food in the restaurant was OK but thats about it. There is not much to do around Baloy Beach and i would not return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Olongapo hotels

Sydbey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

This place is the worst place I have ever been to.

My boyfriend and I have found ourselves in subic (we are waiting for a flight back to Thailand after realizing that the Philippines isn't for backpackers) and are counting the minutes to get outta here.

We are so fed of this seedy town (believe me when I say we have backpacked and this is the worst I have ever come across) and just wanted one meal out in a place that wasn't a Gogo bar or a strip club.

The website said "floating bar dive centre" with pictures of hippy looking western divers smiling, we thought we would give it a go.
As we were being pullied out there on a small raft we could
See this bar was In fact, just another Gogo bar and now we were stuck. To
Be polite we stayed for one, a young (maybe 16) year old Gil served us and over introduced herself as if she was "ours" for the night. Horrible.
As I downed our drinks the site of overweight, sagging, sad,loud westerners groping (I mean two over 60 men sandwiched and pretended to dry hump a young girl) girls made me feel sick.
I feel
Like we have entered a secret society and we forgot the memo.
We rushed back to the restaurant to find more oddly paired fake couples.
This was our treat night, a night out, what we got was a sad, aging restaurant with a 70s vibe (and I don't mean the disco era).
The food was absolutely disgusting (and I can eat anything!) the meat was burnt and tasted reheated and re-throw on a BBQ and the fries were dropped in oil that has probably not been changed. The whole Experience cost us
40 dollars!

I would strongly recommend (unless u are a Middle Aged man looking to feel great about yourself) don't go here.
I felt really uncomfortable and a little sad for my boyfriend and I, and very cheated.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pennycowtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Lauderdale
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Very pleased with our stay. On site 24 hour restaurant had a good live band and decent, reasonably priced food. Good internet access. Floating bar lots of fun. Rooms OK, not great, but fine if you are there primarily for diving. If you want to do wreck diving, for the price, the diving and accomodations were good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CountessP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I booked a room with a large balcony which had a nice view of the bay and the floating bar which was the best part of the hotel, but the room was beat-up with old furniture and the noise from the 24 hour restaurant below was too noisy to sleep at 2a.m. with drunks yelling and after several calls to front desk they finally moved them to a different spot. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeff a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

last week Wednesday 24th upon check-out I discovered that USD150 had been removed from my room safe which is operated by code and or key. I dialed room service twice without the Manager responding as I was told he would by the helpful receptionist. after the 3rd call I found him smoking & chatting to a friend & I asked him to accompany me to the room where I explained my version. he introduced himself as either Marty or Martin & insisted that only a select few persons were able to access the safe via key & he would get back to me. 30 mins. later he approached me in the restaurant still unclear as to how the safe was accessed. I did not have the time to hang around for the police to get involved.he offered to refund me the money personally although this I see was then deducted from the hotel bill. he said he would investigate this serious breach & email me after he had investigated.upon leaving he was standing quite close to the reception area, did not request my email nor greet upon my departure.
I settled my bill & vowed personally never to return as the return of my money was secondary to the unprofessional attitude.
in addition the Monday prior, the beautiful Lady who always sings in the restaurant had throat problems & struggled along & the following evening the 2 male band members tried utmost but failed miserably to deliver even a karaoke standard of performance.
although the restaurant service was quick & friendly I found the food up the road @ SHEAVENS to be of a higher standard & equal pricing.

Room Tip: ROOM NO. 16 has a tiny but great dining / resting area + small front area to relax outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arnell b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom Price, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed there in june 2011 for a week.i must say the steaks where great.i no the manager is from Brisbane so I think the steaks come from Australia..we injoyed swimming at the beach but the floating bar was getting renovated after a cyclone a few months before what was a pitty.so some of the staff where great and some didn't have any idea off service..im sorry to hear about the manager he seemed like a good bloke.we will be back some day soon..

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olongapo
0.1 mi away
Mangrove Resort Hotel
Mangrove Resort Hotel
#2 of 18 in Olongapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Subiza Beach Resort
Subiza Beach Resort
#13 of 18 in Olongapo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Subic Grand Seas Resort
Subic Grand Seas Resort
#5 of 18 in Olongapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.2 mi away
Rama International Beach Resort
2.2 mi away
Subic Residencias
Subic Residencias
#3 of 18 in Olongapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cherry Midtown Hotel
Cherry Midtown Hotel
#8 of 18 in Olongapo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Rock Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Rock Beach Resort

Property: Blue Rock Beach Resort
Address: Baloy Long Beach, Olongapo, Luzon 2200, Philippines (Formerly Blue Rock Resort & Dive Center)
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Central Luzon Region > Zambales Province > Olongapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Olongapo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Olongapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Rock Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In-room accommodation include the following to make your stay more pleasurable: 1 Queen Size Bed, air-conditioning/ceiling fan and wall fan, FREE WiFi connection, safety deposit box, telephone available for local & international calls, mini bar, cabled TV, private bathroom and toilet with toiletries. For Junior Suite same room amenities have been applied with 1 King Size Bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Blue Rock Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Rock Resort & Dive Hotel Olongapo
Blue Rock Resort And Dive Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing