We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunny bungalows, nice garden, helpful staff”
Review of Viet Thanh Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Viet Thanh Resort
Ranked #63 of 117 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Very nice place to relax and stay on the beach. It's few kilometers further from town, but it's good as you have everything you need right here at Viet Thanh Resort. It's nice garden, friendly staff, tour company, a restaurant on the beach with splendid food and wonderful sunsets. The beach is clean there, sea is calm, no wind. You can get fresh fruits on the beach from women carrying big baskets with great variety. And also I highly recommend "Aroma Spa" massages. I tried Thai massage. It was brilliant.
Oh, and don't you ever think of having massage on the beach bench! Those will not be quality, they might cheat you giving some extra service and then asking money for it. Also the keep little monkey tied right at the beach, next to massage bunk. They cuddle monkey and afterwards don't wash their hands and go straight to your body to give massage!

Room Tip: If you look for a budget option, ask them for a room in a 3-storey building. This building is in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vietthanhphuquoc, Owner at Viet Thanh Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you so much for writing review. we will always more and more improve our service to satisfy you. Hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights even though we had planned to stay 4 because we didn't see it worthwhile to stay another 2 days. First, this is not a resort. There are no amenities that could constitute it as a resort, so they should really take it out of the name. Second, when we arrived, we were shown to our bungalow which was basic, but fine and has a nice terrace with hammocks and chairs, but the problem was there was an incredibly strong odour that we could not get rid of (apparently it's something to get rid of critters or rats or something...) At any rate, it was bad enough that we asked to change rooms for the last night. Since they said they couldn't refund us for the 2 nights we no longer wanted to stay, we requested that they at least let us use the air con for free the second day, which was a bit better.

The other major reason we decided to leave the island early was simply because there is almost nothing to do on the island and the beach was disgusting!!! There was garbage everywhere!! It's a real shame. We didn't feel comfortable even going for a walk because you had to dodge garbage the entire time and swimming wasn't appealing when you're watching garbage crash into the shore along with the waves. We even had to dodge used needles on the beach! Which reminds me of the hotel rules, which included "do not do drugs including heroin and cocaine, and do not bring prostitutes into the rooms." That should tell you something.

I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwissMiss30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vietthanhphuquoc, Owner at Viet Thanh Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Firstly, I'm so sorry for what you have had during staying here. Then, Thank you so much for writing review for us so that we can know what is our weakness in serve our guess and so that we can improve. But can we explain for that problem.
You came here on rainy season, we don't blame it on the weather but we had cleanup all the time.
but it's our mistake when you catch a dirty view. We can not control all the garbage that was be pull from the sea.
You said that we are not resort, sorry but can you share to us what is a resort in your opinion? I want to tell you "you get what you pay", you have booked the basic bungalow (25$) so you can't asked for resort four or five star.
Anyway, thank for your review, we will always improve our service to satisfy you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I have to admit to mixed feelings about Viet Thanh, but I will blame any negative sentiments on the fact that the first two days we had continuous thunderstorms and downpours, but a little sunshine made all the difference and this resort delivered what we went for, which was a relaxing time away from the rigours of travel. The beachfront bungalow with air con was a little expensive because it was very basic, but overall, the friendly staff helped to make it an enjoyable experience. The crunch question is, would we go back, and the answer is probably yes, after more bargaining on the price as I know others had the price knocked down to below what we paid.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonRicardo210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vietthanhphuquoc, Owner at Viet Thanh Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you so much for staying at Viet Thanh resort. Hope to see and serve you again. We will always improve our services to make sure you will exciting and satisfied. Thanks!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I have stayed there for 3 days , hotel so was great , helpful staff , no complaim about this place is quiet and suitable for family or solo traveller too ,The beach so was clean , amazing taking photo I will be back few more months ,

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kate c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vietthanhphuquoc, Owner at Viet Thanh Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thanks you so much for your review. Hope to see you again. We will always improve our services to make sure you will get satisfied during staying here. Thanks !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Lovely place, had everything we needed! We originally booked a normal standard room and upon arrival they upgraded us for the same price just because our bungalow was next to one they were working on. Nice! There was no airco but we had a fan for each bed so that was good enough. Including we had a little terras with a hammock and two chairs.

They have a small beach with plenty of shade and at least ten chairs.

They do not sell any type of food, but there are lots of restaurants at the beach or down the road. If you want cheap drinks, some cookies or sigarettes, just walk 50 meter tot the left on the road and you will find a small shop with fair proces.

There were two downsides:
1. A lot of dogs around the property (they were harmless but I am not a dog person and they should not come on your terras), but apperently there are a lot of dogs around the is land
2. The sea was really dirty, plastic floating around (but you can not blame the hotel for that)

They also can help you with transfer to the main land (boat, bus).

So, a nice place to relax!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Elisebize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vietthanhphuquoc, Owner at Viet Thanh Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you very much for staying at Viet Thanh resort and writing review for us. Hoping to see you again. we will improve our service and serve the best hospitality. thanks!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here with five people. one couple and three singles.
We didn't have a reservation and were lucky to get one bungalow of our own with two seperate rooms (rooms 14/15) for four nights. each room two double beds and its own bathroom.
The rooms are very tidy and clean. There are deck chairs and hammocks in front of the rooms.
the garden of the hotel is really nice and you step out of your room and you can see the sea.

the beach is really nice and you have your time to relax and calm down after a few days in hanoi :)

the staff was really helpful with everything.

we used the motorbikes for one day. they were well kept and we did not have any trouble driving around the island.

only two negative points:
the whole street had a power blackout for a few hours (they do have a generator), but the ATMs at the street did not work during the blackout.

and the restaurant at the beach of the hotel is not that good. BUT: the lien hiep thanh resort, right next to the viet thanh has a really good restaurant. breakfast lunch dinner. very good :)

Room Tip: A/C recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kire123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vietthanhphuquoc, Owner at Viet Thanh Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Hello Friendly Guest,
Thank you so much for your review. We will always improve our service.
Welcome you comeback here again on next holiday. we hope to have a chance to serve you next time.
Have a nice day!
Any question or information, please contact us by email: vietthanhphuquoc@yahoo.com
Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Booked a air-con Beachfront bungalow in advance. Everything went well. Everything is worthy for that price. Friendly staff. Reasonable service. The place is quiet and suitable for family too. Kids can play with sands in shade.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vietthanhphuquoc, Owner at Viet Thanh Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Hello Friendly Guest,
Thank you so much for your review. We will always improve our service.
Welcome you comeback here again on next holiday. we hope to have a chance to serve you next time.
Have a nice day!
Any question or information, please contact us by email: vietthanhphuquoc@yahoo.com
Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
2.2 mi away
Huu Le Hotel
Huu Le Hotel
#72 of 117 in Phu Quoc Island
18 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hong Bin Bungalow
Hong Bin Bungalow
#44 of 117 in Phu Quoc Island
158 reviews
1.1 mi away
Halona Hotel
Halona Hotel
#57 of 117 in Phu Quoc Island
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
A74 Hotel
A74 Hotel
#28 of 50 in Duong Dong
169 reviews
0.6 mi away
Daisy Village Resort & Spa
Daisy Village Resort & Spa
#5 of 50 in Duong Dong
110 reviews
0.5 mi away
Paris Beach Village Phu Quoc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viet Thanh Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viet Thanh Resort

Address: Tran Hung Dao | Duong Dong Town, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam (Formerly Viet Thanh)
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range: £9 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Viet Thanh Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Viet Thanh Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viet Thanh Hotel Phu Quoc Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing