We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine place with a good seafood BBQ each night on a great location”
Review of Nhat Lan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nhat Lan
The Hague
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fine place with a good seafood BBQ each night on a great location”
Reviewed 25 December 2011

I'm staying here for a week. The bungalows are simple but nice and look charming with the thatched roofs.

Staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are very clean but won't get cleaned while you stay. But I didn't really mind sweeping the floor daily a bit to keep the sand out.

The sunny beachside terrace is a great spot and free wifi is available all over the place. Also in the bungalows.

In general it is slightly overpriced but on the other hand: I would ask the same $30 for this bungalow during Christmas time. After February prices decrease to $20

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Backpackdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    39
    28
    12
    12
See reviews for
11
39
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay,B.C.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

We booked a beach front room and when we arrived,all they had was a bungalow three rows behind the restaurant for $40 per night and wanted another $5 to use the AC.The people beside were only paying $15.The bungalow had ants crawling on the floor and all over the wall in the bathroom.We realize that this is a tropical island but this was a little much for the price.After a lenghty ordeal, we switched to a room in the main building that was better,but still over priced.The staff only seem to speak and understand English when it's convient for them.We would never stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clayton1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Nhat Lan offers a quiet spot for some beach relaxation and plenty of eating. If you're looking for a budget option, this is your place. Access is down a dirt road with small shops, restaurants and internet cafes and it's a ten minute drive from the town. Basic bungalows line a path through lush gardens full of butterflies and lizards, leading straight to the beach.

For $20 a night we got a clean room with a warm water shower, a fan and a fridge. The mosquito net was welcome, as there's plenty of insects in the evening, but we didn't see a single cockroach. There were a couple of hammocks on the veranda outside to relax in when the sun got too hot, and it was a hop and a skip to the beach.

The restaurant served great food - we managed to eat fried spring rolls with shrimps every day - and very reasonably priced. Beach barbeques in the evening were very popular, served on shoreline tables with oil lamps, for a touch of romance. Mojito cocktails for 50,000 dong (currently about $2.50) compared with 125,000 dong in other beach restaurants, Beer Saigon for 15,000 and gin and tonic for 40,000. The staff were friendly and funny, if occasionally forgetful. Probably a good idea to keep track of what you ordered if running a tab - once there were too many drinks on the bill, but several times they'd missed off things we'd had.

The beach was cleaned every morning, but there was some competition for the sunbeds and deckchairs. A few more would be an improvement. Pleasant massage ladies offered their services politely and without hassle at set prices - my sunset massage was a highlight of the trip. For the more active, you can book snorkelling tours, boat trips and fishing trips or hire a motorbike to explore the island.

Will definitely return here - we were made to feel very welcome and I want some more of those spring rolls!

Room Tip: If you're on a budget, bungalows further away from the beach are cheaper (and only a few metres...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderlustAbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

They have a few basic but nice bungalows with ensuite bathroom and fan for 20$ directly at the beach. There were also bungalows for 15$ just a few meters off the beach. The surroundings were beautiful and they had an awesome restaurant with fast and helpful staff(not very common in Vietnam :)) You shoul definitely get a BBQ fish. We had a few things broken in our bungalow but they immediately fixed it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monticarlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

This is a place for thieves to congregate. Their Cottages are poor, their land-use is out-of-zoning and their admin procedure includes picking guests locks to take iPhones and then threatening them when they want to call police.
When our friends wanted to check out after a theft, the hotel refused to return their passports and fought with a tour agency that came to retrieve them.
We then saw them assemble a gang of toughs to go settle the score by stealing from another hotel then holding the goods for ransom!
So a poor collection of cheap shacks, , run by low lifes and suitable only for the same ilk.

The other reviewers who thought this place was OK were paying about $15 a night and being overcharged. Or they had nothing to be stolen.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HanoiFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Phu Quoc Island hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Nhat Lan is right on the beach - about half way down Long Beach. It's a gorgeous part of the beach as there's no other resort to the south and to the north are many resorts that are much more expensive (the one 2 or 3 up is about $70 a night in relation to $10 for Nhat Lan).
The restaurant on the beach is lovely and serves a fish bbq every night which is very good and very well priced.
My criticism with the place was the room itself, it was pretty poor and not that clean. However if you just want somewhere to crash and spend the day sitting on a gorgeous beach, then you can probably put up with the room. I don't think there are that many budget options on Phu Quoc with such beautiful views out to sea!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesF_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Nhat Lan - we stayed in low season and stayed in a bungalow away from the water for $10 / night - could have been $8 / night if staying more than one night. The price is very reasonable for the setting as they are right on the beach as is the restaurant - a great spot for eating breakfast. The bungalows are separate from each other and have two hammocks outside on each verandah. Inside they're very spacious with two double beds in ours and a large clean bathroom. Beds are hard - but get used to that, they are in all of Asia!
We hired a bike from here too for $5 / day which was OK.
We had no problems with this place, photos to follow!

Room Tip: We would recommend booking ahead to get a bungalow on the beach front - only $5 more, not much when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kapai11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Free Beach Resort
Free Beach Resort
#8 of 122 in Duong Dong
68 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coastal Village Phu Quoc
Coastal Village Phu Quoc
#68 of 122 in Duong Dong
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lien Hiep Thanh Resort
Lien Hiep Thanh Resort
#7 of 108 in Duong Dong
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hiep Thanh Hotel
Hiep Thanh Hotel
#56 of 208 in Phu Quoc Island
69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Phuong Binh House
Phuong Binh House
#2 of 108 in Duong Dong
287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Phu Quoc Kim Bungalows On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nhat Lan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nhat Lan

Property: Nhat Lan
Address: 118/16 Tran Hung Dao, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 208 Speciality Lodging in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Nhat Lan 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Nhat Lan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nhat Lan Hotel Phu Quoc Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing