We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy building works spoil great location”
Review of Mai Spa & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mai Spa & Resort
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Neighbouring building works 6am to 10pm become an irritant after a few days. We asked to change rooms and were told that the hotel was full, yet a walk in couple arrived at the beach and asked if they should book here, and did, and were given a room !! Very good location, friendly staff and adequate breakfast, but the building work let the place down.Best advice, wait for the building work to finish !!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paddy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel in November 2013. Now 6 months later I have a fraudulent charge on my credit card from mai spa in the amount of $307USD. While we enjoyed our stay while at the hotel I cannot reccomend this hotel as it appears that they may have dishonest staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Aerobat21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Hidden back away from the road and right on the beach. Very spacious clean rooms, fantastic breakfast spread, and the staff are extremely friendly. There is a little Russian restaurant on the alley road back here that is fabulous and we used them to help us book diving and taxi rides over to Sao Beach. The hotel had folks to help and suggestions, but they have me a flier for a dive company with a bad reputation so we walked down the alley and I found just what I needed. It is a short 15 minute walk to the night market. Tons of restaurants and shops in a minutes walk. The location is ideal. My only complaint is that the neighboring property is doing construction so there are times during the day when the jack hammering is rather loud.

Overall great property and I would highly recommend staying here. The room is by far the largest we have had since we got to Vietnam.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Flygirl_1350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

If you want a spacious stay close to the beach, this is ideal!! Amazing massage - best we have had, lovely staff and service and a very short distance from a quiet part of the beach - perfect! The staff helped us organise trips and local bike taxi's and anything else we needed. Great breakfast on the beach every morning, and quiet areas inside to use wifi etc. I highly recommend this place !

Room Tip: Room in the garden area - very spacious and huge shower bathroom area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lnp200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We found Phu Quoc the hardest to research, but opted for this. We booked 3 nights (£60 per night) and were very excited. However we checked out after one night as a little walk up the beach showed there to be many other options with a pool at half price!!
This is not a bad resort, but my main points would be: the beach restaurant is perfectly located, but the food was awful. Do not confuse with Mai House! The £60 meant we had a 'sea view' which was true, but with so many palm trees it was predominantly blocked out.
The room itself was large, but basic - ideal for the island life. We were however concerned by security for the first time, as the doors had very poor locks and a forceful barge could gain someone access...
The reception were surprised when we went to check out, and even offered to lower the price. But we felt slightly let down when other options (Phu Van Resort, Tropicana Resort) offered me a room for less than £30 per night and Phu Van has an amazing pool with better rooms.
So, my advice would be to look carefully as there are new developments everywhere (so don't just use the Lonely Planet because, in Phu Quoc, it quickly becomes out dated!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed 5 nights at the beach front room, which was really nice and clean. The cleaning ladies did a good job every day. The bathroom was also very nice, plenty of hot water after you've waited a while.

The location is excellent, only a short walk from the night market area. There's a bar/restaurant at the beach, where the breakfast is also served. Average food, but it is always nice to have your dinner at the beach.

The staff is helpful, the massage was really good. There also seems to be a full-time gardener who takes good care or the jungle-like inner yard.

There's no pool, which is a bit annoying on a hot day if because sometimes the sea can be full of some sort of sea lace or jellyfish that stings and leaves an itchy bite for couple minutes.

The rooms have no safe box or overall information about the premises or the services. The first one is ok, you can get a safe at the reception, but the lack of information is a bit stupid because I read somewhere that the older houses of Mai Spa were actually transferred from Saigon area. Fascinating story that they should communicate more.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Separate cottages spread around jungle-like vegetation which is closely watched and maintained by the full-time gardener who seems to cater to his plants day and night... and it shows. Large room, nicely furnished. Private bathroom mostly outside. Clean and very well cleaned every day. Lounge chairs on beach. Short walk to the city. Breakfast: eggs to order, good croissants and cake, fruit, excellent coffee, with tables barely a few feet from the ocean. There is construction next door but at a very slow pace, so it's not very noisy. But there are frogs... and other live things around. But then, this is the jungle.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sycha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Mai House Resort
Mai House Resort
#21 of 117 in Phu Quoc Island
592 reviews
1.2 mi away
Paris Beach Village Phu Quoc
0.7 mi away
Viet Thanh Resort
Viet Thanh Resort
#67 of 117 in Phu Quoc Island
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Long Beach Resort Phu Quoc
0.5 mi away
Phu Quoc Kim Bungalows On The Beach
1 mi away
Lan Anh Garden Resort
Lan Anh Garden Resort
#3 of 197 in Phu Quoc Island
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mai Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai Spa & Resort

Address: Group 5, Tran Hung Dao Street, Duong Dong Town, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 222 Speciality Lodging in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range: £38 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mai Spa & Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mai Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mai Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Mai Spa And Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing