We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
Ranked #6 of 98 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Certificate of Excellence
australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Secluded paradise”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in June. Stunning location and beach. We had a beachfront villa and the location was beautiful. Unfortunately after the first day the weather turned monsoonal which meant there wasn't much to do. The one sunset we did get was amazing and perfect location in comfy beanbags at the bar looking out to sea. The breakfasts were good with plenty of choices. It does take a while to get to chen sea from the town and airport and most of the roads were dirt and bumpy. The staff were amazing helpful and friendly. Unfortunately we checked out 2 days early because of the weather and the rain wasn't going to stop. I know it was on the cusp of monsoon season but that's the chance you take. All in all an amazing tranquil location and perfect if you want to get away from it all...we'll be back

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier P P, General Manager at Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear lexyAustralia,

Thank you for your nice Review of our property.
You loved your experiencing of the Chen Sea and that is what matters.

Yes Monsoon is unpredictable, but at least (Dear Readers of this Forum, please read carefully) you knew it was the Monsoon, smile….
Do you believe that we have Guests complaining of the weather!!!!!
This being said it is unpredictable… Since 7 days now the weather is really nice.
As a result of this Guests do not complain anymore of the weather, just about the sun burns….. yes sorry we are close to the Equator!!!!

You will be back…. Third rule applies: you can’t return to the Chen Sea without going through the GM, smile…. Then I’ll cook up something for you.
With our most sincere thanks and kindest regards,
Olivier, your GM at the Chen Sea Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    703
    192
    48
    20
    15
See reviews for
195
576
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Chen spa

En route from the airport we did wonder where on earth we were going to land up, especially when we turned off the road onto a very bumpy hole-ridden track but we were not disappointed when we finally arrived at a tropical paradise. Went to this hotel in low season and yes there was quite a bit of rain and wind as one might expect at this time of year. However, there were dry and even sunny moments and when this happened it was so beautiful and nice not to have all the crowds that apparently come here in high season although we did have to endure some very unruly and noisy children who seemed to enjoy racing around the restaurant and pool completely unchecked by their parents - not the hotel's fault although I do wonder if a line has to be ruled for the sake of other guests. We had a beach side apartment which was superb in every way and worth the extra cost as it was wonderful to look out of the window and see and hear the sea. Unfortunately there was a red flag every day so we were unable to do more than paddle, such a pity as the sea was so warm and inviting. However, the pool was really outstanding and kept really clean. The restaurant overlooked the sea and was a great setting for a meal. As many have commented, the breakfast was truly amazing both in terms of quality and the variety of foods offered. We stayed here at the end of a busy tour so didn't venture outside the resort so ate in the restaurant each evening. Service was friendly although at busier times it could be unacceptably slow but the food as obviously freshly cooked so it didn't bother us too. It was a lot more expensive than we had previously paid in other parts of Vietnam but we expected that because of the island location. We both used the spa and although the therapists were very good, again it was quite pricey and this time I couldn't see the reason as using local labour should not add so much to the cost. The hospitality was truly amazing and staff were helpful and cheery. It was a lovely touch in the evening to find chocolates in our room and a Vietnamese bed time story. Two tiny things we would suggest as an improvement - a shower by the pool for hygiene and convenience and a mat in the bedroom by the door to the beach exit to absorb the water on the feet after washing them on the way in. Overall however, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will always have happy memories of our time at Chen Spa hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taiters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier P P, General Manager at Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear taiters,

Top Contributors have this way to go right to the point and to be able to cover everything in a relatively short Review.

First and foremost please accept our most sincere thanks for your wonderful words about us.
We do appreciate a lot and we are glad that you enjoyed the Chen Sea though the Monsoon is a bit on the heavy side this year!!!

I love your words on the unruly and noisy kids, but there is nothing I could do. When the Parents receive no education, they certainly cannot educate their own children.
It will take a couple of generations for this to change. It is because of this nuisance that when Guests ask me what is the best period to return to the Chen Sea I always answer the first half of December. It is between two school vacations periods, so we have only couples in the property; really peaceful and of course no rain, smile…..

As a Top Contributor I must give you a piece of information when it comes to the pricing of the Spa.
I would like to ensure that you do not feel us abusing our Guests.
You take a treatment price that paid. You take off 10% Tax and 5% Service Charge. Then there is a tradition in the Spa business all over the region, so the therapists get a 9& commission. Then icing on the cake… There is a 30% special tax on massage!!! So roughly 54% of the selling price is gone…
All this has nothing to do with the cost of the therapists themselves.

I hope that you will cherrish your memories of the Chen Sea as long as possible.

With our renewed sincere thanks and kindest regards,
Olivier, your GM at the Chen Sea Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed here for five days in November in a jacuzzi villa. It was beautiful and very well sized, I particularly liked the little luggage room and wardrobe space that didn't interfere with the bedroom space.
The bathroom was beautiful and the inside and outside showers worked well! The dip pool and jacuzzi were always freezing so we didn't really use it but it was nice to have the extra outside space.
The grounds were beautiful and the pool staff were very hard working, I was a little concerned as sometimes we didn't see them have a break all day or even drink but they were always very happy and happy to help.
The restaurant was very good and I was really pleased to see a decent selection of vegetarian food! (The polenta burgers were amazing!) it was nice to eat outside in the evening and by the pool during the day although I believe they add an extra charge for this.
The location is a little out of the way but we paid a fair few hundred dollars to stay so we weren't fussed with going anywhere else. There should be more beach chairs though as we sometimes struggled to find any.

The only criticism I have is that once we were walking from the little shack on the beach and we were approached by a member of staff asking to see our room key. We found this incredibly offensive as they clearly thought we had wandered into the wrong hotel and I bought this up at the time we left on our feedback.

Overall it's a beautiful hotel and I have recommended it to all my friends thinking of traveling to Vietnam!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ftill123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier P P, General Manager at Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear ftill123,

Thank you so much for your very nice Review of our property, we really appreciate.
We are glad that your experiencing of the Chen Sea was a great one.

I have to apologize because it is true that at the beginning of last year high season the delivery of our new deck chairs came quite late.
In fact we got it with a month delay. But this has been fixed since the time you came to the property.

Then I feel very sorry that you felt offended when one employee asked you to show your room key.
We have strict rules in the Resort to protect our Guests. It might sound stupid but it is far from being so.
You see many tourists on the island would not mind to stay in a mid market resort and come to the Chen Sea to enjoy our Pool or our Beach.
This is something that we fight against, and sometime some people hate us for this, as the aim is to keep some of our key features on an exclusive basis to our residents.
The sense of exclusivity, peace and tranquility is enhance by a low density of Guests, and we must protect this as much as we can, we owe this to our Guests.
This being said I shall ensure that it is done with the right manners to ensure that our Guests do not feel offended.

Then I thank you as well for recommending the Chen Sea to your friends, it is very kind of you.
Tell your friends to get in touch with me and I shall take care of them.

With kind regards,
Olivier, your GM at the Chen Sea Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Although this hotel is a little out of the way it's easy to get a taxi in to the town.

We had a villa on the beach - it was just perfect. Great size bedroom, bathroom and oitside decking.

The pool and grounds were really nice and well kept.

Clearly it's not the cheapest hotel on the island but well worth the money. We would definitely return here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tink1981-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier P P, General Manager at Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Tink1981-,

Thank you so much for your Review.
We are glad that you enjoyed your experiencing of the Chen Sea.
Especially during the Monsoon, even if it was last year.

With our renewed thanks and kindest regards,
Olivier, your GM at the Chen Sea Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoi An
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Beautiful bungalows adorn a well appointed space looked after by generous and friendly staff. The location of the resort however makes escape from the mediocre dining options something of a challenge...

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BenViet2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier P P, General Manager at Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear BenViet2014,

Thank you for your nice Review of the Chen Sea.
And even more for your nice words about our team of Employees, it is very encouraging for us all.

With kind regards,
Olivier, your GM at the Chen Sea Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

The pool villa one of the perfect place to enjoy private time with family. Service here friendly and helpfully, they also give you a tour around the area to make sure you get to right place. Overall, this is another favorite place to enjoy!!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Vu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier P P, General Manager at Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Vu H,

Thank you so much for your short and positive review.
I am happy that the whole family enjoyed their experiencing of the Chen Sea.
This is what we aim for and when a Family is enjoying it; it is special too as we have so many couples and families a bit less, but during school vacations.

With our renewed thanks and kindest regards,
Olivier, your GM at the Chen Sea Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Extremely fine beautifully appointed beach hotel. Perfect for four or five days after the hectic Hanoi/Hoi An/Saigon travel which many of the clientele appeared to have done. Hard to fault rooms or the food. Pricey in vietnam but cheap in European or Caribbean terms .The con is a pro.. It is some away from the main drag, and you are captive to the hotels services. So relax..if you want to be visiting a new bar every night prepare for a hefty taxi bill. Complaints? The tonic water was terrible. Monsieur le Patron a gin and tonic is a serious drink! Please fix...

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier P P, General Manager at Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Joe H,

Monsieur le Patron heard you loud and clear but wishes to thank you first for your very nice Review of our property.
This is very kind of you.

Concerning the Gin and Tonic, though as a French I am not supposed to know any thing about it, I know how right you are.
I do apologize because I know what the problem is, we just found it recently.
So I promise that we are going to change the way we propose it and the way we serve it.
It will be applied to other “classics” in the Bar.
Not only we’ll improve it but you will be able to chose your Gin….

Thank you so much.
With my kindest regards,
Olivier, your GM at the Chen Sea Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
10.7 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#2 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
417 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 47 in Duong Dong
1,097 reviews
3.9 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#2 of 47 in Duong Dong
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#9 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
571 reviews
9.8 mi away
Vinpearl Phu Quoc Resort
Vinpearl Phu Quoc Resort
#13 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
540 reviews
4.8 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#3 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc

Property: Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
Address: Bai Xep, Ong Lang | Cua Duong, Phu Quoc Island, Phu Quoc Island 920000, Vietnam (Formerly Chenla Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#4 Luxury Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#5 Spa Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled discreetly in a secluded bay surrounded by a tropical rain forest, Chen Sea Resort & Spa invites you to lay down. This exclusive hideaway offers spectacular view on the Gulf of Thailand. Chen Sea Resort & Spa lies perfectly along a private and pristine beach offering privacy and serenity, everything is about peace and heaven. The Architecture of the Resort is inspired by the local environment with the use of natural material that is traditional to Vietnam. Chen Sea Resort & Spa offers 36 unique and spacious Villas. The open plan layout design invites our guests for both indoor and outdoor experience. Traditional oriental simplicity and refinement are the inspiration for the design and furnishings of all the villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chen Sea Resort And Spa
Chen Sea Hotel Phu Quoc Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing