We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Le Pes Villas(Khanom)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$12
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hallo villa(Khanom)(Great Value!)
US$26
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ban Thanyanan(Khanom)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (325)
Filter reviews
325 results
Traveller rating
132
115
48
22
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
115
48
22
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspoolside villaaalto restaurantfamily villapool sidepink dolphinsdirect access to the poolyoga retreatrelaxing holidayhotel is situatedmattress topperrain showerwide varietytight budgetpoolside furnitureprivate poolwonderful night staygreat food and service
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 325 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2017

The resort is not cheap, true, but for what you get, it is really reasonable.The design is not asian like, - but spacious and it is placed in the landscape with an eye of gracefulness ;-) really the place is beautiful.
as they probably try to keep up a certain European standard (the owner is Finnish !) the prices aren't asian either. but nearby there is a small nice place to eat. so you can decide.
rooms are kept very clean, beds are big and great! everybody is friendly. here and there you can see the results of rainy season on the buildings, but the housekeepers are always working here and there to keep it up.

Room Tip: superior or pool superior
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 665erikal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

My partner and I came here in August of 2017 and had a great time at Aava- it was exactly what we were looking for. Veeery peaceful, beautiful beach and rooms, great service, and very well done overall.

We also thought that, given what we paid, it was extremely good value. We ended up getting to Khanom a day or two later than we had expected, because of flight changes, and were worried that we would be charged for those nights, but they graciously did not charge us.

Room: We had a poolside bungalow, and the decor was beautiful- minimalist but not too much so, spacious and very comfortable. I'm not sure if the fact that it was poolside added that much value or not. We discovered a couple of issues when we arrived- air con didn't work that well the first night, etc- but they were very quick to fix them and then we had no issue from there on out. Room was dark, so we slept well.

Food: The restaurant was quite good- we stuck with largely Thai food, but ventured out to the other things sometimes, and all were good. The Thai menu was slightly more limited than we might have wished, so we were a tiiiny bit sick of the menu by the time we left after a week. Also could have done with more salads and vegetable dishes overall. We really liked the way they do breakfast, though, which was important to us!

Beach and other: The beach was beautiful- very clean, not too crowded at all, Aava has these lovely four-poster beds set up right next to the restaurant on the beach. The sea was beautiful- quite clear, we only saw a few jellyfish (dead), veeery calm. Possibly too calm! Shallow for a long way out, so good for families with kids I imagine. We also took the pink dolphin tour that they offer, and enjoyed it- it was in a very basic, rickety little boat, but was really a lovely excursion.

Also, my partner and I got engaged while we were there, and they gave us a complimentary four-course dinner on the beach, and surprised me with a cake on my birthday the next day- we loved it.

Would definitely go here again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Suzanna2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

As you can easily see on the photos: the Aava resort is a very nice and stylish hotel and we had a great time there. But what you cannot see are the people who make this place special. Amongst others I would like to highlight "June" the account / customer service manager, who gave us a private tour to the local market and even walked us over, explaining the local food and specialities. This way we tasted some stuff, we for sure would not have tried without her. Thanks again!

So, the only reason for me not to give the highest rating is related to the sea of the resort. It seems this area is suffering the same problems as other parts of Thailand - some jelly fish, which stings on the skin and makes it itch when you are in the water. These jelly fish are too small to see them with bare eyes and are far from being dangerous, but unpleasant enough to keep us out of the water. Usually we don't like to go into a pool with a beautiful sea and beach outside, but under these circumstances we thought differently...

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Omeiomei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

We wanted a luxury beach holiday in Thailand but were disappointed with Aava resort. Tranquility soon became boredom, especially for our two teenage sons. Family villa was looking tired and in need of a lick of paint, issues with air conditioning required maintenance team in our villa on more than one occasion, bedside light broken. Wifi needs significantly improving and whilst the majority of the members of staff were fantastic, a couple in the restaurant could do with a recap on warmth and good customer service. Most days we had to ask for beach towels to be replenished and there were insufficent sun beds when hotel was full (many being reserved by guests with towels but not in use - grrr). We were badly advised by staff on an exercusion to a temple over an hours drive away and wasted a day. Pink dolphin trip cancelled due to weather, snorkelling unsuccessful didn't help on other days. We were on a b&b basis and found other meals taken at Aava very expensive as were the (sometimes substandard) spa treatments. Despite the beautiful location, it is quite remote and sadly we would not recommend to other families as think much better accommodation and value for money can be found elsewhere in Thailand.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank ELL2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

If you are looking for a relaxing holiday far away from the typical touristic Thai sites like Patong or Koh Samui, this could be a good choice.
Aava is placed directly on a long, sandy beach, and the place was in no way over-crowded. No beach vendors either which was great. Nice beach chairs included.
The hotel design is a tasteful mix of Thai and Scandinavian.
Breakfast was included and very nice - a la carte with a wide selection.
Main 'complaint' is that you are a bit stuck to the place as everything else is quite far away. There is a small kiosk across the road, a local beach bar almost next door and a few hotels that will pick you up for dinner if you call them.
I suggest that you do this, at least some of the time. The Aava restaurant serves great food, but at prices close to Danish prices.
The spa area is ridiculously expensive, why we didn't use it. In our next stop on the trip (Koh Samui), we could get a massage for less than a sixth of the Aava price!
Also the tours arranged by the hotel were very pricey, and the staff was not very helpful guiding us to other alternatives.
Besides, the staff was in general kind and helpful, and we enjoyed our peaceful and expensive stay. But happy that we only booked for five nights - tranquility can get to be too much of a good thing..
PS. I have to mention the beds. Never did we sleep on a harder mattress anywhere!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Babetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews