We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mai Spa & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mai Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
199 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Simple luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

We booked out the 4 beachside bungalows as a bit of a treat for the end of our Vietnam trip. I had stayed here with my wife in August 2012 and loved it. My travel buddies also fell in love with the place. The beach is only a couple of metres from our balconies and with the palm trees and sunset it felt like you were on a deserted island. The staff here are very helpful and can arrange moto's, tours and taxis at any time. They offer a complimentary massage at the best spa on the island, namely Mai spa. Sensational.
Breakfast is now served on the beach in the new bungalow/bar setting and the staff here are wonderful as well.
Mai spa is located in the middle of the well known restaurant area of Long beach and only a short stroll to the night BBQ in Duong dong. We will be back.

Room Tip: Spoil yourself. Take a beach front bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheath27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    102
    40
    25
    16
See reviews for
30
139
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
149 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights as part of our 3 week trip to Vietnam. The resort is well situated in the middle of Long Beach and you will be met by friendly staff and with a welcome ice cold green tea and refreshing towel on arrival. We stayed in a beach front room which was spacious and with a nice balcony and good air conditioning. The beds are comfortable and come with a mosquito net - which you most definitely need whilst on the island.

Breakfast is served on the beach, but with limited choices - omelette, scrambled eggs or pancakes. A selection of juices and tea/coffee is also available. The hotel provide sun loungers for guests which could do with some new mattresses, but are otherwise perfectly fine. Beach towels are also provided by the hotel. A short walk along Long Beach and you will find many other nice restaurants such as the Spice House, where food is good and reasonable priced.

As we stayed more than 4 nights, we were offered a free foot care massage - this was excellent and we also booked a full body massage and indian headcare massage. These were on a buy one get one free basis and therefore made for excellent value for money.

You can also hire a moped from the hotel - again this is very cheap and a good way to explore the island - although beware that there is a lot of construction work going on and you must negotiate this whilst driving. When you go off the beaten track as we did, you will find that all normal semblance of roads disappear and you will be driving on improvised dirt tracks - an authentic, if a little risky way to get around!

Mai Spa is about a 15 minute walk into the centre of town, where there are plenty of shops and restaurants. Take a trip to Buddy's for an ice cream, or why not go across the river and visit the town market. We did this by moped and had to wait for the bridge to come into place. It is a great way to mix with the locals and enjoy some of the culture of the island.

We would definitely stay at Mai Spa again if returning to Phu Quoc.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colinsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

We spent there few days and we really enjoyed the spot. The restaurant does not offer much variety but it's good to have lunch on as it is directly on the beach. They also provide seafood upon request, and have a dinner with that view is just great.

The bungalow, although equipped with a very nice bathroom, does not really reflect the price they are asking per night. This is my main argument as the place, otherwise, is really beautiful.
We did pay quite a lot for Vietnam standards and we did not really see much of a reason behind it. Yes, you get the free foot massage, but the bungalow itself is *very* basic and you will have guests in the night, so I am not really sure why do they have this price tag.

Other than that, pretty much a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StalinTheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grossostheim, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

We did enjoy our stay at Mai spa.the garden view room (lets say wild garden view) room was superclean and nice. Short walk to spotless clean beach.service was outstanding and the massage great.we had dinner there once which was really good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Miagi1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

We stayed at Mai Spa for 2 nights in a beach view room. Room was large with AC (a must in the 40 degree heat), a fridge and a nice balcony to sit on. The beach side restaurant has a great seafood BBQ dinner each night which was excellent. However, lunch isn't all that great and better options can be found elsewhere on the island.
We got a free foot massage while we were there which was nice and relaxing. Don't bother having them arrange transfers for you to the airport as there are many taxis right on the street which will be cheaper.
Overall we had a wonderful, relaxing stay at Mai Spa and would stay here again if we make it back to Phu Quoc.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontrealWineLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

I travelled with a group of friends. We booked a bungalow with garden view for 2 nights through Agoda. Reception greeted us with cold lime towels and tea and it was very refreshing. We were given an old fashioned authenthic bungalow with a pond view.
Two hours after checking in we asked the reception to change the bungalow but they said they were fully booked. We therefore e-mailed Agoda with our dispute that evening because the pond had mosquitos and frogs and the frogs were very noisy and kept us awake all night.
The next day we were offered a refurbished bungalow with a garden view away from the pond and its inhabitants. They could take more care about garden and cut it often.
Mai Spa provides simple breakfast in a restaurant on the beach. On offer was tea, coffee, juice, fresh fruit, pancakes, yoghurt and omelette. It was an all you can eat style.
There is a restaurant on access road about 100m from Mai Spa with very nice and affordable Vietnamese cousine which I can recommend.
To summarize - a nice hotel but do ask to see the room before checking in !

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peto78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

As teachers living in Vietnam, this was our third time to Phu Quoc and our most enjoyable stay. We had a beach front bungalow and stayed for three nights. The room was clean, the resort staff very accommodating, and the overall experience very relaxing. We love the beach but also enjoy some shade when we have hit our max for sun. The beach offers a good mix of both.

The restaurant is only ok but we did enjoy the breakfast. Fortunately, the resort is a short walk from a variety of food options located on the main road...assuming you are willing to venture off the beach. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scinternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Kim Hoa Resort
Kim Hoa Resort
#18 of 44 in Duong Dong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orange Resort
Orange Resort
#22 of 113 in Duong Dong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hiep Thanh Hotel
Hiep Thanh Hotel
#58 of 188 in Phu Quoc Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Phu Quoc Kim Bungalows On The Beach
0.1 mi away
Amelia Hotel
Amelia Hotel
#24 of 95 in Duong Dong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropicana Resort Phu Quoc
Tropicana Resort Phu Quoc
#10 of 44 in Duong Dong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mai Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai Spa & Resort

Property: Mai Spa & Resort
Address: Group 5, Tran Hung Dao Street, Duong Dong Town, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 188 Speciality Lodging in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mai Spa & Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mai Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mai Spa And Resort
Mai Hotel Phu Quoc Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing