We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bungalow with sea view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saigon Phu Quoc Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Saigon Phu Quoc Resort
Ranked #16 of 96 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Certificate of Excellence
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Bungalow with sea view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

The position is everything with this hotel, right on the beach. Breakfast was ok the Asian breakfast a lot better than Western. Good wifi in rooms which was well furnished and comfortable. Lunch here was good. The staff were excellent. Close to lots of restaurants for excellent fish meals.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pipjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    208
    95
    34
    14
See reviews for
104
236
15
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We booked 02 nights at the resort and had a pleasant surprise being upgraded from Standard Panorama room to Star Cruise. The resort isn't the newest structure in town but acceptable with great location, which is within walking distance to the night market and surrounding dining places. The room was clean and comfy enough. The resort also provide free bicycles night and day, which gives you means to discover nearly areas and give the resort an edge compared to others. Free pick up from and to the airport is also available.

The private beach is also quite clean with water being in great jade colour, mild waves and spectacular sunset view. Some parts of the beach, however, is quite rocky. Nevertheless, compared to that in Eden Resort, the beach at Saigon Phu Quoc is more enjoying and swimmable.

On the down side, the breakfast is not really up to par with a 4 star standard with limited options for fruits and drinks.

Stayed in November 2013, travelled with a partner.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DucknTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We were very impressed with the hotel based on the reduced price we paid and then to get an upgrade to a sea view room. We may have been less impressed with the prices if we had paid top whack. The beach is great , service helpful and loads of great restaurants on the door stop. A perfect short break from HCMC.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IsleofWightPoshbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarschot, Belgium
Level Contributor
182 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

I was here early Feb (during Tet holidays), and really enjoyed the stay in Saigon Phu Quoc.
The rooms are nice with nothing to complain. There was a small balcony which we did not really use, reason being that the view to the see was blocked by big palm trees. Note that behind our building there were other building, so they would not even lookout to the trees, but to our building instead.
The beach is nice and clean, the sunbeds and parasols are not too close to eachother, so you feel very comfortable and at ease.
The sunset bar a the left end is serving great coctails, which is a perfect way to see the sunset with your loved one. However the waitress was in a bad mood both days we were there.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bart V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Saigon Phu Quoc. It was not perfect, but it's a resort where it was easy to unwind and relax, with a fairly large and closed of recreational area with a lot of possibilities for different activities. The staff was friendly and came across as helpful - although it seemed that they hadn't had that much professional training. This is not a big problem, but could be an area of improvement. Not saying that the service was bad - it was quite okay atually, but for a resort like this (and with the friendly staff they had), a small effort could mean a big difference.

Our room was nice, big and the sleeping quality was good. The city with restaurants, bars, night market and everything was within a short walk, which was a big plus for us. The hotel also had a complimentary airport pick up and drop off.

We had lunch a couple of days at the restaurant, which was okay although not great. The sandwiches were quite okay, and it was a nice place to sit for a drink or a beer, while enjoying the surroundings. There is also an all you can eat barbecue every night. We didn't have a chance to go to one, but it looked like it was worth a shot. The breakfast buffet was very enjoyable, and had loads of Vietnamese and western options.

The beach and pool area was nice! White sand, beach chairs, palm trees and all. Off the beach a large area of water was closed off with a net, and it seemed that there was pretty good safety with staff looking out for guests in the water. Going snorkeling it was also possible to find some corals and stones with quite a few different kinds of small fish (mainly to the side closest to the city). The water was clean, but there was some plastic bags, beer cans and shoes spread on the ocean floor. The resort should really make sure to get these things removed, which should only take small effort and would greatly improve the swimming experience.

In general we had a very nice stay. Apart from the need to clean up the ocean floor, we had one major issue though! It was with the setup around the Beauty Salon & Spa! We went there one day for a massage - the price and massage was quite fine, but when it was finished it became quite clear that a big tip was expected. The employees had a little note, where you could cross of if you wanted to give huge tip A, big tip B, or another amount (reads: cheap tip) C. In advance we had prepared to tip something, but in a country without a tradition for tips this is (in my opinion) unacceptable and puts the guest on the spot. And probably the staff too, since they are probably paid lower because of this tip "blackmail". I can only blame the hotel and the spa management for setting up a system like this - give your employee's a proper wage, and set a higher price for the massage if needed! Don't put your guests and staff on the spot like that.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vrangbak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

We (2 adults, 2 kids) stayed in a Panorama room. Don't let hotel room name ever fool you (delux room some where usually means the most ordinary one in that given hotel). Panorama for us was a room on the second floor in a 2-storey building, with a balcony overlooking (looking straight at) another similar wing 10m away. But who cares much about the room view when we spent most of our time outside.

Lots of Pros: Clean room, clean towels which are changed daily as they should be (self-claimed 5* Vinpearl Nha Trang can learn much from this). Large bed (2 put together) which rendered the extrabed we ordered at times redundant. Clean beach (I read some posts from 2008 which said differently), guess they are taking good care of the beach now, great sunset scene. Close to the airport, town, night market and many good restaurants outside. Right in the middle between Sao Beach to the South and Long Beach to the North (roughly 30 something km each way), the 2 most beautiful beaches on the Island. Golf, tennis, table tennis, swimming pool (though a bit small and deep for small kids).
Staff is super friendly and helpful.
Other thoughts: Gym was small with 2 treadmills, one exercise machine which was poorly designed, no free weights.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hai-Anh-Pham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Enjoyed our stay at the resort and definitely will be back. The pool is the best and so beautiful!
We saw a rat on the beach at night but not much they can do about that.
I will recommend this resort as the best in Phu Quoc Island.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank romainianprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
13.8 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#2 of 96 in Phu Quoc Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 44 in Duong Dong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
0.9 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#2 of 44 in Duong Dong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Vinpearl Phu Quoc Resort
Vinpearl Phu Quoc Resort
#11 of 96 in Phu Quoc Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
1.8 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#1 of 96 in Phu Quoc Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
1.7 mi away
Famiana Resort & Spa
Famiana Resort & Spa
#10 of 96 in Phu Quoc Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saigon Phu Quoc Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saigon Phu Quoc Resort

Property: Saigon Phu Quoc Resort
Address: 62 Tran Hung Dao Beachside Boulevard, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#11 Spa Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Saigon Phu Quoc Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stretching over 4 hectares, on the West Coast, Saigon-Phuquoc resort and spa offers 100 bungalows and villas (comprise bedroom, sofa bed, living room, bar connecting with dining space and kitchen). The property hides under coconut forests and striking colour of flowers. From these balconies, you can enjoy the sunset on the Thai's Gulf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Fastbooking and Odigeo so you can book your Saigon Phu Quoc Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saigon Phu Quoc Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Saigon Phu Quoc Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing