We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place with a soul.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort
Ranked #21 of 108 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2014

There are loads of places on this island where you can eat decent food, drink cocktails, have a beachside bungalow with air con, hot shower and be in easy reach of other bars and restaurants.

Peter and Rita have tried to create something a little different. 

Here are my highlights.

1. The evening meal - yes it's communal, meaning you may have to talk to other people....be friendly.....ask questions.......share a bit of your own personal history......not that a bad thing in my book. Food wise it's been said 100 times before but it is really good. I think it's important to state that if you are a true gourmand, who is used to fine dining then we are not quite in the realms of Heston and co., however it is consistently tasty, varied ( BBQ, classic Viet, local Pho Quoc, Hotpot) well presented and many a night I went to bed a little uncomfortable due to my inability to stop eating because it was so good. Most people commented it was the best they had eaten in Vietnam. I agree. The staff work hard to deliver a good level of service, and I would also mention the music - Rita quietly puts together an eclectic playlist every evening, and as someone who recognises the important and subtle part music can play, I was consistently impressed by her choices. In short we had some truly memorable nights.

2. The beach - let me let you into a secret, walking is good for you - especially when you eat the amounts we did every night, so the 10-15min walk was not an issue. 
If you had a choice would you rather a) be on a beach with lots of other people or, b) practically nobody else. Yes of course the answer is "b" - and if the 2 or 3 other couples is too much then walk right up miles of empty beach. Some may struggle to cope with deck chairs rather than a lounger - but again if this is too much for you to cope with then head down to long beach with the masses.

3. Communal areas - now just because the word "communal" has been used twice in this review, does not mean that this is some kind of hippie retreat. It simply means the shared ares, of which there are loads.  Sofas, hammocks, tables, chairs.....enough for everyone to have their own space, and if being within 10 metres of another human being is too much - then the secluded bungalows have porches with your own hammock and sofa. The evening meal is the only time you sit together, the rest of the time most people keep themselves to themselves.

4. Peter and Rita - they continue to work hard for their guests in ways not everyone will appreciate. Their aim is not develop a 5 star resort that is generic and faceless. This world has too many of those already. They are trying to do something exactly the opposite. Here they have created somewhere with a soul and unique character, encouraging people to connect and communicate face to face over great food and drinks, rather than heads down on the iPhone/iPad. If that scares you too much no one will think any less of you. 

5. The bungalows - depends what you are used to. If you've been travelling around staying in $5 places this will feel like The Ritz, if you are used to the high end places, then think of it as getting back to nature. Ours was great, simple with nice touches to give it a slight boutique feel. Each bungalow is different - again, nothing is generic here.

These were our best bits and we had 8 great night there and would definitely return. 

Thank you Peter and Rita.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Jake F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 555 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

What can I say, this place was incredible. It provides such a unique experience, and was unlike anywhere else me and my partner have stayed. We really regret only having 3 nights here. We stayed in a wooden bungalow with a lovely big bed, large outdoor bathroom and lovely porch with a comfy settee and hammock. We were surrounded by our own jungle garden with squirrels and butterflies, and there was a lot of privacy as the bungalows are placed quite far apart from one another. The reception, bar, and restaurant are are placed close together, also with a relaxing and peaceful reading area with lots of books and comfy chairs.

The place is so tranquil and quiet, with a 15 minute walk to the beach along a dirt track with cows and where the local friendly dogs will wait for you and walk you there! The beach is beautiful and clean, pure white sand and there was hardly anyone else there. We also organised a boat trip with Peter which was so much fun, and we got to snorkelling and see more of the island. Peter was an amazing host, so friendly and accomodating. My boyfriend doesn't eat seafood and he made sure that there were plently of other things for him to eat cooking separate meat dishes for him. While I'm on the food oh my god it was amazing. 6-7 courses of heaven every night with something for everyone. It was all freshly cooked that day with Peter and his amazing team of cooks. My partner was a little apprehensive before we went about 'communal meals' but he changed his mind immediately. We met some lovely people from all over the world, and the atmosphere was wonderful sat under fairy lights, listening to music and eating great food with great people. I also want to credit the waiting staff who served our meals because they were very friendly and did a great job.

This may be obvious, but please don't go if you are afraid of bugs, and are used to chain resorts. This is such a unique place with lots of character, and being in a quiet remote place with open air bathrooms there will spiders and weird flying bugs and there is no hot water. But if you can put up with that you really should stay here, it is a really special place.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank emsb_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We travelled all over Vietnam and finished it off in Freedomland, and what a perfect end to our fab holiday! The bungalows are very clean and comfy, and the bathroom which is outside is amazing.

I was curious what the food would be like at dinner, because we had eaten at such lovely restaurants already. However, I was not disappointed, as the food was absolutely delicious!

Peter and Rita were both lovely too, and made us feel very welcome. If I'm ever back in Phu Quoc I will definitely stay at Freedomland.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank char d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We'd been recommended Freedomland by a couple of friends so thought we'd give it a go. At first I was put off from booking as it's not directly on the beach. Don't let this stop you though. The beach is a very pleasant 15 minute walk down dirt tracks through the jungle, and don't worry if you don't know the way, one of the Freedomland dogs will guide you there! Upon arrival we were 'wowed' we literally had the whole beach to ourselves, throughout the day other Freedomland guests arrived but the beach was more or less ours.If you want to buy drinks or food, you can order on the beach and charge to your room. Your lunch is then bought via scooter about half an hour later, and a table and chairs all layed out for you. The lunch was delicious. Much like all the food we ate at Freedomland. I can honestly say that in 3 weeks of travelling around Vietnam the food Peter and his team prepared in the evening was definitely the best we had in Vietnam and possibly some of the tastiest food we've ever eaten. The communal style eating is also a great way of meeting all the other guests at Freedomland. Peter does offer the option of private dining on the terrace of your bungalow but we preffered to sit around the gorgeous fairy light lit long table and chat with other guests from all over the globe. Meals times are a real banquet, the food just keeps coming and coming, you will not ever go hungry.
Rita's bar also offers a fab selection of cocktails to wash the food down with.
This type of stay may not be everyones cup of tea, yes you're in the jungle, yes there's no hot water, yes there's tons of mozzies. But if you're after true unspoilt relaxation than Freedomland is the place for you, If you're after built up rammed beaches with mediocre food then probably head to Long Beach. I'm so glad we found this little gem, I can't rate it enough. Book early to avoid disappointment. We could only get 3 nights :-(

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GemK18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This place was a perfect ending of our 3 wk holiday in Vietnam and Cambodia! Just wish we could stay longer. MUCH LONGER! We were there for 5 days in December (28- Jan 1) with our kids 9 and 12, and stayed in bungalow 15, with two double-beds, which we loved! All is new, clean, crispy white sheets, lovely hammock and sofa on the deck. I thought the cold water would be a problem, but it actually felt refreshing! The outside bathrooms are such great idea! The food, oh la-la, we can only dream now, it was amazing! The beach, 10 mins walk on mostly shaded path, belonged only to us and a few fellow travelers from Freedomland! We loved it, it was clean (apparently it depends of the time of the year), warm tranquil blue water, and we enjoyed having lunch brought by order. Very nice touch! We also had massages a few times, there is a small hut just built up for massage, so cute, and massage was professional and very good! Peter and Rita are wonderful hosts, it was such a pleasure meeting them and chating with them, and I hope Phu Quoc won't change much in a looong time, as we hope to visit Freedomland more frequently. Well done, and many thanks!

Room Tip: I think all bungalows are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jel_houston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed in this remote hideaway for 4 nights, and the only thing I regret is that I didn't stay there for longer: Friendly and relaxing atmosphere, authentic designs, amazing foods beyond comparison & lovely people from all over the world. A rare and original place. Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oliver K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My Wife and Me had been there from 31st of December to 5th of January.
We prefer to summarize our Experience as follows:
If you don't like a unique experience;
If you don’t like meeting interesting and special people;
If you simply don’t appreciate eating and drinking with precious “gusto”;
If you don’t love animals;
If you would prefer the typical resort instead of the flavor of the daily discovery...

...Don’t go to Freedomland!

For everything else there's M@$t3rc@rd!

Paola and Daniele

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanielePascale_922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
9.2 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#2 of 108 in Phu Quoc Island
450 reviews
5.5 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#7 of 108 in Phu Quoc Island
602 reviews
5.3 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#2 of 48 in Duong Dong
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cottage Village
Cottage Village
#19 of 108 in Phu Quoc Island
117 reviews
6.2 mi away
Paris Beach Phu Quoc
Paris Beach Phu Quoc
#9 of 15 in Duong To
535 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
#6 of 108 in Phu Quoc Island
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort

Address: Ong Lang, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#16 Spa Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range: £30 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freedomland offers an home style hospitality, where you can relax amongst friends you have just met, swapping stories over dinner after a day of adventure exploring the island or a day of total relaxation on the nearby beach. As each day goes by, you will appreciate we are not a hotel. LOCATION: Located 15 minutes walk to Ong Lang beach, nestled in a jungle-like area in the North West of Phu Quoc island. 20Km from the airport (about 45 min. Drive); 10km from the main town (15 min. Drive) BUNGALOWS: We designed our bungalows in harmony with the surrounding environment. They are opened enough to allow air flow, furnished with fans (no A/C), wooden furniture locally made and mosquito nets. There is no tv plasma, no hot water (method Kneipp ;), no hairdryers, no minibar and no air conditioned in our bungalows. FOOD & DRINK: Exclusively for lucky freedomland guests, family and friends every night we cook a communal dinner when everyone has the opportunity to meet, enjoy the food and the ambiance. Peter's cuisine is a skilful blend of vietnamese and European cuisine. All the guests fell in love with the Peter's cooking, and he likes sharing his love for food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freedomland Phu Quoc Hotel Phu Quoc Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing