We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regular room review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coi Nguon Phu Quoc Hotel
Ranked #86 of 184 Phu Quoc Island B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Booked this "resort" for the first 2 days because of the price. Room was across from the reception along separate hallway. So called window was opaque and had bars onto this hallway. Seemed more like a prison cell, no art just bare walls. Bathroom was ok, large but shower right next to toilet, but enough warm water from the small electric water heater for a shower. Entire "resort" very unappealing and borderline shabby. Picture on booking.com is of museum and you will not be staying in that building. Breakfast was ok and included but only one item, egg with a bread roll and one drink, which is one choice of each. There are a few more choices but only one of each is included in room price. We left after 2 days ( would have left sooner but they would not allow us to cancel second night anymore. We found nice almost new guest house closer to town for almost half of what this cost, but no breakfast and no pool either. Beaches are nice and water warm, so no pool necessary really.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FlipH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2013

We had a one bed roomed bungalow which had views of the garden, which was adequate but would have benefited from, hair dryer, kettle etc. what was good was the friendly helpful staff. The grounds include a strange mixture of attractions including a Temple, aviary and Museum which is set over about five floors and is well worth a visit. Accommodation on Phu Quoc is not cheap so if you are on a budget this hotel offers an alternative to the more expensive beach side hotels.

Room Tip: We had room 406 which was fairly near reception but still quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetRoseTurkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We stayed here for four nights and found the accommodation to be average at best.
The first room we were put it looked nothing like the pictures from the website we booked on. There were lizards in the room and the showers head was above the toilet.
The breakfast was so bad we skipped it and walked to Rory's beach bar for a decent one.
The beds are like concrete and the shower is so slow you can barley wash the shampoo out your hair.
The staff were pleasant but rather unhelpful.
Having seen some of the other hotels on the beachfront, next time I would def pay a little bit more and skip this place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsw1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We travelled in a family of four & booked into this 'resort' (so called) & never expect a 1 or 2 star equivalent. I thought it should have a pool otherwise it is not to be called a resort or at least by the beach. Never mind and we also had to pay upfront in full (the only hotel that demanded full paymt sofar in our two weeks in Vietnam). Perhaps they had bad experience that guest simply abandoning their stay after one night with the big bird noise & the effort of getting up & down the steep landscapped garden if you are booked right to the top end nearer to the bird cage.We couldnt sleep all night on the first day as our room was very near to the cage. But it was okay the following 2 nights. It's alright walking to this beautiful beach next to La Varenda resort in about 10 mins, pick & choose a much better restaurant along your way down the narrow strip of road on the right just across the main road from Coi Nguon. You can hire a bike there at Be Ba for just 150k dong (7.50 US $) all day, not 9 tp 5. In Coi Nguon, you pay US$20 for a bike. Also if you book any water activity, just book & pay direct to the the company that runs the sport. Coi Nguon will charge you 5% even if you pay by Visa card. We not only get a waive for credit card payment, and had indeed get further 10% discount for Scuba diving to match other rivals. The admin staff at Coi Nguon will try to suck you dry thinking that you are the one time guest for this hotel. They then realised that tourist aren't stupid to search for best deal, they approached us and waived the card fee for snorkelling which we booked with company direct over the phone. We had no issue with the walking up & down of the slopes each day as we had a bike that can wheel us up & park up there. Toilet bathroom is a problem leaking at the front of the washing basin onto your shirt while brushing your teeth. Clothes rail falling apart in the bathroom. You really need to spray each night before bed as the cleaner always leave the door open during the day. As for laundry, Coi Nguon will charge you 10k dong per piece. So just borrow a round basin from the office & wash yourself. You must bring some washing powder with you.On the whole, staff are friendly but feeling suspicious. Perhaps communication is a problem and staff largely untrained. We don't mind to stay in this resort in which the room is reasonably charged yet so near to the beach, nicer restaurant along the strip. Cabs are at door any seconds that will take you to the town in just 10 mins costs 50k dongs (US $2.50 cheaper if you have 4).

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank see l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Although this "resort" offers a decent and clean budget alternative to the pricier beachfront accommodations, there seems to be an identity crisis going on.... Is it a hotel? A garden? A museum? A cafe/ bar? A pearl store? A beach store? A temple? An aviary? A tour agency?Take your pick, but be aware that , despite a pleasant and obliging staff, resources may be stretched, and the small annoyances do add up e.g. Hardest bed in the universe, inconvenient shower, strangely limited breakfast, night noises ,spartan interiors

Although close to a variety of restaurants and a road to the beach ( 5 minutes), one needs transportation to get to town... There are usually taxis and motos around, so not a problem.

Room Tip: Ask for something close to the office rather than up the hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Stayed here for a week in one of the bungalows. The website states the bungalow is a 80 meter walk up a hill, but what they don't tell you is that the hill is at least a 45 degree or more incline. The room was located right across from the eagle cage and they are very noisy birds all day and night. The bathroom always had Mosquitos buzzing around. The grounds are a work in progress but there are several interesting places to sit and enjoy the landscaping. There are no areas to lounge and read, some of the bungalows have one sling type reclining chair on the front porch, but two people couldn't sit outside at the same time. No hammocks either. The beds are very firm and pillows are very hard. Our room had plenty of hot water and cold AC. There are no in room safes, but the front desk has one. The beach is 10 minute walk-we timed it. Towels are small and thin, so bring your own beach towel. There is no pool.. Costs about $3 US to taxi to the night market area. Taxis are metered.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girlonthefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We recently stayed here while traveling through SE Asia and found this place to be really lovely. The staff was friendly and welcoming. The free breakfast was great! It is only a five minute walk to the beach and the on-site store has anything you may need (i.e. snacks, beach towels, beer, sodas, etc). Our only complaint is that the bed was a bit too hard. We would definitely stay here again though!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller197712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Q Hao Hotel
Q Hao Hotel
#1 of 108 in Duong Dong
133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castaways Resort
Castaways Resort
#16 of 108 in Duong Dong
32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antinho Hostel - Restaurant & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunshine Bungalow
Sunshine Bungalow
#3 of 108 in Duong Dong
90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Freebeach Resort
Freebeach Resort
#21 of 125 in Duong Dong
24 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ha Noi Phu Quoc Hotel
Ha Noi Phu Quoc Hotel
#30 of 108 in Duong Dong
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coi Nguon Phu Quoc Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coi Nguon Phu Quoc Hotel

Address: No. 149, Tran Hung Dao, Neighborhood 7, Duong Dong Town, Phu Quoc, Kien Giang, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range: £10 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Coi Nguon Phu Quoc Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing