We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
Ranked #5 of 103 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Certificate of Excellence
Ho Chi Minh
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Fabulous !”
Reviewed 18 November 2009

Chen La Resort is the perfect getaway if you want luxurious and undisturbed bliss in a beautiful beachside location. It's a well laid-out resort, on a slope running to the water's edge.

The rooms are spacious and well appointed. Yes, it you want to go the whole eco-route and turn off the TV and aircon, you can, as many resorts in Phu Quoc seem to be without and advertise it as a selling point, but unlike those, the choice is yours at Chen La. Free wireless internet in all villas too for those internet fixes. Indoor/outdoor shower plus a very nice verandah on all, with sunken bath and day bed. Makes for a difficult choice whether to laze on the verandah and enjoy the seaview, or take a few strides down to the beach, or head to the large infinity pool overlooking the beach.

The beach itself is blocked at both ends by rocks = no hawkers or people trying to sell you anything, perfect. It's a flat sandy beach that is relatively shallow quite some way out with clear water.

The single restaurant is nice, not an expansive menu but the quality is good. Service is friendly ,with a lounge and bar downstairs at the water's edge to drink at later.

This is not the place to go if you want an action packed holiday. Yes, they have some watersports, sailing etc even scuba diving (fortunately no pesky jet-skis !) and there are the ubiquitous boat tours to do. But for me the attraction was lazing by the beach or the pool enjoying the calm.There is no noise from nearby roads, nor airport, nor speedboats going by. I think I heard the odd dog barking maybe.

I'll most certainly be back.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mupple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    717
    194
    48
    20
    15
See reviews for
202
583
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Pescara
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2009

Before to arrive, I was reading on this blog, that the hotel swiming pool was enable ... I arrived and the SURPRISE was ... the best swiming pool ever seen ... faceing directly the sea in front of one of the most gurgeaus sun-set ever seen.
But saying the truth I did not use it a lot, as even the sea was fantastic.
Spectaculars rooms ... I asked to try for one night the Jacuzzi ViIlas, and never been in such a confortable and dettailed room YOU MUST TRY IT.
I took 2 Kg on weight (I do not know if I have to thanks or not ... Valerio ... the chef)
I will be back in November

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MbjMbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

We just returned (sigh!) from 3 nights at the Chen-La Resort. We were lucky enough to find a very good Internet special, and despite the pool being empty for repairs (we all received a complimentary 1 hour massage instead) we had a perfect time away.

The rooms are beautiful and well-thought-out with an indoor-outdoor shower, feather pillows, organic scrubs and lotions and a flat-screen TV. The private beach is nice to relax at, especially with the grassed area and deck chairs.

The resort IS isolated - for us it was part of the charm and it only cost about 200,000 dong return to get into town. Yes the roads aren't very good, but this is a DEVELOPING island after all.

The resort is kid-friendly and we had a cot in our room and a high-chair in the restaurant. For families with older kids, rooms can be shared with an internal door.

The resort breakfast was divine (even with all the flies!), the service was attentive without being intrusive. The menu was relatively extensive and the cocktails not too light :)

I think this resort will be expensive if you can't get an Internet deal so keep an eye out.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nixon_baby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snohomish, WA. USA
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2009

We just arrived here at Chen La and immediately noticed that the pool is empty. Apparently it is closed for "safety reasons." We really wanted to be able to swim in order to cool off and have some fun. We are transferring to the Cassia Cottages tomorrow.

Another low point...the road between the airport and Chen La is awful! Muddy, rutted, slick, etc. It took about 30 minutes to go 9 km. Also, there is nothing around this resort. No stores, no restaruant...nothing! If you want nearby amenities and a choice of where to eat, stay elsewhere.

Helpful?
1 Thank BillBraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2009

For almost three weeks since we all left Chenla, but our hearts are still there!
Every one of the seventeen of us (4 families) enjoyed our stay at this "fantasy island" so much we all voted it to be our #1 destination resort (from all asia, europe, continental america) that we have been to for the last 25 years. This is all due to not only the beautiful resort setting, the five-star quality of facilities, the excellent quality of the foods, but mostly to entire staffs. The beach is super clean and seclude, most of the water sports (Kayak and snorkling) are included. We had the best sailing and snorkling there for three days.
Every one services with warm, attention to details, and always with a smile. Every one goes extra miles and it shows how each one takes pride in their work. We enjoyed being taking care of by our Maitre'D Kien, our chef Thanh and Valerio with their creative and delicious dishes, our watersport staff Willy, our masseur Hoa, and restaurant manager Juan. It was a perfect setting for our 20th anniversary, and we almost cancel the rest of our trip to Saigon to stay there. I believe you have the formula for success, and I hope in my selfish way this place remains a secret so it does not lose its character and charm. However, the words of mouth will spread quickly, and the world will come and enjoy what describe and we just glad we are one of the first group that have been there first. We are looking to coming back here again very soon.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsfmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2009

To start with, we had been lucky as the management of the hotel upgraded our rooms so we could get 2 rooms on the beach which was a big sign that they want this brand new resort to have good word of mouth. We were staying only one night as we could not get a flight to go back to HCM and our previous hotel La Veranda could not manage to give us an extra night.
Only 20 or so rooms so you really feel isolated from the crowd, just like having your own villa on the beach. Noone can build anything on the beach as the resort takes all the place which is great as you avoid the plastics and dirt from the hotel next door not cleaning his part of the beach.
Decoration is asian chic minimalist, everyone should like it, bed is huge, shower is great, sofa on the veranda, shower on the beach.
Views are great, the beach, the beautiful trees around the pool.
The pool is fabulous (sea water and kids friendly on one part). Materials used for all the decks and rooms are mostly wood.

Cuisine is quite interesting because they keep it quite simple with good ingredients, Chef is Italian. (some top hotels in Vietnam provide Vietnamese cuisine which is not okay ,-I m Vietnamese- and international food that is too complicated or does not fit the hot temperatures here. )

Staff is very very willing to please you (one has to recognize that it s not always the case even in the so called top hotels in Vietnam) and clients will like it.

Of course there are a few negative and not so important points but not worth mentioning because I m sure they will fix it as soon as possible. Should be a successful hotel in the future. Only drawback is that it is expensive indeed but worth the money as no other hotel in Phu Quoc provides such an environment.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustsmileFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2009

Isolation is normally an issue but in this resort you lack for nothing...everything is catered for from the watersports arena on their lovely stretch of beach to having the most amazing thai or vietnamese massage in their beautiful spa rooms.
My husband and I were blown away with the attention to detail that they have from the dining in the restaurant to the thoughtful layout of the rooms. The archetecture was gorgeous, very island balinese bungalow styled, all very private each with their own verandah and outside bath. The salted pool was truly spectacular offering magnificant views overlooking the sea which was perfect for sitting & drinking cocktails as the sun set.
We left relaxed and refreshed and felt that we were leaving a piece of paradise on our departure. Thank you to all the staff there!

  • Liked — the attention to detail of the whole resort, a real pleasure to the eye
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cactus4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
10.7 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#2 of 103 in Phu Quoc Island
435 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 47 in Duong Dong
1,113 reviews
3.9 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#2 of 47 in Duong Dong
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#9 of 103 in Phu Quoc Island
586 reviews
4.8 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#3 of 103 in Phu Quoc Island
1,151 reviews
4.1 mi away
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc

Property: Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
Address: Bai Xep, Ong Lang | Cua Duong, Phu Quoc Island, Phu Quoc Island 920000, Vietnam (Formerly Chenla Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#4 Spa Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled discreetly in a secluded bay surrounded by a tropical rain forest, Chen Sea Resort & Spa invites you to lay down. This exclusive hideaway offers spectacular view on the Gulf of Thailand. Chen Sea Resort & Spa lies perfectly along a private and pristine beach offering privacy and serenity, everything is about peace and heaven. The Architecture of the Resort is inspired by the local environment with the use of natural material that is traditional to Vietnam. Chen Sea Resort & Spa offers 36 unique and spacious Villas. The open plan layout design invites our guests for both indoor and outdoor experience. Traditional oriental simplicity and refinement are the inspiration for the design and furnishings of all the villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chen Sea Resort And Spa
Chen Sea Hotel Phu Quoc Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing