We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place with such potential but........”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Orig Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Phu Quoc Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Orig Resort
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful place with such potential but........”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

I actually wrote a review before, as did our friends that we were travelling with, and neither review was published on the website we booked with - in fact we noticed, there are few reviews around February which I believe is suspect. I really hope the place has improved since then, but because I've been disappointed a number of times recently, I feel I must start to redress the balance by sharing our experience on tripadvisor, as more and more I'm left feeling disappointed. This is the reason I am writing again, so much later on....here goes:

OK this place is beautiful! The bungalows are great and the location is lovely with a fantastic white sand beach immediately to the right of the property if you are looking out to the sea.

The problem was the service, especially the manager and his treatment of his staff, which ultimately affected everybody's stay there. It was coming up to the Vietnamese New Year celebrations; Tet, and many staff had gone to visit family leaving no one to work in the Hotel including the manager, who on a night when the Hotel and restaurant was full, was nowhere to be seen. That night, there were only two staff working front of house; a waiter and the receptionist, plus the cook and the washer-upper both of whom had been working non-stop since 6am that day. We waited over two hours for food and the place was deathly quiet as around 22 people seethed with anger at the situation.

Our poor waiter told us he was quitting the next day, as he said that the manager was dining with his family that night even though he knew that they were short staffed. It was a joke! The following morning we went down to breakfast to see the manager being lambasted by several guests, but it still took over an hour to be served and he just didn't seem to 'get' what customer service is all about. The staff themselves were lovely, but out of their depths and very underpaid it seems, which is terrible when a room costs close to £100 a night. I spoke to him myself and he just kept blaming his staff which was very saddening, as they are only ever going to learn with the help of a skilled management team. One example; I ordered a bottle of wine on the first day and it took 50 minutes to arrive as they had to find the key which was with the said manager who was out fishing with his little boy. I do hope things are better a few months on as it has such potential.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZazuGreenwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    4
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
1
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Very nice quiet place. We were impressed by cozy bungalows where you can enjoy an open-air bathroom. Wild nature is all around – very beautiful. There is no air conditioner in bungalows, only ventilators (as they adhere some ecological principles), but it was not a problem as fresh air passed from both the door and an open-air bathroom. The beach is not quite suitable for swimming because of underwater stones. The most exciting thing about Phu Quoc is that you can rent a motorbike and ride throughout the island, visiting different beaches (they all are really different!) and swimming there at your pleasure. So, if you are going to rent a bike to explore all beaches on the island, than Orig Resort with its beautiful outlook is really a good choice. However, if you would like to settle down at your hotel and enjoy the nearest beach only, probably it will make sense if you search for a place without rocks on the beach. A few words about motorbikes: we rented them at the hotel and were slightly disappointed by their quality, they got broken from time to time, which was quite unpleasant. Fortunately, people on the road were very helpful and assisted us with our motorbikes; however we would prefer properly functioning equipment. The most unpleasant in this entire situation was that the hotel staff tried to convince us that the bikes were in order and we just did something wrong (which was not true, as even proficient local people on the road could not make it work).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaeoniaIr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Our stay at Orig Resort was perfect. Beautiful bungalow in a nice garden with a view on the beach.
Our room was spotless and all bungalows have a open bathroom.
The resort is located north of Dong Duong, aprox 10-15 min by motorbike.

There has been a recent change in management and the new manager makes sure that everything is perfect for his guests.
They offer an high service, breakfast has changed too, its now in buffet form.

The beach is very clean, not so big but more than enough for all the guests to have a comfi beachchair. Yes there are rocks in the water, very good for snorkeling, but there is plenty of open water for normal swimming. You can take a long walk on the beach, you pass different resorts (orig looks the most beautiful), another thing to do is renting a motorbike and explore the Island. Some roads are very bumpy, but all are doable.

For the money charged for a room you get good quality.
I would recommend Orig Resort to everyone looking for a perfect stay at Phu Quoc.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reneev29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitou Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

Great place to relax after Saigon in a very quiet setting. It is 15min out of town. Good beach for wading and snorkeling. Lots of rocks not good for swimming. Stay in room 105. Good shade on porch. Staff is excellent. A little hard to understand at times but that's why we travel to get away. Great breakfast. If you want quite this is your place if you want night life stay in town.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George-and-Peggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

This has the potential to be one of the best resorts on the island, and overall, my friend and I enjoyed our time there. The rooms are arguably overpriced given the lack of amenities (no fridge, kettle, TV or AC) but this seems to be common (e.g. similar at the very popular Mango Bay Resort) and our room was spotlessly clean with a gorgeous outdoor bathroom and a big balcony with a view of the beach. The beach itself is more of a secluded lagoon than a long expanse of sand and there are a few rocks, but this didn't stop us swimming every day. If you want a longer, sandier beach you can find this just a 10 minute walk north of the resort. This beach is just beyond Bo Resort, where you are likely to spend a lot of time if you stay at Orig. The reason for this is the laughably poor food and service in the Orig restaurant. Others have said it before so I won't go into details but it really is appallingly bad. It's sad because this would be a great resort if it weren't for this problem. If I heard reports that a new F&B manager had come in and sorted things out, I would definitely go back. Until then, sorry to say, no way.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doarehtno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ovacik, Turkey
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

If you're "blown away" by googling amazing pictures of white beaches, blue sea and sky on this side of the island...you will face a huge disappointment when arriving at The orig. The "beach" is non existant-being only a small stirp of rocky sand, surrounded by a man made wall with builers and that holds a few beach loungers: to get to the amazing beaches you may have gogled-entails a mountain goat climb over rocks to visit the wonderful Mango Bay Resort...trust me..we did it just to escape this dump!! The staff at The Orig speak only Vietnamese...which makes life difficult if you need anything from them,,surely in this industry, where the majority of your guests are Europeans..then a second language of wither English, French or German is a must?? The only saving grace are the rooms which are huge, clean and comfortable. Apart from that, for the money charged and the overall experience..stay away!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jopiancat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Phu Quoc Island hotels

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We were greeted with smiles and delicious welcome drinks. Our bungalow had a great view of the beach, and we loved relaxing on our veranda listening to the ocean and sipping drinks. As a very relaxed, go-with-the-flow couple who live in Saigon, we understand the bumps of traveling throughout Vietnam. However, some of the issues we faced really made us question the price that Orig is hoping to charge. For example, our lovely bungalow, which cost $100/night with a 55% discount, had several issues. The door lock on the floor was misaligned, so we couldn’t properly shut or lock the front door. This would not have mattered to us, but the room lacked a safe (and a frig). Also, the Balinese-style bathroom with outdoor shower was excellent in concept, but the piping was not sealed well in the shower so water was wasted and pressure lessened. Additionally, we found over half of the restaurant menu unavailable because the kitchen didn’t have squid or prawns (fresh seafood is a main reason for enjoying Phu Quoc). We had to contest being charged full price for items we ordered that lacked these ingredients, which was tricky because employees’ English was poor. Again, we are totally used to menu and communication issues, but for this price our standards are higher. Although the food we did eat was delicious, it was very expensive (you can pay a quarter of the price for even better food up the road at Sakura). And finally, the hotel still has some landscaping details to finalize, such as the large dirt road running through the middle of an otherwise perfect view. Orig is wonderful in concept and we really did enjoy our stay. We love the use of solar water heating, the manager’s presence and communication, the secluded location, the spacious and well appointed bungalow, breathing fresh sea air and falling asleep to the sound of waves. We do recommend the hotel if you can get a discounted price (check Agoda), but the hotels has some issues to resolve before they can achieve true value for cost. Hopefully we will return for an amazing holiday in a year or two!

Room Tip: Stand alone bungalow #105 was wonderful (even with minor door lock and leaking shower issues, it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lena_425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
4.4 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#8 of 95 in Phu Quoc Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Cua Can
Villa Cua Can
#1 of 1 in Cua Can
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
2.1 mi away
Seaside HomeStay
Seaside HomeStay
#13 of 158 in Phu Quoc Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Wild Beach Phu Quoc Resort
0.8 mi away
Dormstay Riverside Hostel Phu Quoc
Dormstay Riverside Hostel Phu Qu...
#17 of 188 in Phu Quoc Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
1.5 mi away
Phu Quoc Eco Beach Resort
Phu Quoc Eco Beach Resort
#1 of 113 in Duong Dong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orig Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orig Resort

Property: Orig Resort
Address: Ong Lang Beach, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 188 Speciality Lodging in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing