We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, atmospheric”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mai Spa & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mai Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice, atmospheric”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

Stayed for a few days on our honeymoon in Jan 2011. The resort is nice with friendly staff, spacious rooms, an 'atmospheric' toilet and shower which is rather open, and hot water availability is a bit hit or miss.
Breakfasts were good, great location just off the beach, great massages/ spas available for reasonable rates.
Only downfall was no restaurant or bar (although could buy beers at reception and local restauarnats are only a few hundred metres away).
Very good value in the mid range accommodation option.
Overall a nice comfortable and atmosheric stay on Phu Quoc... would recommend

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    102
    40
    25
    16
See reviews for
30
139
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

Stayed here in March in a garden view bungalow. This place has some real positive elements to it and negative ones.

- The positives:
Beautiful setting. By one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen. There are restaurants and bars along it but they are strung out along the beach and do not ruin it at all.

Very helpful staff. I hurt my leg in a motorbike accident and a guy working at the hotel offered to come to the hospital with me to translate. He gave up a lot of his time and was very good. Could not praise him highly enough.

Clean and spacious rooms. Good breakfast. Wifi in rooms.

The negatives:

Semi - outside bathrooms. The bathroom wall only goes to a woman's shoulder level so you can see out and I imagine, people can see in

No tv.

Expensive.

In summary, I think you should stay here only if you are looking for a certain kind of place - back to nature (outside bathroom), no distractions (no tv) with spa treatments by a gorgeous beach. The staff are very good.

However, on a personal level, I didn't use any of the spa treatments (which were expensive). I don't like a semi outside bathroom (lack of privacy and means that bugs and mosquitos can come into your room very easily). I would have liked a tv as I had hurt my leg and had to rest it in bed. It seemed way overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eleanorlondon86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights.

First the positives- The hotel is in a great location, close to many restaurants and right on the beach, literally a few steps. We booked a garden view bungalow for $35 a night and were upgraded to a sea view on arrival. The room was big with a gorgeous view of the beach and a lovely bathroom. Breakfast was good (Tea or coffee, fresh juice, fruit and choice of eggs with a baguette or pancake with banana).

Negatives- Unfortunately there were thunderstorms 2 of the 3 days we were in Phu Quoc and when we first got to our room the floor was wet (like it leaked through the door) and the room smelt musty.. The cleaners woke us up every morning at 7-8am and we had to leave while they made up our room. My partner inquired about a snorkeling trip and the manager just assumed we had booked it, the next morning he came to our room and when we told him we didn't want to do the trip because of the bad weather (who wants to go snorkeling when the sea is rough and it's raining) he became quite rude and abrupt.

There was also a lot of construction going on and it made the resort look half finished.

When everything is finished and the resort is cleaned up a bit i'm sure it would be a lovely place to stay but I would not recommend it at this time.
.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renae-Nasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

We have planned to end our trip to Vietnam on Phu Quoc in a nice resort. We saw the pictures and Mai Spa looked lovely. So we booked 5 nights. Unfortunately we were so disappointed that we left after 3 nights.
The room was, well, basic. Not even a cheap picture was hanging on the wall. The only luxury was a fridge on the floor and a noisy fan. There was an air-con, but it didn't work. Due to the weather the sea-view was blanketed by a huge plastic curtain and the whole area was swampy. The breakfast was poor: you get a noodle soup, a fruit juice and when you are lucky even a small baguette or an egg.
The staff was VERY friendly and helpful and we got a free volcanic stone massage, which we have enjoyed a lot. We paid in advance but he manager understood our disappointment and we got a refund for the two nights.
We are quite sure though that Mai Spa is a nice resort to spend some days during the dry season. If you pay half the price during the rainy season, you can expect have the fun. The resort gave us the impression that it was not really open. The guests are just here to fill some rooms. That is a pity.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 61hitchhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2011

...MAI SPA is located in the right position is Long Beach, on the two side on the beach You got Deauville a nice french restaurant and on the other side a nice local restaurant grill...outside on the main road you are right in the center of restaurant and entertainment places...
The place is too expensive (140us a day for a family room, no chiller, no frills, just a bad without wardrobe and door on the toilet, air con after request, everyday request).. for what they offer but that looks common in Phu Quoc island, not much choices so expect to pay for decency...
We got the room upstair the reception, quite dark but relaxing, no door on the toilet and a free flow of mosquito coming from everywhere, you can fix that only staying in the bed under the mosquito net...lighting air con looks like you should ask permission at the reception cause maybe they want to save energy....
Breakfast is ok but boring...pancakes, plain eggs, banana, mango, all super caloric stuff in a steady huts without ventilation full of flyers...
In five days stays they never change the bed sheet even...this is what most noise me...140usd a night...
I choose the place cause my first choices of cassia cottage and mai house was fully during my stay, I also try to book after but still full...after two days at mai spa I want to leave, nothing bad just feel to change cause not too welcoming for us....maybe cause we was a family, looks place more for gay or couple...don't know...

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MAXVOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

I stayed here with my friends and we all loved it - it was a perfect location right on the beach and the room looked directly onto the water. The room was huge and beautiful. The staff were very friendly and assisted us in anyway they could.

The only downside to this place is that at night some of the small boats go past and it sounds very loud in the room as it is so open.

I also got some treatments at the spa and thought that the quality was amazing. The highlights from the spa include the Indian Head massage and the anti aging facial!!! Although the yoghurt they use does smell like perhaps it is the ones you have at breakfast with the flavourings.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissSaigonSports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2011

About us: couple, both about 30, medical doctor and lawyer in training.

The good things: the bungalows at the beach (the new ones) are nice, spacious, with good view and only some metres to a nice stretch of Long beach. This part of the beach is less crowded due to the Mai Spas limited room capacity. Breakfast was nice, staff was nice (with some exception!).

Bad things:
Place is overpriced, but then the whole of Phu Quoc is (during Christmas holidays).

We made a reservation by phone first and when we arrived seeing that the places was nice we booked for 6 nights - …. or so we thought. We switched to a sea view bungalow after the first night in the garden view room. After two more nights we recalled another couple arriving complaining at the reception about not getting what they booked. (They wanted one more night in a sea view bungalow).

The next day we returned from a snorkelling trip at 3.30 pm only to see our belongings packed into plastic bags and our backpacks standing next to the reception. We did NOT check out. The receptionist told us there was an unfortunate mix up, our booking was not seen as it was in handwriting from the staff, so that our room was given to other guests. They had secured another room in another hotel for us, as there were no other rooms at Mai Spa.

Well one cannot imagine how angry we were. Private belongings rummaged by strangers. - literally thrown out after 4 of 6 booked nights.

We went to check our “new” place at T90 guesthouse which was a room in anonymous hotel building with a disgusting smell from the toilet. It was at 45 Dollar overpriced as well, and it was definitely not comparable to the sea view bungalow that we booked. Naturally at 5 pm in the holiday season other hostels were either fully booked at that time or had only one night for 120 US Dollars, (we had two more nights to stay) which we refused to pay for a room.

We decided not to stay at the T90 room which was arranged by the Mai Spa staff (mainly because the smell was unbearable.) Well the staff was not overly helpful to find other rooms. When we were still refusing to leave at 10 pm (where to??) they offered us to sleep at the Spa (in order to get us away from the reception zone. The other guests were beginning to look at us with all our stuff right in middle and we were so tired that we rested at the wooden benches there.) As they worked in shifts the guy responsible for moving our things out was not there at the time we got back from our snorkelling trip. We accepted to sleep at the spa to confront the receptionist the day after (you see the anger was still burning).
The next day the guy in charge refused to take any responsibility. Management had decided to treat us that way. And management was (still) not contactable because at that time away in Saigon. We insisted that it was not our problem to look for an adequate room, still we spent 2,5 h to look at almost any place at Long Beach (For example Nhat Lan, Viet Thanh, Thanh Kieu, Hiep Thanh, Cassia, Mai House, Sea Star, Paris beach, Beach Club, Kim Hoa, Kim Nam Hoa, Blue Lagoon, Saigon Phu Quoc …) Either they were fully booked or the rooms were a mess. Receptonist was not helpful, offered us several hostels just to realize they were full after he had the wits to call them. We declined an offer for a hotel 45 min away. That was our last day at Phu Quoc and we wanted to have some beach time. Moreover we suspected he chose the hotel because it was so far away he hoped we would not return to complain. At noon we went to beach. The receptionist said he tried everything (he phoned 4 hostels in 1 hour, we phoned 7 and looked at over a dozen places) and we have to decide now. In our opinion it was the Mai Spas duty to look for a decent alternative accommodation. When we came back from the beach we were not even greeted. We went out again and booked a room at T90 not a smelly one but on the other side with a view of what looks like a giant oil chimney and with a quite a noisy factory sound. Well we only slept there and fortunately at the time the oil factory started to work in the morning (6 am) we were already up to get to the airport.


1). The most outrageous thing was to see your personal belongings thrown together, (shoes and clean clothes together, glasses in the bag with beach things so it got some nice scratches…etc.). We did not expect to move out, everything was unpacked (as for example private things like underwear, cosmetics, and valuables). We have been to a few places all around the world. There was NO place we travelled regardless of being a backpackers place or some better accommodation which would move our things out without consulting us. There were other places which overbooked as well, but all of them had the decency to offer us another room with at least equal quality in advance – not to literally throw us out.

Even if there had been a mix up, the staff should have waited until we came back. The staff admitted that the guests now living in our bungalow changed rooms so there was no need to rush.

2). Staff was not helpful to arrange a comparable accommodation. When we refused to move to smelly or dirty places they told us there was nothing more they could do.

3.) They not only moved us out after the 4 night thus cancelling the 5th night but erased the reservation for the 6th night as well.

4.) There was no explanation, no excuse from the management. Receptionists refused to take the blame. But then who is?

5.) We had the feeling (maybe it is wrong) that as we looked like young backpackers dressed mainly in beach outfit we were singled out to be the least difficult to deal with. Other guests (especially guests who are complaining they had a written booking confirm) had to be placated). They certainly did not expect us to refuse leaving. We can only assume they would not have treated us this way if they knew that we were medical doctor and lawyer in training.

6.) We got financial recompensation (after we asked for it) but this is not about money. If you travelled all around the world it is time that matters most.

This our first review ever, we travelled many places all other the world, we were NEVER treated like this.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chia8844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Phu Quoc Island hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Kim Hoa Resort
Kim Hoa Resort
#18 of 44 in Duong Dong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orange Resort
Orange Resort
#22 of 113 in Duong Dong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hiep Thanh Hotel
Hiep Thanh Hotel
#58 of 188 in Phu Quoc Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Phu Quoc Kim Bungalows On The Beach
0.1 mi away
Amelia Hotel
Amelia Hotel
#24 of 95 in Duong Dong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropicana Resort Phu Quoc
Tropicana Resort Phu Quoc
#10 of 44 in Duong Dong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mai Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai Spa & Resort

Property: Mai Spa & Resort
Address: Group 5, Tran Hung Dao Street, Duong Dong Town, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 188 Speciality Lodging in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mai Spa & Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mai Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mai Spa And Resort
Mai Hotel Phu Quoc Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing