We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lonely resort with fantastic beaches around”
Review of Khanom Hill Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Khanom Hill Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Khanom
Certificate of Excellence
sønderjylland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lonely resort with fantastic beaches around”
Reviewed 28 February 2010

The Khanom Hill Resort is a VERY quiet place, perhaps a little to quiet.. The resort has very nice, large rooms.(and pretty expensive) Two different pools and a spa. The beaches are beatiful, big waves some days and lots of wind. Theres no people around, you can take a walk down the beach and meet no on at all.
The restaurent serves very good thaifood (and the cheapest we saw in two months). The staff will help you with trips, whatever. But theres not much to do in the area and almost no turist. Thats nice, but also a problem if you want to go on a trip. Theres only one company making trips, its very expencive and we did´nt go because on any because they could not find enough people to go, which was a shame.
Very nice place to stay for 2-4 days, then it gets a little boring..

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spruds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    39
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
89
141
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Åland
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2010

We really recommend all who want a different and unforgettable vacation in an unspoilt part of Thailand. The resort has a wonderful garden full of different palm trees, orchids and other exotic and rare plants. The different houses and bungalows gives the resort a unique atmosphere. We also appreciated the warm and welcome atmosphere and the friendliness from all of the staff at Khanom Hill Resort. The restaurant serves really good and cheap thaifood. And please ask if they have something special on the menu and you may be offered a plate of white snapper with banana or something else equally exotic.

The surroundings are beautiful with jungle covering the hills and long beaches. And you can have a beach all for yourself. There are several waterfalls nearby and caves. We really recommend hiring scooters. It is easy to get around and the traffic is not heavy. And don´t forget to visit one of the markets, specially the wednesday market in the morning. If you are lucky one of he Khanom Hill staff may take you there.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soderbacka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2009

I was looking for a quiet little resort well off the beaten path and I found it here. I had the beach nearly to myself and could relax in peace. I stayed in one of the newer bungalows, which was very comfortable, stylish, and clean. I loved having the pool right outside my door. The owner is very personable and helpful, and the food at the restaurant is delicious, even serving a passable cheeseburger when a break from Thai food is needed. DVD players are in the rooms and DVDs are available for borrowing, but most are in German, so you might consider some of your own if that interests you. I absolutely loved my stay and so didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mbira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
106 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2009

Khanom is a paradise!

Khanom Hill Resort is even a better paradise. Me and my wife Ann-Marie stayed there for fourteen days the two first weeks in January 2009.

It was an unforgettable experience and memory.
Without exaggeration we can estabish that this glittzy little diamond is the most romantic, pleasurable and welcoming resort we have ever been to.

Khanom Hill Resort offers an excellent combination of delightful atmosphere, spectacular views over the blue see and the exotic garden. The rooms, the apartments and the bungalows are all furnished in a very personal , unique, and tasteful manner.

The total experience is completed with an extraordinary feeling of being at home!

As a guest in "your home" we always felt that everyone in the staff, without exception, treated us in the most humble and honourable way. With an excellent service, always delivered with a smile on everyones lips, and with a terrific restaurant serving exraordinary good and various food, we felt that we never would like to go back home. again.

The good thing with beeing at home again is that we can come back! That is something we certainly will do! Many times!

Thank you Thum, Dagmar, Achim and everybody else for a memory and experience that still are filled with full of joy!

We will see you soon again!

Gunnar and Ann-Marie Werner from Sweden

  • Liked — The personal atmosphere, the service, the food, the view.
  • Disliked — The lack of infrastructure in the region. In the same time this is one componentr that makes Khanom and Khanom Hill to very special paradises
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank guntebunte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2008

Thailand still has a few pockets of unspoiled beauty. VERY few. We were so fortunate to have skipped the Gulf islands in favor of staying inland on the gulf where there are beaches aplenty and some opportunity to get a true Thai experience. At the end of a beach road, essentially a dead-end, you find Khanom Hill. A bit of a trial getting there but well worth it, we were so happy to find a pretty, untouched paradise with gorgeous stretches of beach. In fact, you'll find a plethora of swimming areas starting at Khanom running North all right off the beach road, many of them waiting to be enjoyed with hardly a soul in site. South there's a small road accessible via car or scooter where you'll find myriad pockets of gorgeous beach if you're looking for even more privacy. The water is nice but be aware, this is not the crystal clear water that you'll find around some of the islands. It's more of the dark green variety, but still very pretty, and with an absence of some of the prevalent tourism you'll find around much of Thailand, it seems rather insignificant. The town itself, about a ten minute trip by car from the resort isn't gorgeous, but is has a certain charm and nice amenities like a bank, and 7-11. So back to Khanom hill. We intended to stay for a night, maybe two. We were traveling for 3 months so were definitely on a budget and frankly it was a little more expensive that we had aimed for. However, our stay went from one night to 4 or 5. We loved our very simple but elegant bungalow across the road with a couple of pools at our disposal, air conditioning, and a TV and DVD player and a terrific beach at your disposal. Nothing else really required! We loved Tum and her family were all absolutely lovely and the food at the restaurant was great. Beyond Khanom Hill there's a handful of resorts and restaurants. All of them seem ok but nothing special. However, the restaurants within walking distance are all excellent and relatively cheap. We mixed up meals between Khanom Hill and the others. We were there in off-season and there were very few tourists. Even in high-season however, I would imagine that there's more than enough room for everyone. I've been told that this is a destination for many Thai and Malaysian tourists as opposed to Westerners. For some, like myself, this is a plus. This is one of the few places in Thailand I would revisit without hesitation, and one of the more memorable places to stay.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonah24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2008

This place is fantastic. Don't really need to say much more. If you like quiet private beaches, beautifully decorate rooms, kind attentive staff and no noisy bars or obvious tourism then go to Khanom Hill. You do need transport though - and you need to work quite hard to find the local attractions as it is not geared to tourists at all - but if watching rare pink dolphins from a local longtail is your type of thing then this is the place to come. Great for kids because it is safe and quiet (ours loved it).

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank tssmcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khanom
1.1 mi away
Aava Resort & Spa
Aava Resort & Spa
#2 of 10 in Khanom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
3.3 mi away
Khanom Golden Beach Hotel
9.1 mi away
Sichon Cabana
Sichon Cabana
#1 of 3 in Sichon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Khanom Maroc Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Racha Kiri Resort & Spa
6.2 mi away
Le Pes Villas
Le Pes Villas
#2 of 19 in Khanom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khanom Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khanom Hill Resort

Property: Khanom Hill Resort
Address: 60/1 Moo 8 | Khanom, Khanom 80210, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Nakhon Si Thammarat Province > Khanom
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Khanom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Khanom Hill Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Boutique Resort right on one of the most beautiful beaches of Khanom in a large tropical botanical garden. Spacious, luxurious rooms all with private terraces. Sunbeds than available at the two beaches in front of the hotel and in the pool area. Exquisite cosy restaurant with thai, western and fusion cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Khanom Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khanom Hill Hotel Khanom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing