We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eco Resort for Relaxing !!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mango Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mango Bay Resort
Ranked #6 of 96 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Certificate of Excellence
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
1 review
“Eco Resort for Relaxing !!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

If you need ur space to relax, Mango is one of best destination. I love this design here: it's ecological enviroment. However it's quite overpriced.

Food is great, we enjoyed everyday. Staff are friendly.

One thing i love most is outdoor toilet. it's designed creatively. haha. That's good point for resort. I always feel at my countryside when staying here.

We think if that price is cheaper then our journey is great .

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,138
    353
    81
    44
    13
See reviews for
269
969
59
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

This resort is located directly on the sea, with two different beaches. Both have sand and stone areas. The beach is nice, but there are way better beaches around.

The room itself are good, if you like the idea of having a open bathroom / restroom. They are usually in the back of your room, outsite. Different expierence from what you are used to, but you have to live with some downsides, like lots of local animals in your restroom.

When it comes to food and drinks, this is a great place. Very good dishes in both restaurants, also the drinks and cocktails are very nice. Every day they have different specials in addition to the "standard" menu. But the food is not local! and you need to get used to spend 15 - 30 Dollar per person per dinner.

The service in the place is outstanding for Vietnam! You really see that a european manager is taking care of everything and every member of staff is giving his best to make you feel welcome.

All in all a very nice place, but very pricy.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AntonMeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wraysbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

Firstly, if you expect marble floor, high ceiling grant receptions, air con, and all the high end luxuries in your hotel, The Mango Bay is not for you, but then neither is the beautiful island of Phu Quoc.

My partner and i wanted to go to a place in the far east that was untouched by the western world, no food chains, no big department stores - and this is what you get in Phu Quoc. They do have roads for instance, just, but more often then not the island is connected by a set of dusty, muddy tracks. But the best part of this is the untouched exotic beaches with clear water, and perfect yellow sandy beaches and total peace and quiet and tranquility.

I wanted to set the seen on what Phu Quoc is to the reader, so you could understand the review on the hotel. The Mango Bay is just perfect. We were met at the airport by a very friend Sinh who packed us off straight to the hotel - we were regretted by cool towels and a drink while we checked in. We were immediately taken back by the beauty and simplicity of the Mango Bay.

The accommodation is a group of huts set individually just off the most beautiful long beach you have even seen (meaning that there is simply no need for a swimming pool at the Mango Bay), providing a little hideaway where all you can do is relax. The rooms provide basics, and are so homely - there is no air con, instead you get a 4 poster bed with a large mosquito net covering is and very powerful fans which is actually all you need to sleep comfortably. but you didn't feel like you wanted or needed any mod-cons.

The restaurant does the most amazing food, suitable for meat eaters, fish eaters or anything that may take your fancy, their cocktails are out of the world too - but the best bit is that you sit there, and all you can here is the waves as you watch a beautiful sunset.

The spa facilities are also wonderful - i had 3 massages in my 6 day stay and the girls did a great job!

Overall the Mango is perfect. It is basic, you have a touch to get from your room to the restaurant at night, and paths around the estate are nothing more than small tracks, but it doesn't matter.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitzbuhel, Austria
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

Nice resort, with very well equipped bungalows, open bathroom (very special) even though they are ecologial. Nice, helpfull and friendly staff with very good english. One of the best breakfasts we had with the nicest view!! So getting up in the morning was made easy :-)
The massage and beauty area is nice and the treatments are perfect. Wonderful to relax.
If you want more action and lot of things to do, maybe it is not the best location. If you like to relax, enjoy and just have a nice resort it is the perfect choice. Free pick up from and transfer to the airport - so good! We had a good time.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

We enjojed 5 nights in a very nature and customer friendly environment with excellent food and fabulous cocktails.
The accomodation with open air bathroom is unique.
The service during our stay was AAA.

Room Tip: The rammed Bungalows with Open Air bathroom are perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrmuc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

My partner and I originally booked just three nights in the mango, however we loved it so much we asked if they could put us up for another three. There were no rooms available however Dominique the owner said we could have his beach bungalow to stay in for a very reasonable price.

The bungalows are great however no air con and bugs could be challenging for some but we loved the whole experience! The staff come in your room each evening and spray the mozzy net and set the fan up in your bed, they also light inscence to help with the bugs too! All this little attention to detail makes this place so special!

All the staff were so helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. My partner made a special request to have some rose petal hearts laid out on the bed of our room. Doi was more than happy to organise this sending a driver into the town to pick up the rose petals. This made me a very happy girl!

The food is excellent value and very tasty! The cocktails are seriously yummy too and happy hour is a great time to experiment them!

Once we moved to a different resort we couldnt keep away from the mango so we came back each morning for brekkie and evening for dinner. The staff even used to give us a lift home on their mopeds at the end of the night :)

This resort is rated only two star? The staff make it five star! A happy family
Vibe throughout the resort which is in a fabulous location makes for a memorable
stay.

We highly recommend it!

Thanks to all the staff for making our time there so special!

Tiffany and James

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TiffanyJLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
91 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

This is the kind of place where you settle in with a smile because you realise that you did a real bargain!!!

We stayed in Mago bay for 3 nights and paid 50 € per night. As prices in Vietnam/and Phu Quoc are quite low we were anxious to see this "expensive" hotel. After a drive on a really rough dirt road the taxi stopped and told us that some motorbikes will pick us up here...weird but ok. As the road is/was under construction it is/was not possible for cars to pass. The only thing is that you'd better call before you arrive sometimes there is no network were the taxi stops and you will have to walk (no problem it's just 1 km).

The place is great , really beautiful especially the bars during sunset and the restaurant at night are wonderful !

We had a rammed earth Bungalow which was really nice and the temperature was always perfect even without aircon, but if I go there again I ask for a sea view as they are further away from their neighbours and seemed to be nicer.

The staff was great and really helpful.

As criticism I'd say that Mango bay is a normal resort with some ecological technologies as the hot water heating system, the electrical bikes for employees and not an eco-resort as it is described in guidebooks and the internet. Further the breakfast was not as good as the other food (maybe because the breakfast is included while the other food has to be paid for?).

If your motivation to stay here is to stay in an eco-resort...stay away! But if want to stay in a really nice resort (far away from everything else so you have to eat/drink here even if it is a bit overpriced) this is your place to stay!

Room Tip: Rammed earth with sea view, don't be cheap spend the money as the garden views are not as nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules_wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
10.0 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#2 of 96 in Phu Quoc Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
4.6 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#1 of 44 in Duong Dong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 44 in Duong Dong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#8 of 96 in Phu Quoc Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
5.6 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#1 of 96 in Phu Quoc Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
4.8 mi away
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay Resort

Property: Mango Bay Resort
Address: Ong Lang Beach, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mango Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a low density resort, driven by a passion for the environment, intelligent use of materials, and strong support for island culture. Mango Bay is tucked away off the beaten track, with Vietnam's first rammed earth bungalows, enclosed by beach and protected forest. There are no air-cons, television sets or telephones in the rooms for a true fusion with nature at the island's first eco-friendly resort. All rooms and bungalows have open sea views and offer mosquito nets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mango Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Hotel Mango Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing