We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thanh Kim Ngan Bungalows
Nearby Hotels
Daisy Resort(Duong Dong)
US$87
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vinpearl Phu Quoc Resort(Phu Quoc Island)
US$148
US$138
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc(Phu Quoc Island)
US$225
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
US$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$46
US$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Phu Van Resort(Duong Dong)
US$60
US$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$51
US$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
15
10
4
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
10
4
3
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I had the opportunity to stay in 4 different places when I was on Phu Quoc and this one was hands down the best in terms of value for money. That said, be sure to stay at the main one - their secondary location of sorts (owned by her sister I believe) seems to cost the same and isn't anywhere as nice.

Rooms have a/c (you don't need it!), fan (you barely need it), tv, fridge and hot water showers. Each bungalow also has its own hammock out front. Rooms were spotless and I absolutely loved the open air bathrooms (don't worry, totally private).

It looks like they are still working on some of the landscaping and while it is nice now, it will be stunning when it's done. Only 200m from the beach and surrounded by great restaurants (their breakfast is pretty good for that matter) it is an absolute winner. Wifi signal was also good - a challenge in many places I stayed in Vietnam (they ALL seem to offer wifi, good wifi is entirely another story...)

The only small complaint would be they have "Vietnamese beds and pillows" - which, basically means the firmest mattress you will ever sleep on combined with the firmest, tallest pillow you will every lay your head down on.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed here for two weeks after finding it during a visit last year and experienced very warm and friendly service from the owner, Kim, at both the breakfast café and shop. The bungalow was new and well appointed, tv, fan, ac, wifi, warm water (solar heated and shared with the neighbouring bungalow)), patio with hammock, daily cleaning, close to beach. The bathroom was "outdoor" in the sense that there was no ceiling over part of the room, instead there was a small garden and open views to the stars and sky. Could be a problem during the rainy season and be a bit cool if the wind is blowing. The whole team and service and cleanliness is first class.

Room Tip: Check if the bathroom is open to the elements, could be a problem for temperature-sensitive folk. I think only the latest new rooms have these bathrooms.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KimHanhLy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights and were extremely happy with our experience. The lady who runs the place, along with her daughter who is in charge of reception, are extremely friendly and helpful. Her sister runs the resort just down the lane and she is very nice as well. The rooms are very clean, and the lady even cleaned our room for us everyday which was excellent. She gave us new towels and turned our mess of clothes and bags that were on the ground into a nice tidy pile.

Only downfall is our shower did not have hot water, but that is a small item in the big scheme of things.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Lauren I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

The way we find our accommodation is by walking along the street/beach and checking prices.
The bus driver asked if we had somewhere to go , we replied not yet... well he said he would take us somewhere "cheap" we said ok, keeping in mind if we wasn't happy we could carry on walking. We got off the bus and to the reception of Thanh Kim Ngan Bungalows to ask the price, nice lady/owner said $15. We thought that was pretty reasonable, she said hot water & fresh towels.
Our stay there was nice, again basic clean & tidy.
We stayed our two nights, whilst there we got our laundry done (bit of a mix up there) and booked our tickets back to Saigon.
Upon checking out, we noticed quite a significant difference in price.
So we paid and thought we had done our calculations wrong, when back in the room we noticed the owners had charged us $30 a night instead of $15. We went back to question it and they pretty much laughed and said no $30, there was no chance of a refund. If we were going to spend that much I would of prefered somewhere a bit nicer with better facilities.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank princesskelly27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

We moved from another bungalow resort to here and loved it. Well run and managed with very helpful staff. Due to demand though the manager putbthe price up significantly within a week.

The only negative, and this is not within this resorts powers is, we booked transport to Cambodia through them, which turned out to be a nightmare journey for everyone going. Long delays, travel company taking the biscuit and only interested in own profit but not customers.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank SabineUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews