We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautifull modern resort on beautifull authentic island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
Ranked #6 of 108 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2011

well developped small and very quiet resort
the jacuzzi rooms especially are fantastic
food is good but not special
service is good but not professional.They still have to learn the job especially in the restaurant
beach is very nice and quiet
swimming pool ok

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christophe6393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDMchenla, Manager at Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2011

Thank you to the author for your review. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our location however am disappointed that we failed to exceed your expectations in regards to food & beverage and our people.

I will pass your comments regarding our food and beverage onto the Food and Beverage Manager so that we can look to improve this area.
I
n regards to our people, I assure you that our team aims to exceed our guests expectations through personalising the service to each guests needs. I will certainly share your comments with the team to ensure we improve the level of service we offer.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review the hotel and if I can please ask you to indulge us on this occasion.

Regards,
Minh Hieu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,016)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

579 - 585 of 1,016 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2011

We arrived at Chenla after a very hectic tour of Vietnam and it was a very welcome relief to be away from the noise and pollution on the mainland. Our accommodation was in what is called a 'pool villa' which was a two bedroomed villa with its own pool. Although the villa is supposed to be for 4 people, there were only two sun beds provided, and the very large sitting room only had a sofa big enough for 3 people. The bedrooms, which are very spacious has no dressing table so all my personal items had to be kept on the floor. There is only a curtained off area for a wardrobe. The walk-in wetroom, which is large and airy lacks adequate space for hanging wet towels. The person who designed this hotel forgot that mirrors are required in bathrooms, specially if men are to shave without inflicting serious cuts! The plumbing is a bit dicey too, as there is a danger of getting scorched by hot water as the cold water runs out unexpectedly.
On a positive note, we very much enjoyed the vast choice of fresh fruits and juices, and delicious food, both local and European dishes being on offer. The staff are very helpful, cheerful and courteous.
We loved the beach - lovely soft sand and calm waters to swim in.
Regardless of the minor irritations noted above, we enjoyed our stay and would certainly go there again if an opportunity arose.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank footlooseWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

We stayed at Chenla in January. After having read the latest comments prior to our departure we were not 100% sure that it was the right place to go to.
On our arrival our room was already ready to move in. It also happened to us that there were still dirty dishes on our terrace on arrival. The plate of the welcome fruits was moved in the evening down on the stairs and took about a day that it was finally taken. We booked a beachfront bungalow - really nice. Were lucky had great neighbours the first days - hardly noticed them. The last days there was a company there having an incentive - you were able to hear lots of noise through the doors.
The bath tub on the terrace is really nice. Be aware of the fact that it takes approx 1,5hours that it is filled - have way through no warm water is coming anymore. It also happened to us that the waterpressure is really low.
Be careful if you dare to take beachtowels on an outside trip - it might happen that the staff treats you like a thief.
Food at Chenla is a really MINUS. No variety at all at breakfast. Warm dishes are cold, watered juices and expect the coffee to arrive in half an hours time. Danishes are greasy.
At the international buffet don´t make the mistake and book it. There is no single Vietnamese dish. Lots of pseudo Italian ones. Once again cold food and warm beers. Many lacks in the food and beverage departement including service. Far too overpriced.
If you want to talk to a manager good luck to find one. There is no guidance and no one responsible for anything.
A taxi into town costs between 110 000 - 135000 Dong - taxis are metered. Very recommendable to do it.
Spa was good and the spa staff was well trained.
We certainly do know where we won´t stay the next time.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saeb27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDMchenla, Manager at Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2011

Thank you to the author for your review of Chenla Resort & Spa.

We welcome all feedback on the hotel both positive and negative and I am sorry to read that we have not exceeded your expectations on this occasion.

I certainly agree with you that location alone is not enough to make a great hotel and I assure you we focus a lot of time into our training programs to ensure we deliver service to our standards. I have shared your review with the relevant department heads so that your review can be investigated and improvements made to ensure we don't have guests receiving similar experiences.

I sincerely apologize that we have not delivered and I kindly ask the author to indulge us on this occasion.

Regards,
Minh Hieu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

We spent close to a week here. Excellent beachside location. Soft sand with very gentle waves. The kids had a lovely time on the beach and it felt safe.

The infinity edged pool was nice. But it would have been nicer if it was tiled. The cement plaster lining went well with the minimalisic look of the resort, but it made the pool look a tad less inviting. Nonetheless, it was good fun. They offered a few inflatable toys for the kids, which they really liked.

With a limited number of rooms for the size of the property, it did not feel crowded at all. There was never any problem with getting a place to lounge by the pool or the beach as is sometimes the case with the larger chains.

Staff was very attentive and warm.

We stayed in a pool villa. It had two bedrooms and a lounge area downstairs. Don't book this room for the private pool - it's rather small and you will prefer the main pool anyhow. However, for a family the two room combo is very useful. Especially if you are with small kids having the extra space for them to mess around is good. The rooms follow the minimalisic theme - cement floors, bare walls etc. Overall a nice feel but some things we dint like, but these are really down to personal preferences: a) the beds were too soft b) the living area furniture was not sufficient and not comfortable c) only one tv for the two bedrooms d) while having a completely open bathroom (fully integrated into the master bedroom) is romantic at first, with insufficient ventilation and after a day or two it can become rather trying.

There is only one restaurant. The resort is also out of the way so you cant really head out with kids to eat elsewhere. While it offers a wide selection, having only one dining option does become a limitation especially if you are staying for a few days. The vegetarian options are very limited. We also did fall sick while we were there.

The spa was acceptable and reasonably priced.

So overall, I would say that this is a nice property, run like a boutique which has its charms but things can be rough around the edges without the institutionalized professional management of larger chains. The only discernible shortcoming of this place is the food.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhatakte-raho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2011

This is the second time I've stayed here and it was just as good the second time.

Lovely location, no noise, perfect beach, huge pool, lovely airy rooms, nice restaurant and good staff, free wi-fi. This is really the place to come for perfect relaxation without noise, hassle or interruption, as opposed to action and excitement. Despite the adverts around the hotel, there's little in the way of other activities and it's a USD 7-10 taxi ride to get anywhere in the island (allow 15 mins + to call a taxi).

Only difference this time was stayed on a beachfront villa. Worth the extra as you can lounge all day on the verandah and walk that 10m to the water across the grass when the mood takes you.

Coming during the Tet (Lunar New Year) guess should have expected it, sure the rates were a lot higher. But there was a bit too much going on. The restaurant was blocked for several nights, a take it or leave it overpriced buffet twice. It was even impossible to get a table at times.

On the last day, in a hurry to kick us out, they told us that our bags would be picked up early at 11.30 and we must present ourselves at check-in to settle the bill at 12 prompt. This, from a place that made me may 50% upfront, then the entire bill on check-in, for which they overcharged. Left a bit of a sour taste, but anyway, the place itself is still a great but for this closing 'gesture'

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mupple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Chen-La is breathtaking. The honeymoon package we secured included a beachfront villa (10m from sand & waves), one complimentary massage each, a lemongrass bath, and a private candlelit dinner on the sand.

The staff at Chen-La are phenomenal. We had just been in the Mekong Delta and my wife's leg was covered in itchy mosquito bites. We didn't have any ointment on us, but the F&B Manager took one look, smiled and sourced a huge chunk of fresh aloe vera plant from his personal stash. This was day 1.

We had travelled throughout Vietnam for 3 weeks and really enjoyed our daily dose of 'ca phe sua da' or traditional Vietnamese iced coffee. We hadn't bought any Vietnamese coffee yet and were shortly leaving the country. When we mentioned this in passing to one of the staff during breakfast on our final morning, she immediately sourced a bag of ground Vietnamese coffee and offered it as a farewell gift. This is beyond exceptional service. And always a smile on everyone working there, from grounds-keepers to pool and restaurant staff.

Our room was wonderful with a great big soft bed. I've read a couple other reviews about poor water pressure. I can't imagine what they're talking about. While I can only speak for our room - and make sure you try for a beach front room in the 'first row' of rooms, don't worry about not having a private jacuzzi as you have an ocean! - we were thrilled at the walk-in robe, the ceiling fan & AC combination, the flat screen tv and the Turn Down service. This is no ordinary turn down service. They leave a quaint traditional Vietnamese fable, chocolates, and they light a nice oil burner. I believe they also meticulously spray for bugs as well but you don't notice a thing. That's the point.

For Vietnam, Chen-La is not cheap. But we truly felt we got value for money as the experience blew us away.

Minor downsides:
Small things cost extra and probably shouldn't. Things like hiring a kayak or a tennis court for an hour.
2pm check in... which is slightly frustrating if you've taken an early ferry or flight over. Try not to.
The restaurant & bar are relatively pricey so if you're staying a while, make sure you pop in to the fantastic fresh seafood night markets in town.

To Management: It would make your guests VERY happy if you included free daily shuttle services to the town (perhaps once in the morning and once at night, even). The cab is $7usd each way, which gets a tad annoying. Thank you for a WONDERFUL experience.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DTinNam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDMchenla, Manager at Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2011

Firstly, congratulations on your Honeymoon! I am thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us at Chenla Resort & Spa and I thank you for your kind and thorough review.

In particular, I was very pleased to hear your comments on our people who at Chenla, are our most valuable asset and are crucial to our success. I have also just had the pleasure of sharing your review with management team and they are very pleased to hear your comments. Certainly your suggestions will be highly considered on our products and service enhancement program.

I hope that for future visits to Phu Quoc we will be your choice of hotel and I hope that your return will be soon.

Regards,
Minh Hieu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Stayed 2 nights in chenla. Located around 10 km from the airport, the resort is very isolated, nothing around. I rented a motorbike to be independent and able to move around easily.
Upon arrival, I was told by unfriendly staff at the reception that the room would not be ready before 2pm. No welcome drink, no information, just nothing except: come back in 2 hours.
Had time to wonder around and get some food in the restaurant. Very nice location overlooking the sea, food not very special, no fresh fish... Everything frozen, what a pity when you are 10 meters from the sea.
Got the room finally, jacuzzi included with cold water so never used it!
The beach is really nice and smal, perfect.
Some of the staff is very friendly and helpful but you really feel that there is no manager permanently living here. The Italian boss is said to come every other month.
I would never stay there again. Upon leaving the hotel, no one even said bye!!! I never experienced this in Vietnam...

Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Mike_hcmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
10.7 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#2 of 108 in Phu Quoc Island
452 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 48 in Duong Dong
1,126 reviews
3.9 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#2 of 48 in Duong Dong
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#3 of 108 in Phu Quoc Island
1,183 reviews
4.1 mi away
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection
4.8 mi away
Famiana Resort & Spa
Famiana Resort & Spa
#12 of 108 in Phu Quoc Island
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc

Address: Bai Xep, Ong Lang | Cua Duong, Phu Quoc Island, Phu Quoc Island 920000, Vietnam (Formerly Chenla Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#4 Luxury Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#5 Spa Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range: £117 - £397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled discreetly in a secluded bay surrounded by a tropical rain forest, Chen Sea Resort & Spa invites you to lay down. This exclusive hideaway offers spectacular view on the Gulf of Thailand. Chen Sea Resort & Spa lies perfectly along a private and pristine beach offering privacy and serenity, everything is about peace and heaven. The Architecture of the Resort is inspired by the local environment with the use of natural material that is traditional to Vietnam. Chen Sea Resort & Spa offers 36 unique and spacious Villas. The open plan layout design invites our guests for both indoor and outdoor experience. Traditional oriental simplicity and refinement are the inspiration for the design and furnishings of all the villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chen Sea Resort And Spa
Chen Sea Hotel Phu Quoc Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing