We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ahhhhh... Mazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort
Ranked #20 of 108 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I want to lie and keep this hideaway hidden. That would also mean not giving the credit to the owners that they greatly, greatly deserve. This is an out-of-the-way, getaway from it all. There is such great tone of peace and relaxation here. Granted it is not for everyone (thank goodness!). There are rustic bungalows with comfortable beds, fans, and mosquito netting. A porch for lounging, hammocking, maybe a sofa. The rough paths wind through the beautiful trees. Outdoor baths with the birds and sunlight coming down. A treasured communal area with wifi, drinks, and food. Happy staff, eager to help. Amazing, amazing food and service. Short walk to a very quiet beach. There are so, so many reason the would need more places like this. If only we could have stayed longer. I could live here. Really. Freedomland is many things. Quiet. Peaceful. Relaxing. Charming. Unique. Soulful. Different. Beautiful. Rare. Special. Communal. Natural. Full of character. (read Jake F's review) Thanks Peter and Rita. You two are gems.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sternfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 555 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

My husband and I visited Freedomland, a little nervous about what we'd find, but we were beyond satisfied. You can have all the amenities, the best location, and the best food (which they have), but none of it will matter compared to the energy and atmosphere at Freedomland. We immediately felt welcomed, seen, and heard. Peter cooked up some awesome food and Rita made sure we had everything we needed. Our biggest mistake was only staying for three nights. We had previously booked the other half of our trip somewhere else and couldn't get out of the reservation. Don't waste your time with anywhere else, just stay at Freedomland.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We arrived at Freedomland Christmas Eve. Having read all of the reviews on Trip Advisor before our trip this hotel had high expectations for us. Even with the bar being set so high Freedomland soared above it.......we are foodies and have to say that we ate the best food of our lives at Freedomland that was presented with such thought and care by Peter the owner.
We had taken the last room at the resort and it had two beds, adequate storage, great outdoor bathroom and really nice balcony area with a sofa for relaxing. I could live in this space forever.

The common areas were relaxing and rustic with great staff to help with drinks, snacks, laundry or any questions.

The beach is an10 min walk where you will find a few chairs with shade and a gentleman to provide drinks should you need them. The water was clean during our visit and the beach great for walking and exploring.

At lunchtime we would walk to Sakura to eat just 10 min walk from the hotel or beach, then siesta time on our great balcony.

The evening meals at Freedomland at the long table where you can meet people from all over the world was always the highlight of our day. I still miss that and will return one day.

Thank you Peter and Rita for your hospitality......Mark has made many great dishes with your Phu Quoc pepper. We hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaymars1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

There are loads of places on this island where you can eat decent food, drink cocktails, have a beachside bungalow with air con, hot shower and be in easy reach of other bars and restaurants.

Peter and Rita have tried to create something a little different. 

Here are my highlights.

1. The evening meal - yes it's communal, meaning you may have to talk to other people....be friendly.....ask questions.......share a bit of your own personal history......not that a bad thing in my book. Food wise it's been said 100 times before but it is really good. I think it's important to state that if you are a true gourmand, who is used to fine dining then we are not quite in the realms of Heston and co., however it is consistently tasty, varied ( BBQ, classic Viet, local Pho Quoc, Hotpot) well presented and many a night I went to bed a little uncomfortable due to my inability to stop eating because it was so good. Most people commented it was the best they had eaten in Vietnam. I agree. The staff work hard to deliver a good level of service, and I would also mention the music - Rita quietly puts together an eclectic playlist every evening, and as someone who recognises the important and subtle part music can play, I was consistently impressed by her choices. In short we had some truly memorable nights.

2. The beach - let me let you into a secret, walking is good for you - especially when you eat the amounts we did every night, so the 10-15min walk was not an issue. 
If you had a choice would you rather a) be on a beach with lots of other people or, b) practically nobody else. Yes of course the answer is "b" - and if the 2 or 3 other couples is too much then walk right up miles of empty beach. Some may struggle to cope with deck chairs rather than a lounger - but again if this is too much for you to cope with then head down to long beach with the masses.

3. Communal areas - now just because the word "communal" has been used twice in this review, does not mean that this is some kind of hippie retreat. It simply means the shared ares, of which there are loads.  Sofas, hammocks, tables, chairs.....enough for everyone to have their own space, and if being within 10 metres of another human being is too much - then the secluded bungalows have porches with your own hammock and sofa. The evening meal is the only time you sit together, the rest of the time most people keep themselves to themselves.

4. Peter and Rita - they continue to work hard for their guests in ways not everyone will appreciate. Their aim is not develop a 5 star resort that is generic and faceless. This world has too many of those already. They are trying to do something exactly the opposite. Here they have created somewhere with a soul and unique character, encouraging people to connect and communicate face to face over great food and drinks, rather than heads down on the iPhone/iPad. If that scares you too much no one will think any less of you. 

5. The bungalows - depends what you are used to. If you've been travelling around staying in $5 places this will feel like The Ritz, if you are used to the high end places, then think of it as getting back to nature. Ours was great, simple with nice touches to give it a slight boutique feel. Each bungalow is different - again, nothing is generic here.

These were our best bits and we had 8 great night there and would definitely return. 

Thank you Peter and Rita.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Jake F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

What can I say, this place was incredible. It provides such a unique experience, and was unlike anywhere else me and my partner have stayed. We really regret only having 3 nights here. We stayed in a wooden bungalow with a lovely big bed, large outdoor bathroom and lovely porch with a comfy settee and hammock. We were surrounded by our own jungle garden with squirrels and butterflies, and there was a lot of privacy as the bungalows are placed quite far apart from one another. The reception, bar, and restaurant are are placed close together, also with a relaxing and peaceful reading area with lots of books and comfy chairs.

The place is so tranquil and quiet, with a 15 minute walk to the beach along a dirt track with cows and where the local friendly dogs will wait for you and walk you there! The beach is beautiful and clean, pure white sand and there was hardly anyone else there. We also organised a boat trip with Peter which was so much fun, and we got to snorkelling and see more of the island. Peter was an amazing host, so friendly and accomodating. My boyfriend doesn't eat seafood and he made sure that there were plently of other things for him to eat cooking separate meat dishes for him. While I'm on the food oh my god it was amazing. 6-7 courses of heaven every night with something for everyone. It was all freshly cooked that day with Peter and his amazing team of cooks. My partner was a little apprehensive before we went about 'communal meals' but he changed his mind immediately. We met some lovely people from all over the world, and the atmosphere was wonderful sat under fairy lights, listening to music and eating great food with great people. I also want to credit the waiting staff who served our meals because they were very friendly and did a great job.

This may be obvious, but please don't go if you are afraid of bugs, and are used to chain resorts. This is such a unique place with lots of character, and being in a quiet remote place with open air bathrooms there will spiders and weird flying bugs and there is no hot water. But if you can put up with that you really should stay here, it is a really special place.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank emsb_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We travelled all over Vietnam and finished it off in Freedomland, and what a perfect end to our fab holiday! The bungalows are very clean and comfy, and the bathroom which is outside is amazing.

I was curious what the food would be like at dinner, because we had eaten at such lovely restaurants already. However, I was not disappointed, as the food was absolutely delicious!

Peter and Rita were both lovely too, and made us feel very welcome. If I'm ever back in Phu Quoc I will definitely stay at Freedomland.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank char d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We'd been recommended Freedomland by a couple of friends so thought we'd give it a go. At first I was put off from booking as it's not directly on the beach. Don't let this stop you though. The beach is a very pleasant 15 minute walk down dirt tracks through the jungle, and don't worry if you don't know the way, one of the Freedomland dogs will guide you there! Upon arrival we were 'wowed' we literally had the whole beach to ourselves, throughout the day other Freedomland guests arrived but the beach was more or less ours.If you want to buy drinks or food, you can order on the beach and charge to your room. Your lunch is then bought via scooter about half an hour later, and a table and chairs all layed out for you. The lunch was delicious. Much like all the food we ate at Freedomland. I can honestly say that in 3 weeks of travelling around Vietnam the food Peter and his team prepared in the evening was definitely the best we had in Vietnam and possibly some of the tastiest food we've ever eaten. The communal style eating is also a great way of meeting all the other guests at Freedomland. Peter does offer the option of private dining on the terrace of your bungalow but we preffered to sit around the gorgeous fairy light lit long table and chat with other guests from all over the globe. Meals times are a real banquet, the food just keeps coming and coming, you will not ever go hungry.
Rita's bar also offers a fab selection of cocktails to wash the food down with.
This type of stay may not be everyones cup of tea, yes you're in the jungle, yes there's no hot water, yes there's tons of mozzies. But if you're after true unspoilt relaxation than Freedomland is the place for you, If you're after built up rammed beaches with mediocre food then probably head to Long Beach. I'm so glad we found this little gem, I can't rate it enough. Book early to avoid disappointment. We could only get 3 nights :-(

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GemK18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
9.2 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#2 of 108 in Phu Quoc Island
452 reviews
5.5 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#8 of 108 in Phu Quoc Island
606 reviews
5.3 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#2 of 48 in Duong Dong
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cottage Village
Cottage Village
#19 of 108 in Phu Quoc Island
117 reviews
6.2 mi away
Paris Beach Phu Quoc
Paris Beach Phu Quoc
#9 of 15 in Duong To
535 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
#6 of 108 in Phu Quoc Island
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort

Address: Ong Lang, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#15 Spa Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range: £34 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freedomland offers an home style hospitality, where you can relax amongst friends you have just met, swapping stories over dinner after a day of adventure exploring the island or a day of total relaxation on the nearby beach. As each day goes by, you will appreciate we are not a hotel. LOCATION: Located 15 minutes walk to Ong Lang beach, nestled in a jungle-like area in the North West of Phu Quoc island. 20Km from the airport (about 45 min. Drive); 10km from the main town (15 min. Drive) BUNGALOWS: We designed our bungalows in harmony with the surrounding environment. They are opened enough to allow air flow, furnished with fans (no A/C), wooden furniture locally made and mosquito nets. There is no tv plasma, no hot water (method Kneipp ;), no hairdryers, no minibar and no air conditioned in our bungalows. FOOD & DRINK: Exclusively for lucky freedomland guests, family and friends every night we cook a communal dinner when everyone has the opportunity to meet, enjoy the food and the ambiance. Peter's cuisine is a skilful blend of vietnamese and European cuisine. All the guests fell in love with the Peter's cooking, and he likes sharing his love for food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freedomland Phu Quoc Hotel Phu Quoc Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing