We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far far from what you would expect on a sunny island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coi Nguon Phu Quoc Hotel
Ranked #80 of 177 Phu Quoc Island B&B and Inns
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Far far from what you would expect on a sunny island”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed 4 nights there as a couple. What you at least expect during those kind of holidays is at least a descent service (having the room cleaned, and helpful hosts if needed).
Here, not only they didn't clean the room, didn't provide towels (you need to ask them), and they try to make you pay more for things that you didn't want/do..
I highly discourage people to chose this place. There are plenty of other places nearby.. pity that they don't advertise on tripadvisor, agoda or booking.com..

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredo_dofre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    13
    8
    7
    10
See reviews for
7
27
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for 4 nights. Never had such a terrible experience.
1. No towels in the room when we checked in.
2. The cleaner left or door opened after cleaning. Not pleasant to think it was opened while you're away.
3. The next day, we came back at 5pm and the room hadn't been cleaned..
4. Then a MASSIVE cockroach.
5. And the worst. Never rent motorbikes with them. They'll try to make you pay for damages you didn't do!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank french-in-hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Phu Quoc Island hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
494 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We rented a room here after fleeing from a beach bungalow place, so initially we were very pleased with this place: a large, clean room with good air con and plenty of storage space with hangers, and shelves, and good free wifi. The was also a sitting area, a fridge, and a flar screen TV with some English language channels. You had to ask reception for a hair dryer. The bed was quite hard, but no more so than most Vietnamese hotels.The pillows, however, were big, but hard and lumpy, and the sheets very thin. The bathroom was ok, plenty of hot water, but you had to be careful not to flood it, as the shower was directly next to the toilet and wash basin, with no shower curtain. The towels were thin, and the loo paper of a very poor quality. There was also a bad smell in the bathroom at times.
The hotel is located in huge grounds, which could be really attractive if restored with some TLC. Restoring the swimming pool would be a worthwhile project. Yes, it's only a 5-10 minute walk to the beach, but unless you're staying in a beach front place it is almost impossible to get (even rent) a sun lounger and umbrella. There is a weird, but quite interesting museum, a family temple, a little shop, the aviary (only mildly interesting, not sure if the birds are well looked after).
Breakfast in the somewhat dishevelled breakfast room was bizarre, as also stated by others: one drink only (juice or coffee), and one food item: fruit or eggs or noodles.... very odd! We had a light lunch a couple of times in the little restaurant in front of the museum and pearl shop, the food was quite good, but took forever to arrive. Service was willing, but sooooo slow....
I wish I could rate this hotel hotel higher, but they need to sort out a few of the issues mentionned above first.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ullabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Booked this "resort" for the first 2 days because of the price. Room was across from the reception along separate hallway. So called window was opaque and had bars onto this hallway. Seemed more like a prison cell, no art just bare walls. Bathroom was ok, large but shower right next to toilet, but enough warm water from the small electric water heater for a shower. Entire "resort" very unappealing and borderline shabby. Picture on booking.com is of museum and you will not be staying in that building. Breakfast was ok and included but only one item, egg with a bread roll and one drink, which is one choice of each. There are a few more choices but only one of each is included in room price. We left after 2 days ( would have left sooner but they would not allow us to cancel second night anymore. We found nice almost new guest house closer to town for almost half of what this cost, but no breakfast and no pool either. Beaches are nice and water warm, so no pool necessary really.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlipH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fethiye, Turkey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We had a one bed roomed bungalow which had views of the garden, which was adequate but would have benefited from, hair dryer, kettle etc. what was good was the friendly helpful staff. The grounds include a strange mixture of attractions including a Temple, aviary and Museum which is set over about five floors and is well worth a visit. Accommodation on Phu Quoc is not cheap so if you are on a budget this hotel offers an alternative to the more expensive beach side hotels.

Room Tip: We had room 406 which was fairly near reception but still quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetRoseTurkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We stayed here for four nights and found the accommodation to be average at best.
The first room we were put it looked nothing like the pictures from the website we booked on. There were lizards in the room and the showers head was above the toilet.
The breakfast was so bad we skipped it and walked to Rory's beach bar for a decent one.
The beds are like concrete and the shower is so slow you can barley wash the shampoo out your hair.
The staff were pleasant but rather unhelpful.
Having seen some of the other hotels on the beachfront, next time I would def pay a little bit more and skip this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsw1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We travelled in a family of four & booked into this 'resort' (so called) & never expect a 1 or 2 star equivalent. I thought it should have a pool otherwise it is not to be called a resort or at least by the beach. Never mind and we also had to pay upfront in full (the only hotel that demanded full paymt sofar in our two weeks in Vietnam). Perhaps they had bad experience that guest simply abandoning their stay after one night with the big bird noise & the effort of getting up & down the steep landscapped garden if you are booked right to the top end nearer to the bird cage.We couldnt sleep all night on the first day as our room was very near to the cage. But it was okay the following 2 nights. It's alright walking to this beautiful beach next to La Varenda resort in about 10 mins, pick & choose a much better restaurant along your way down the narrow strip of road on the right just across the main road from Coi Nguon. You can hire a bike there at Be Ba for just 150k dong (7.50 US $) all day, not 9 tp 5. In Coi Nguon, you pay US$20 for a bike. Also if you book any water activity, just book & pay direct to the the company that runs the sport. Coi Nguon will charge you 5% even if you pay by Visa card. We not only get a waive for credit card payment, and had indeed get further 10% discount for Scuba diving to match other rivals. The admin staff at Coi Nguon will try to suck you dry thinking that you are the one time guest for this hotel. They then realised that tourist aren't stupid to search for best deal, they approached us and waived the card fee for snorkelling which we booked with company direct over the phone. We had no issue with the walking up & down of the slopes each day as we had a bike that can wheel us up & park up there. Toilet bathroom is a problem leaking at the front of the washing basin onto your shirt while brushing your teeth. Clothes rail falling apart in the bathroom. You really need to spray each night before bed as the cleaner always leave the door open during the day. As for laundry, Coi Nguon will charge you 10k dong per piece. So just borrow a round basin from the office & wash yourself. You must bring some washing powder with you.On the whole, staff are friendly but feeling suspicious. Perhaps communication is a problem and staff largely untrained. We don't mind to stay in this resort in which the room is reasonably charged yet so near to the beach, nicer restaurant along the strip. Cabs are at door any seconds that will take you to the town in just 10 mins costs 50k dongs (US $2.50 cheaper if you have 4).

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank see l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Viet Thanh Resort
Viet Thanh Resort
#48 of 99 in Phu Quoc Island
216 reviews
0.5 mi away
Paris Beach Phu Quoc
Paris Beach Phu Quoc
#9 of 15 in Duong To
537 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#3 of 99 in Phu Quoc Island
1,128 reviews
4.5 mi away
Novotel Phu Quoc Resort Hotel
0.0 mi away
Island Life Hostel
Island Life Hostel
#1 of 2 in Ong Lang
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coi Nguon Phu Quoc Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coi Nguon Phu Quoc Hotel

Property: Coi Nguon Phu Quoc Hotel
Address: No. 149, Tran Hung Dao, Neighborhood 7, Duong Dong Town, Phu Quoc, Kien Giang, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Coi Nguon Phu Quoc Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing