We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great value for money”
Review of Mai Spa & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mai Spa & Resort
Reviewed 15 January 2011

We stayed at Mai Spa Resort in January 2011. We booked via Agoda - at the time we thought it was a little expensive, but not having anything to compare it to, from the photos it looked good value. When we arrived, we were shown to our sea view room (as booked), however this was in the main (older) block and the room was downstairs. What no booking websites show are the new block of rooms - which we discovered are cheaper, at $75 per night. We can't comment on these rooms, as we didn't see them, however they were brand new stone villas.

There are a few things to note when booking at Mai Spa -
Firstly, if you get one of the older rooms in the downstairs block - bring ear plugs, as the lovely wooden floorboards (that are in all the promo pictures, but not in the downstairs rooms!) are the worst soundproofed floors we have ever heard. In fact there is no soundproofing - the floorboards ARE the ceiling and you can hear... EVERYTHING!

Secondly - these downstairs rooms are directly next to the beach...which is great, but then because of the lack of soundproofing you get to hear the pack of beach dogs that seem to be fed by the Mai Spa staff - barking very loudly right next to your room. All night long!

Thirdly - compared to the Mango Bay Resort, where we also stayed, the rooms are overpriced for what they are. The facilities, the rooms, the linen and towels, the main entrance into the resort - are all not as good as the Mango Bay - and the prices aren't that different.

And finally the room security is non existent - no safe and the only way to lock the door is with a padlock that doesn't seem to secure the door in any way, meaning you end up lugging valuables around all day. For a $90 a night hotel, you would be forgiven for expecting more. 

On a positive note, the location on Long Beach is great (at the quieter end), the breakfasts are very good and plentiful, and the staff were incredibly friendly and willing to help. 

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2010

Mai Spa is a very nice place. Staff was friendly and everything would be fine if they didn't ask so high prices. If you pay 90 USD for a room (for 3 adults) you just expect to get more for the money, something like hotel standards. Mai Spa could be described as the better backpackers place. Others.. the place is cool, no luxury, but clean and nicely set at the beach and it would absolutely be a good choice for 50 USD.
I wonder how these places do get enough guests when asking such prices. But it happened to me as well.. I looked at the page and thought that it would be worth the money.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saigonaese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2010

We stayed here for four nights recently. Following a couple of hiccups with pick up and room intially, the staff bent over backward to rectify this and the outcome was great. The room was lovely with a great view and the location within walking distance of everything. The staff were very friendly and helpful and ordereed Pho in specifically for us.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JD2802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

we were there last winter and really enjoyed it as the staff was super friendly. also had a very romantic room with beach view. It is not very luxurious but has defenitly charme and is very nice. There were some constructionwork next to the hotel which was terrible, so as an excuse the chef took us out on a one day private tour over the slands with the other guests. this was an example for the great service. Also the massage treatments were very good

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThomasJMannheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank marionbolzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Юрий Ш
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank lorenagutierrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Mai House Resort
Mai House Resort
#22 of 108 in Phu Quoc Island
575 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orange Resort
Orange Resort
#20 of 125 in Duong Dong
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hiep Thanh Hotel
Hiep Thanh Hotel
#58 of 217 in Phu Quoc Island
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Richis Beach Resort
Richis Beach Resort
#5 of 48 in Duong Dong
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Star Resort Phu Quoc
Sea Star Resort Phu Quoc
#10 of 48 in Duong Dong
669 reviews
0.5 mi away
Phuong Binh House
Phuong Binh House
#2 of 108 in Duong Dong
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mai Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai Spa & Resort

Address: Group 5, Tran Hung Dao Street, Duong Dong Town, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 217 Speciality Lodging in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range: £30 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mai Spa & Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Mai Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mai Spa And Resort
Mai Hotel Phu Quoc Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing