We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RELAXING”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ancarine Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Blue sea resort is a small scale, quite basic resort, on quiet Ong Lang Beach. The atmosphere is pleasantly relaxed. The brick 'bungalow' we had, is basic but comfortable. There is no A.C. but the nights were pleasantly cool.
The manager Binh is very friendly and tries to make the customers as convenient as possible. His staff must learn to be a little more alert though.
One thing that really should be improved is the 'a la carte' food. For us 'spoiled' tourists it should be more delicately spiced and somewhat more adapted to 'western' preferences. 'Grilled tuna' should not look and taste like dried, smoked sardines. But Binh surprised us the day after with fresh Red snapper.
The resort is somewhat remote from the village, but we consider that to be an advantage.
We were told it will be expanded this summer, but hopefully it will remain small scale enough.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vuppies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

After some of the other reviews we were slightly dubious about staying here, but upon arrival all out doubts were gone! The gardens are lovely, & we had a beach bungalow just metres from the beach & sea! The staff were all very friendly & we had no issues with their English. The manager was always around & always checked how we were at breakfast!

The bungalows are basic but they met all our needs! They were very clean with housekeeping everyday & fresh towels! & there were mosquito nets which I'd recommend using!

We thought the breakfasts were great! There was a big selection of buffet options! We ate dinner one night at the hotel & everyday for lunch, & in contrast to other reviews we were very happy with the food! But we only had the Vietnamese options or the sandwiches. Prices were very similar to what we were paying in Ho Chi Minh City. The other nights we ate at the Mango Bay & it was excellent but it is more expensive therefore you expect it to be better!

All in all, we loved our 4 nights stay there! It was really quiet (the new hotel next door has opened so building works are all finished), it's a beautiful setting & good value for money! I'd recommend for friends to stay there!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank kez642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We JUST got back from Phu Quoc and the Blue Sea Resort. It was fine. The room was just fine although the bed was very nice and comfortable. The bathroom desperately needs updating. The manager is very nice and tries to help but every time we asked for something he would tell us b/c of TET (Lunar new year) he was low on staff. We ate every meal next door at Mango Bay where the food is excellent b/c the restaurant at Blue Sea is not good. We had lunch there once and we waited an hour for our food and we were the only ones there when we ordered. Again he said it was b/c of TET but next door at Mango there was no lack of staff. We probably wouldn't stay there if we went back. The beach itself is very nice and the grounds are pretty. The construction next door is finished. All in all we had a good stay.

Room Tip: We stayed up the hill which was probably quieter then staying right down on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annehinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We spent 1 week here in Jan. The weather was not so ideal. It was cold at night and the beach wasn't warm enough to swim (Im Vietnamese but at that time, not many people were under the sea for a long time). Despite that, the resort was way better than we'd thought!
The owner, the manager & the staff were so nice and friendly. They were very helpful & made us laugh a lot.
I can see that many people here said that the food is not delicious. But to me, it was pretty tasty. They did a good job on Vietnamese food. If you're a Westerner, you should try ;) My hubby had some Western foods and he said that it was not appetizing. Try any Viet food that is in the pics I upload :) I love squids boiling with chillies, gingers the most! It wasnt so spicy, just warmed me up because it was quite windy at night :)
We stayed in room 106 which was at the end of the resort. We slept all day there. It was separate, quiet, private and clean.
The beach here is a bit rocky and many seaweeds float around. I like Bãi Sao much more. But it was fine for us coz the weather wasn't good enough to be under the water all day long :P
The location of the resort is far away from the center and anything else. But that's why we like it :D We hired a motorbike (120.000VND/a day) and challenged ourselves a lot to get out of here and try to find the direction loool. It was such a journey. We went out everyday but always got lost to be back :)) My hubby really loved the road coz it was extremely sandy. He made a lot of efforts to ride and bring me back safe & sound :P If you want something touristy, this place is not for you :D You should stay at Long Beach.
In short, WE LOVE TO BE HERE AGAIN :) Now we are somewhere far away and we regret a bit not to stay here longer. While we were there, an Austrian couple told us they decided spend one more week :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My partner and I spent 4 days at Blue Sea recently and had an awesome time, lazing on the beach and reading. We were a little nervous about a few of the previous reviews so I will give you my 2c on a few of the concerns/ issues raised.

- The construction next door is complete, there was no noise the entire time we stayed.
- Yes, it is a long way from town...but do you even need to go there? The taxi from the airport cost 360, 000VND (meter) and takes 35 minutes.
- The restaurant gets a bad rap, all I can say is that we didn't eat there once because there is ABSOLUTELY NO VEGETARIAN FOOD. The beach bar for Mango Bay is 20m away, they have an extensive menu...we ate there the entire trip.
- The breakfast was fine, typical buffet style...identical to all the other breakfasts we got in similar hotels accross Vietnam.
-The staff were friendly but their English is not great. Simple things like ordering food and drinks were fine but more complex questions proved challenging.
- The beach is gorgeous but there isn't too much space, this was compounded by the fact that some extremely selfish guests seemed to think that it was ok to get up early in the morning and 'bags' lounges by putting their towels on them...thus securing them for the entire day? Poor form people!


The only issue we had our entire stay was that the staff member neglected to give us our passports back when we checked out...something we didn't discover till we reached the airport! Now fair enough, this is partially our fault but certainly something to be careful of! They managed to meet me in town to deliver them to me but it cost me another taxi ride from the airport. I'm sure this was just an isolated incident but something to be careful of!

Ok, long review...in summary I would certainly visit again, it was quiet and peaceful. Good value for money...i'd be eating next door again though, that's unless they change their menu!

Room Tip: The Blue beach front bungalows are great, but maybe not the one directly behind the bar...no privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Khan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in one of the new wooden bungalows with open air bathroom over christmas. The price was very high, but it value the money. The staff spoke very good english, was very helpfull and always tried their best. For vietnamese conditions the room was clean and we had nothing to complain about. The location is good: directly on a quiet beach, but very far away from Duong Duong (25min). The breakfast wasn't very delicious, but we had to take it. The restaurant prices are very high and it does not taste particularly good, but it is ok... In summary, I recommend this hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NorbertD3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Getting to this place was an adventure! Be prepared for excellent back road twists and turns. Worth it tho. It's paradise!

Bungalow was large and airy. Shower was hot and outside bathroom was unusual but great!

Hammocks, sun loungers and restaurant all on beach. Great breakfast, scoters to rent. No snorkeling gear and kayaks weren't up to much. Dodgy Christmas Eve music.... They played here comes the bride three times! But it ended with a pretty cool bonfire on the beach I'd stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosesuperted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
9.6 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Ganh Dau
474 reviews
4.9 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#2 of 49 in Duong Dong
628 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort & Spa
Coco Palm Beach Resort & Spa
#12 of 49 in Duong Dong
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
#5 of 112 in Phu Quoc Island
1,038 reviews
5.8 mi away
Famiana Resort & Spa
Famiana Resort & Spa
#12 of 112 in Phu Quoc Island
573 reviews
0.2 mi away
Phu Quoc Eco Beach Resort
Phu Quoc Eco Beach Resort
#4 of 126 in Duong Dong
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ancarine Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ancarine Beach Resort

Address: Group 3, Ong Lang Beach | Ward Cua Duong, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam (Formerly Blue Sea Resort Phu Quoc)
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 218 Speciality Lodging in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range: £67 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ancarine Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Ong Lang Beach and tropical forest, Ancarine Beach Resort offers rooms and bungalows with view to the sea. All guestrooms and bungalows are equipped with a flat-screen TV, AC, beach towels and free daily bottled water. En-suite bathrooms come with a walk-in shower and toiletries. The resort is about 7 km from Duong Dong Town, 10 km from Duong Dong Night Market and 12 km from Vinpearl Amusement Park. It is 15 km from Duong Dong Airport and 25 km from Bai Vong Ferry. Airport transfers are available, while on-site parking is free. Its restaurant serves Vietnamese and European cuisines. Guests can sweat it out at the fitness centre located on-site. It provides laundry and ironing services. Luggage can be stored at the reception. This property is also rated for the best value in Duong Dong! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties in this city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ancarine Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing