We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hai Nam Restaurant

Hai Nam Restaurant
Ranked #32 of 230 Restaurants in Phu Quoc Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Indonesia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Situated by the main road, there isn't much atmosphere, but they get the most important thing - the food, right. Prices are also very reasonable as indeed they often are in Phu Quoc. Check your food and the bill to make sure what you get is as expected. I had a dish delivered that didn't include the (very nice) salad that was supposed to accompany it. When I asked, I got an apology for 'forgetting' it and quick attention, but forgetting wasn't impressive. Service was otherwise fine, so perhaps this was just an isolated occurrence. This restaurant has a lot of competition in the immediate vicinity and gets noticeably more business, and I could see why from the food. WiFi works fine, too, though interestingly using next door Lee's Restaurant name. So perhaps they're same ownership though Lee's gets poor reviews.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robertoIndonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    57
    16
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place for dinner - better than night market”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We were repeat customers, much fresher cleaner and better value than night market. seafood was best, but don't go just by the menu, because not all dishes are available, and some things that are seasonal are not on it, order from the fresh display next to the grill, scallops were amazing, BBQ prawns the best we had in phu quoc. Whole fish like Red snapper or flounder was cooked in foil on BBQ with Ginger, lemongrass, soy, fish sauce and was delicious, moist and tender, highly reccomended, pick your own fish and have it done this way. Mango salad great starter and BBQ corn or fried rice great side dish.
Wine is expensive, but it is everywhere on island. Staff are very good, friendly and good service, they speak good English, and some have Russian.

Helpful?
Thank Robric111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Consistent Food and Okay Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We enjoyed the food each time we ate there. The price is okay but because of the consistency and cleanliness we were repeat customers. Staff was courteous as well.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anthony_Close
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

This is a really cozy restaurant with great food!

If you want to eat here be on time or book beforehand.
This place is popular.

The chef presents the food with a personal touch and the flavours are well balanced.

Try it!

Helpful?
Thank Sannis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, WA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

We went in this restaurant as it seemed to be full which is always a good sign. The food and service is excellent, we ate here 2 out of 4 nights we stayed in Phu Quoc. You can choose from the menu or pick from the iced tray of seafood which they will then grill for you. Compared to home and a number of other places in Asia it was very cheap but a very smart looking place.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scottsinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hai Nam Restaurant also viewed

Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island
 
Phu Quoc Island, Kien Giang Province
Phu Quoc Island, Kien Giang Province
 
Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island
Phu Quoc Island, Kien Giang Province
 

Been to Hai Nam Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing