We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best staff!”
Review of Mai Spa & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mai Spa & Resort
Reviewed 23 June 2013

After a not so great experience at another hotel, it was great to arrive at Mai Spa. The staff are so friendly and willing to assist with anything. We had a sea view room and paid $70. The room was lovely but basic and I loved the bathroom. The room is above the beach bungalows and has a large balcony with great sea views. The only complaint I have is that there was a smell of wet rattan which I guess was coming from the ceiling. They possibly need to seal it. If I stay again I'd go for the beach bungalow as they are directly on the beach with easy access to the restaurant. The free foot massage was fab, upstairs from reception in a fanned room. We had a great massage too and were suprised that it was in a different a/c room. The restaurant is directly on the beach - great staff, great food, great sunsets.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beacygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2013

Enjoyed phu quoc very much and mai spa was chilled with helpful staff. So close to beach and such a beautiful setting. It rained for our full 4 day stay but still enjoyed it. The rain was epic. Food at mai spa is good and the breakfast was basic but tasty and fresh. We got a free foot massage when we checked in which was very good. About 200 meters down the beach is a restaurant named spice house, which genuinely was one of the nicest meals I've had in Nam and went 3 times.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robot8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights during our tour of Vietnam. We were greeted by staff who helped us with our bags and were given a green tea before going to our rooms. Our rooms were on the beachfront so lovely views from our balcony. The bed was comfortable with a good mosquito net which is essential here. Good sized bathrooms, the rooms were simple but had everything you needed. Breakfast was served at their bar/restaurant on the beach each morning. We had a complimentary foot massage which was so good we booked a Thai massage the next day. Very reasonably priced. The beach itself appeared very untidy but was the same all the way down long beach not just around mai spa and the staff did try and make an effort to clean the beach each morning. The town is in walkable distance and I would highly recommend going to the night market there. Overall mai spa is more expensive than most hotel prices you would find on the mainland for the same standard of hotel but I think that this is more to do with the island than the individual hotels. The staff were helpful and is in a good location.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We booked out the 4 beachside bungalows as a bit of a treat for the end of our Vietnam trip. I had stayed here with my wife in August 2012 and loved it. My travel buddies also fell in love with the place. The beach is only a couple of metres from our balconies and with the palm trees and sunset it felt like you were on a deserted island. The staff here are very helpful and can arrange moto's, tours and taxis at any time. They offer a complimentary massage at the best spa on the island, namely Mai spa. Sensational.
Breakfast is now served on the beach in the new bungalow/bar setting and the staff here are wonderful as well.
Mai spa is located in the middle of the well known restaurant area of Long beach and only a short stroll to the night BBQ in Duong dong. We will be back.

Room Tip: Spoil yourself. Take a beach front bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheath27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights as part of our 3 week trip to Vietnam. The resort is well situated in the middle of Long Beach and you will be met by friendly staff and with a welcome ice cold green tea and refreshing towel on arrival. We stayed in a beach front room which was spacious and with a nice balcony and good air conditioning. The beds are comfortable and come with a mosquito net - which you most definitely need whilst on the island.

Breakfast is served on the beach, but with limited choices - omelette, scrambled eggs or pancakes. A selection of juices and tea/coffee is also available. The hotel provide sun loungers for guests which could do with some new mattresses, but are otherwise perfectly fine. Beach towels are also provided by the hotel. A short walk along Long Beach and you will find many other nice restaurants such as the Spice House, where food is good and reasonable priced.

As we stayed more than 4 nights, we were offered a free foot care massage - this was excellent and we also booked a full body massage and indian headcare massage. These were on a buy one get one free basis and therefore made for excellent value for money.

You can also hire a moped from the hotel - again this is very cheap and a good way to explore the island - although beware that there is a lot of construction work going on and you must negotiate this whilst driving. When you go off the beaten track as we did, you will find that all normal semblance of roads disappear and you will be driving on improvised dirt tracks - an authentic, if a little risky way to get around!

Mai Spa is about a 15 minute walk into the centre of town, where there are plenty of shops and restaurants. Take a trip to Buddy's for an ice cream, or why not go across the river and visit the town market. We did this by moped and had to wait for the bridge to come into place. It is a great way to mix with the locals and enjoy some of the culture of the island.

We would definitely stay at Mai Spa again if returning to Phu Quoc.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colinsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We spent there few days and we really enjoyed the spot. The restaurant does not offer much variety but it's good to have lunch on as it is directly on the beach. They also provide seafood upon request, and have a dinner with that view is just great.

The bungalow, although equipped with a very nice bathroom, does not really reflect the price they are asking per night. This is my main argument as the place, otherwise, is really beautiful.
We did pay quite a lot for Vietnam standards and we did not really see much of a reason behind it. Yes, you get the free foot massage, but the bungalow itself is *very* basic and you will have guests in the night, so I am not really sure why do they have this price tag.

Other than that, pretty much a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StalinTheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

We did enjoy our stay at Mai spa.the garden view room (lets say wild garden view) room was superclean and nice. Short walk to spotless clean beach.service was outstanding and the massage great.we had dinner there once which was really good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_Miagi1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Mai House Resort
Mai House Resort
#21 of 117 in Phu Quoc Island
592 reviews
1.2 mi away
Paris Beach Village Phu Quoc
0.7 mi away
Viet Thanh Resort
Viet Thanh Resort
#67 of 117 in Phu Quoc Island
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Long Beach Resort Phu Quoc
0.5 mi away
Phu Quoc Kim Bungalows On The Beach
1 mi away
Lan Anh Garden Resort
Lan Anh Garden Resort
#3 of 197 in Phu Quoc Island
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mai Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai Spa & Resort

Address: Group 5, Tran Hung Dao Street, Duong Dong Town, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 222 Speciality Lodging in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range: £38 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mai Spa & Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mai Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mai Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Mai Spa And Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing