We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect resort, very friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Orig Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Phu Quoc Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Orig Resort
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect resort, very friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Our stay at Orig Resort was perfect. Beautiful bungalow in a nice garden with a view on the beach.
Our room was spotless and all bungalows have a open bathroom.
The resort is located north of Dong Duong, aprox 10-15 min by motorbike.

There has been a recent change in management and the new manager makes sure that everything is perfect for his guests.
They offer an high service, breakfast has changed too, its now in buffet form.

The beach is very clean, not so big but more than enough for all the guests to have a comfi beachchair. Yes there are rocks in the water, very good for snorkeling, but there is plenty of open water for normal swimming. You can take a long walk on the beach, you pass different resorts (orig looks the most beautiful), another thing to do is renting a motorbike and explore the Island. Some roads are very bumpy, but all are doable.

For the money charged for a room you get good quality.
I would recommend Orig Resort to everyone looking for a perfect stay at Phu Quoc.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reneev29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    4
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
1
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manitou Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

Great place to relax after Saigon in a very quiet setting. It is 15min out of town. Good beach for wading and snorkeling. Lots of rocks not good for swimming. Stay in room 105. Good shade on porch. Staff is excellent. A little hard to understand at times but that's why we travel to get away. Great breakfast. If you want quite this is your place if you want night life stay in town.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George-and-Peggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

This has the potential to be one of the best resorts on the island, and overall, my friend and I enjoyed our time there. The rooms are arguably overpriced given the lack of amenities (no fridge, kettle, TV or AC) but this seems to be common (e.g. similar at the very popular Mango Bay Resort) and our room was spotlessly clean with a gorgeous outdoor bathroom and a big balcony with a view of the beach. The beach itself is more of a secluded lagoon than a long expanse of sand and there are a few rocks, but this didn't stop us swimming every day. If you want a longer, sandier beach you can find this just a 10 minute walk north of the resort. This beach is just beyond Bo Resort, where you are likely to spend a lot of time if you stay at Orig. The reason for this is the laughably poor food and service in the Orig restaurant. Others have said it before so I won't go into details but it really is appallingly bad. It's sad because this would be a great resort if it weren't for this problem. If I heard reports that a new F&B manager had come in and sorted things out, I would definitely go back. Until then, sorry to say, no way.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doarehtno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ovacik, Turkey
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

If you're "blown away" by googling amazing pictures of white beaches, blue sea and sky on this side of the island...you will face a huge disappointment when arriving at The orig. The "beach" is non existant-being only a small stirp of rocky sand, surrounded by a man made wall with builers and that holds a few beach loungers: to get to the amazing beaches you may have gogled-entails a mountain goat climb over rocks to visit the wonderful Mango Bay Resort...trust me..we did it just to escape this dump!! The staff at The Orig speak only Vietnamese...which makes life difficult if you need anything from them,,surely in this industry, where the majority of your guests are Europeans..then a second language of wither English, French or German is a must?? The only saving grace are the rooms which are huge, clean and comfortable. Apart from that, for the money charged and the overall experience..stay away!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jopiancat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Phu Quoc Island hotels

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We were greeted with smiles and delicious welcome drinks. Our bungalow had a great view of the beach, and we loved relaxing on our veranda listening to the ocean and sipping drinks. As a very relaxed, go-with-the-flow couple who live in Saigon, we understand the bumps of traveling throughout Vietnam. However, some of the issues we faced really made us question the price that Orig is hoping to charge. For example, our lovely bungalow, which cost $100/night with a 55% discount, had several issues. The door lock on the floor was misaligned, so we couldn’t properly shut or lock the front door. This would not have mattered to us, but the room lacked a safe (and a frig). Also, the Balinese-style bathroom with outdoor shower was excellent in concept, but the piping was not sealed well in the shower so water was wasted and pressure lessened. Additionally, we found over half of the restaurant menu unavailable because the kitchen didn’t have squid or prawns (fresh seafood is a main reason for enjoying Phu Quoc). We had to contest being charged full price for items we ordered that lacked these ingredients, which was tricky because employees’ English was poor. Again, we are totally used to menu and communication issues, but for this price our standards are higher. Although the food we did eat was delicious, it was very expensive (you can pay a quarter of the price for even better food up the road at Sakura). And finally, the hotel still has some landscaping details to finalize, such as the large dirt road running through the middle of an otherwise perfect view. Orig is wonderful in concept and we really did enjoy our stay. We love the use of solar water heating, the manager’s presence and communication, the secluded location, the spacious and well appointed bungalow, breathing fresh sea air and falling asleep to the sound of waves. We do recommend the hotel if you can get a discounted price (check Agoda), but the hotels has some issues to resolve before they can achieve true value for cost. Hopefully we will return for an amazing holiday in a year or two!

Room Tip: Stand alone bungalow #105 was wonderful (even with minor door lock and leaking shower issues, it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lena_425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

As long as they are not pressing the price over 100$ for a beach front bungalow, it's quite ok. This place is great, beach is really nice and secluded and they have quality furniture and beautiful landscaping. Rooms are well organized, well built with beautiful open top bathrooms. No tv (who needs that [--] anyway), no aircon (big ol' fan and nice cool ceramic tiles on the floor) and no fridge (and no compressor noise). And if you need a safe, bring it to the reception.
And for the secluded location, I consider that a plus. It is quiet and the perfect spot to chill. And the restaurant is not that expensive. Drink a beer instead of imported french wine. They prepared some quite good meals for us, and you can walk 5 minutes down the beach and eat at Bo Resort if you need a change.
Staff are really nice and friendly and they come a long way to make you feel welcome.

Very recommendable as long as they keep prices at a decent level.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank redfik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

To pay over $100 for a room without air con, a fridge or a safety box is excessive.
The whole timbre of the hotel reeked of greed. Food and drink expensive. Bottles of cheap, badly kept French wines for $30.
The place is isolated - $30 taxi to the northern ferry port. Only one other beach resort accessible by foot.
Most of the staff are friendly - altho there were exceptions.
After two night the place felt like a prison.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenwichlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
4.4 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#8 of 95 in Phu Quoc Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Cua Can
Villa Cua Can
#1 of 1 in Cua Can
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
2.1 mi away
Seaside HomeStay
Seaside HomeStay
#14 of 157 in Phu Quoc Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Wild Beach Phu Quoc Resort
0.8 mi away
Dormstay Riverside Hostel Phu Quoc
Dormstay Riverside Hostel Phu Qu...
#17 of 188 in Phu Quoc Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
1.5 mi away
Phu Quoc Eco Beach Resort
Phu Quoc Eco Beach Resort
#1 of 113 in Duong Dong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orig Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orig Resort

Property: Orig Resort
Address: Ong Lang Beach, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 188 Speciality Lodging in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing