We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of luxury on a still relatively undeveloped island. Outstanding service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
Ranked #6 of 99 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“An oasis of luxury on a still relatively undeveloped island. Outstanding service.”
Reviewed 13 October 2010

I have just returned from a 5 night stay at Chen La and having read all the other reviews here before going, I feel compelled to submit my own.

Location & Transport:
Yes, Chen La is about 9km from the airport, but only about 2km of the road is unsealed. I timed the trip, and it took just over 15 minutes to get from the airport (pretty much in the main town of Duong Dong) and the resort.
To get a taxi into Duong Dong cost roughly $10 USD (probably slightly less) each way, which given there isn't a huge amount to do in Duong Dong anyway we didn't consider to be a problem, we only did it once to go to the night market and the rest of the time we just rented a motorbike for the day (around $15-20 USD arranged via reception).

Resort Facilities and Rooms:
We had room 201, which was right next to the pool and one row back from the beach, but with no bungalow in front. It was simple but lovely, rustic with some quite cool industrial looking fittings. The bed was big and firm and comfortable, we slept beautifully every night. The room was big, and opened onto a large veranda with a jacuzzi/bath set into it. No problems with mosquitoes as each night staff came to spray the room and set up an oil burner that would go all night with a lovely scented mosquito repellent. The bathroom was large, with an outdoor room type shower. The infinity pool was fantastic!!!!!!!!!! Perfect depth, about top of shoulder height at the shallow end and much deeper at the deep end, with a kiddie pool section built in beside the shallower end.
The bar and restaurant area was lovely, open and breezy and relaxed looking straight out over the beach and pool. The food is good and there is a large variety on the menu, you could easily eat there every night (although on night 5 we did start to get a little bored as you would with any place!) There is a veranda area built out over the ocean where they do tai chi and yoga if you're up early enough. There are various bits of furniture to chill out on in front of the beach, day bed, large hammock, sun loungers etc. The spa pavillions looked gorgeous but I never quite made it into one of them - spa treatments looked good, and not bad prices for a resort of this standard. (cheaper than at home definitely!)

Service:
The staff at Chen La were fantastic. A special mention to Gan, Tan and Suong from the restaurant and Phu (I think that was his name) who helped us with our airport dramas.
Everything was easy, fast, efficient and friendly. On our last day there was a massive storm and when they took us to the airport and our flight was cancelled, they helped us at the airline counter and gave us advice on how best to deal with the situation (we had a connecting flight to Sydney to catch!) They came back to pick us up as soon as they knew all the flights for the day were cancelled, took us to the airline office in Duong Dong and then gave us a discounted rate for an extra night and then helped us all over again the following day as well (we finally made it out) - hint: don't go during monsoon season if you want to avoid potential transport delays!

The island in general:
Most of the roads on Phu Quoc are unsealed, and quite an adventure to travel on, be prepared to get covered in red dirt dust or slosh around in the mud, also as a pillion I suffered a very sore bum after a full day going over all those bumps!
The little fishing village and Bai Sao on the other side of the island are definitely worth a visit, there are a couple of water/beach front restaurants at both so make a day of it and have lunch. Duong Dong is quite basic, with a busy market - don't expect to do any fancy shopping - they don't really even have decent souvenir t-shirts to speak of. The pearl farm has some beautiful pearl jewelery at good prices, which make a much nicer souvenir anyway. We were curious about La Veranda, and went for a look and a drink - it looked lovely, more of the old french colonial look and much closer to Duong Dong and near one a couple of other beach front bars from other resorts, so may be better if you want to be that close. We found Chen La to be just perfect though (and the pool is MUCH better) - not too far, but far enough to encourage us to get on a motorbike and go exploring. In the few days we were there, 2 days was plenty for exploring, and the rest were relaxing in the resort. One evening we had dinner at the Night Market, and the rest we dined at the resort.

Hopefully this was helpful!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissMotivated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDMchenla, Manager at Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc, responded to this review, 22 November 2010
Thank you to the author for your review of Chenla Resort & Spa.

I am thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us at Chenla Resort & Spa and I thank you for your kind and thorough review.

In particular, I was very pleased to hear your comments on our people who at Chenla, are our most valuable asset and are crucial to our success. I have ensured that Can, Tan, Suong and Phu are nominated for our internal customer service recognition program which will rocognise their customer service focus. I have also just had the pleasure of sharing your review with them and they are very pleased to hear your comments.

I hope that for future visits to Phu Quoc we will be your choice of hotel and I hope that your return will be soon.

Regards,

Hieu Tong
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    707
    194
    48
    20
    15
See reviews for
197
578
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

We booked a jacuzzi villa and it was huge, very comfortable and calm.
We were lucky to taste new autumn carte designed by new cheff and it was so delicious with very original recipes like: carpaccio beet with warm goat cheese, lamb carré....
Staff is so nice and they tried to learn spanish words. Try a beach massage if weather is ok. Spa is excellent. It is the perfect place to relax. Closest village is 20 minutes taxi ride,
i recomend restaurant Chez Carole with live music everyday.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enlau2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doncaster uk
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

first visit to phu quoc and picked chenla from reviews on trip advisor.very accurate info.
wonderful setting with ocean views and boutique looks.complaints ,breakfast not included in room rate and charged at $38 a couple per day.puts another $270 on a weeks stay.also,a south african chef was boasted,couldnt even cook potatoe wedges.poor food.i think when you visit a foriegn country you want to try local quisine, not western cooks pretending to be something they are not.building work also in progress on pool villas with noise from 7 to 7 each day.
all in all a very enjoyable stay,we hired motorbike and toured island,visited beaches and other hotels .

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkynperky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDMchenla, Manager at Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc, responded to this review, 23 November 2010
Thank you to the author for taking the time to review Chenla Resort & Spa.

Whilst pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us , I am disappointed to hear about the quality of the dishes. I have passed this information over to our Executive Chef who will look into what went wrong so that we can stop this problem from re-occurring.

Please do accept my sincere apologies for this occurring and please do rest assured that we will look into your issues to have them rectified.

Regards,

Hieu Tong
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We stayed at Chen la in december 2009 and had a fanstastic stay. If you are looking for something relaxed and quiet this is the place for you! The Location is a few kilometers outside (not walkable) the town but we had no problem getting a cab. During our 10 night stay we visited the town 3 times which was enough for us. The rooms are spacious and clean and nicely decorated. Probably the nicest room we have stayed in. You have a fanstastic view of the ocean from your room and veranda. The beach is also quiet and clean..

The restaurant is good but not fantastic and off course more pricy than the town. The service was good with friendly staff. The Spa area is also to recommend!!

Overall a very nice stay at this fantastic resort. We can highly recommend it for all of you seraching for a quiet and romantic resort.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karlemil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

This is a superb resort with outstanding rooms. The bedroom is large with a lovely bed and the bathroom to die for. The facilities are fantastic with double hammocks, a suspended outdoor bed and an infinity pool. The one drawback is that it is quite remote so to get out you will require transport but you may not want to leave! The quality of the food is excellent and as is the service. If I travel to Vietnam again then it would be on my list of a place to stay. It's a must!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luckycow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We decided to share our 1 week in Phu Quoc between Mango Bay and Chen La. After the wonderful 4 days at Mango Bay (other review to see) i was expected huge level from chen la as we paid nearly 3 times more....what a disappointment!!!
Let's make a list:
- Your room is next to another with connected door...great privacy!!!
- The food at the restaurant is very very expensive and worth an average family restaurant in saigon but nnothing more...and u are far from town so cant walk out for dinner. Even calling a taxi happened to be complicated...
- The service is terrible and so unfriendly. We felt like we were disturbing them any time we were asking something.

I dont know who is managing this place but there is a lot to do improve and be at the level they claim they are. We were very disappointed and sad we left the gorgeous Mango Bay for there.

Will never be back

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank piertrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Bad surprise when we arrived at the Chenla Resort.
We booked a pricey jacuzzi villa , they are works in progress behind. No sea view.
Due to rainy season, watersports center closed ; diving in the South part of the island only. No activity for teenagers, no snooker, no ping pong, sea bathing dangerous, no walking/hiking along the beach (small beach blocked by rocks at each end)...
Breakfast and dinner quite good ; service ok but due to remote location, there is not much to do. Relaxing in the bedroom is difficult with works going on.
No good place for honeymooners or stay with teenagers.
You'll have to book expensive tours/taxis to take you to the southern part of the island where you can bath, snorkel..etc or to the local city Duong Dong.
No good value for money; very disappointing. For the same price go to La Veranda, with a better location and european standard rooms.
Do not go there between May and September; probably much better in dry season but no sure you can really swim and use the hotel beach.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spicytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
10.7 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#2 of 99 in Phu Quoc Island
426 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 47 in Duong Dong
1,103 reviews
3.9 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#2 of 47 in Duong Dong
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Vinpearl Phu Quoc Resort
Vinpearl Phu Quoc Resort
#13 of 99 in Phu Quoc Island
545 reviews
6.8 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#9 of 99 in Phu Quoc Island
579 reviews
4.8 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#3 of 99 in Phu Quoc Island
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc

Property: Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
Address: Bai Xep, Ong Lang | Cua Duong, Phu Quoc Island, Phu Quoc Island 920000, Vietnam (Formerly Chenla Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#5 Spa Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled discreetly in a secluded bay surrounded by a tropical rain forest, Chen Sea Resort & Spa invites you to lay down. This exclusive hideaway offers spectacular view on the Gulf of Thailand. Chen Sea Resort & Spa lies perfectly along a private and pristine beach offering privacy and serenity, everything is about peace and heaven. The Architecture of the Resort is inspired by the local environment with the use of natural material that is traditional to Vietnam. Chen Sea Resort & Spa offers 36 unique and spacious Villas. The open plan layout design invites our guests for both indoor and outdoor experience. Traditional oriental simplicity and refinement are the inspiration for the design and furnishings of all the villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Fastbooking, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chen Sea Resort And Spa
Chen Sea Hotel Phu Quoc Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing