We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Freedomland!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort
Ranked #21 of 112 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2012

My friend and I stayed at Freedomland for 4 nights in early April 2012.

The great: Rita and Peter; friendly, competent staff; wonderfully planned layout with bungalows surrounding the central office and kitchen; delicious options for breakfast and lunch; over the top wonderful dinners that you will want to photograph and savor; and opportunities to meet and get to know the other travelers.

The totally fine: the road to Freedomland can get muddy (it rained each night when we were there, which was wonderfully sleep inducing), but it is not bad and probably keeps some travelers away, which is fine by me; while not right on the beach, it is not far away (10 to 15 min walk) and I found it good to walk off a bit of the good and plentiful food I had been eating; the bungalows are not sealed off from the outside -- so we did share the room with a very large snail, fronts, geckos, a bat, biting ants (not bad -- just startling), and 1,000s of mosquitoes. Be sure to bring your bug spray if you want to avoid a lot of bites. Although the process of putting deet on top of suntan lotion and mixed into my perspiration became a bit tedious, I can appreciate that they do not spray their grounds with noxious chemicals.

Overall, our experience was great.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2012

Freedomland is an incredibly special place - we absolutely loved staying here. First though, we were apprehensive about our stay because we were worried it was a bit hippy-like with the communal dinners etc. If you're having similar thoughts don't worry, it's not like that at all. It is very sociable though, everyone eating dinner round a long table under fairylights. We met some great people.

The food is out of this world. Peter is worthy of a michelin star in our opinion - we eat out regularly in London and yet this guy topped most places! It's about 15 USD for dinner, but that's 5 courses plus a glass of Dalat wine. Incredible value.

Peter and Rita are great hosts. Peter organised us motorbike tours and gave us his advice on where to go around the island. Even when we moved on to another hotel (booked in advance, otherwise we wouldn't have left!) Peter helped us with taxis and invited us back to eat with them.

Only minus point is the electricity goes off ocasionally and in Blue bungalow the lighting was quite dim in the evening so once the sun had set it was quite hard to put make up on etc. Also if you don't like bugs it probably isnt the place for you as the bungalows are quite open. We had no major horror stories though, and we didn't see a single spider whilst we were there! The worst thing was a wasp or two and some mosquitos. We shared our bathroom with a rather large lizard but it was quite fun. Make sure you bring insect repellant.

The beach is a 15 minute walk away. You can go and watch the sun set over a cocktail at Bo Resort.

Van Hi's bar and cocktails are great too, there's one on special every evening.

Freedomland made our trip to Vietnam and if we ever get to come back we wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We are a family of 4 who recently stayed in the Sunset bungalow for 4 nights, this was one of the highlights of our two week trip through Cambodia and Vietnam. Peter made us so welcome from the outset and by the end of our stay it felt like we were leaving good friends behind. The bungalows are clean if a little basic, but this is what you expect as they do not class themselves as a hotel, however the food and company of other travellers far exceeds anything we have experienced and can put top London restaurants to shame. We enjoyed course after course of the most amazing cuisine and had a barbecue on our last night which was a feast to behold. Thanks to Peter, Rita and his wonderful team of staff - we will be back!

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Sarahandthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Quite frankly, it is almost impossible to describe how amazing this place is.
Beautifully set, fancy decorated wooden huts in the middle of the jungle and yet very close to quaint and quiet ong lang beach (if you want to avoid the hassle of long beach)...
Freedomland is just the perfect location to fuel up, especially if you've done the standard tourist trail from north to south. it couldn't be anymore chilled and the amazing staff do their utmost to take care of their guests.
one thing that really needs to be pointed out is the amazing cuisine at freedomland. it is by far the finest of asian-european crossover cuisine I have ever indulged in...all based on inspirations fromt the far-travelled Vietnamese-Portugese owner couple. we had an incredible course menu consisting mainly of the most delightful seafood I had in the whole my stay in Vietnam. BBQ nights, Pizza and cooking class are also regularly on. And since dinner is communal, it's a superb opportunity to meet other travellers and have a beer or two.
In short: if pure relaxtion and remotenness is what you're after, there's no way of getting round staying at freedomland!
and it all comes at incredibly fare rates..almost to good to be true!

and by the way, unlike the odd travel guide suggests, it's not aimed at hippies...;-)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I would wholeheartedly recommend Freedomland to anyone visiting Phu Quoc. The hospitality is amazing.

Peter and Rita genuinely want you to enjoy your stay there and also to enjoy the island. They make you feel really welcome and nothing seems to be too much trouble. As all the other reviews have mentioned the hospitality and warmth is only surpassed by the food - which is amazing.

I enjoyed sociable evenings spent eating Peter's fantastic cooking and chatting with the other guests. There was a mix of people younger, older, couples, families but everyone was very friendly and nice. All in all a great place with a lovely atmosphere, cosy and friendly.

On the practical side of things, yes the the rooms are basic as you would expect for traditional bungalow rooms but the two different rooms that i stayed in were both very well kept, really clean and with good mosquito nets and fans.

The location isn't on the beach but is a secluded little spot and it's a pleasant walk over to the beach at Bo Resort, or the adjacent empty beach or there's Mango Bay which is also not too far. Tt's also well located for exploring off to the North to the deserted Dai beach which is great too.

Can't recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evonnem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Spent 3 nights here in the coconut bungalow based on all the positive TA posts and have to say was not diappointed with either the laid back atmosphere, rustic accommodation style or the wonderful communal meals which were put on each night. Fastastic hosts and would have liked to have spent more time relaxing. As mentioned elsewhere - cold showers only but it was pretty hot during the day and I'd recommend a bit of mosquito repellent at night just to be sure. Hope to go back some day. A highlight of my time in Vietnam.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry2004_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

hey all, hey rita & peter & team!!!

we stayed at the end of our vietnam-trip four nights at this wonderful place (way to short by the way!)
For us there are no words to describe this "hotel" ... you have to feel it - you have to be there! If you going to Phu Quoc don't miss this place!
For sure it is not for everybody because of the "cold" shower and because of the walk to the beach, but for us it was a little paradise or better: A HOME FAR AWAY FROM HOME! It was such a cool experience to live so close to the nature. Woke up by several noises of any kind of animals was also quiet nice :)
We will come back as soon as we get the chance and will bring friends with us! We recommend freedomland all over where we go :)

Peter: we miss your amazing cooking-sessions and the brilliant atmosphere every night at dinner time!!! Thanks for the pepper-we enjoying cooking with it :) !!

Don't miss the fresh fruits and the cocktails!!!

Thank you Rita & Peter for giving us such an experience!

See you soon!

All the best & lot of love, Christian & Anna from Cologne, Germany

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annalou19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
5.5 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#6 of 112 in Phu Quoc Island
624 reviews
5.3 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#2 of 49 in Duong Dong
628 reviews
9.2 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Ganh Dau
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cottage Village
Cottage Village
#19 of 112 in Phu Quoc Island
122 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort & Spa
Coco Palm Beach Resort & Spa
#12 of 49 in Duong Dong
197 reviews
5.3 mi away
Daisy Village Resort & Spa
Daisy Village Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Duong Dong
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort

Address: Ong Lang, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#17 Spa Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range: £44 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freedomland offers an home style hospitality, where you can relax amongst friends you have just met, swapping stories over dinner after a day of adventure exploring the island or a day of total relaxation on the nearby beach. As each day goes by, you will appreciate we are not a hotel. LOCATION: Located 15 minutes walk to Ong Lang beach, nestled in a jungle-like area in the North West of Phu Quoc island. 20Km from the airport (about 45 min. Drive); 10km from the main town (15 min. Drive) BUNGALOWS: We designed our bungalows in harmony with the surrounding environment. They are opened enough to allow air flow, furnished with fans (no A/C), wooden furniture locally made and mosquito nets. There is no tv plasma, no hot water (method Kneipp ;), no hairdryers, no minibar and no air conditioned in our bungalows. FOOD & DRINK: Exclusively for lucky freedomland guests, family and friends every night we cook a communal dinner when everyone has the opportunity to meet, enjoy the food and the ambiance. Peter's cuisine is a skilful blend of vietnamese and European cuisine. All the guests fell in love with the Peter's cooking, and he likes sharing his love for food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freedomland Phu Quoc Hotel Phu Quoc Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing